We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in great location”
Review of New Park Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
New Park Manor
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel in great location”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

After reading some of the poor reviews I can't understand what there is to moan about. Stayed here for two nights with friends and two children. Location is truly wonderful, hotel and spa is well maintained, rooms are very clean.
Staff were really eager to please and very friendly. Nothing was too much trouble. We also dined in the hotel restaurant and the food was delicious.
All in all, a very good stay and we'd certainly consider visiting again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helens885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David K, General Manager at New Park Manor, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
hello there from the New Forest!

Thank you so much for your very positive review of our hotel. The team and I are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Its always lovely to receive great feedback on the team, we are a friendly bunch so its great when guests recognise that, thank you!
You are right, the hotel does enjoy a fabulous location which is perfect any time of the year.

We hope we get the chance to welcome you back in the near future

David and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    155
    83
    46
    22
See reviews for
331
181
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We had a wonderful stay at New Park Manor with our 11 month old son. The staff were incredibly welcoming throughout the hotel, but special mention has to go to Lucy and Lauren in the creche who were great.

I really liked the style and feel of the hotel - it was definitely relaxing for grown ups as well as having lots of kid friendly touches. Pool and spa were great too, nice that they were so warm for the kids.

Only slightly off note for us was that the food was a bit mixed. The expensive menu that we had on one evening was very pricey for the quality of food. We were much happier going with the standard menu (burgers steaks etc) on the second night. More fairly priced. And lunch was pretty uninspiring. I'm sure the kitchen could turn out better sandwiches than they did based on some of the dishes we enjoyed. Breakfast however was excellent. Couldn't faulty it - delicious bread and a good selection all cooked to order.

Despite that I would definitely go back because I found it totally relaxing being somewhere where we and our son could relax so thoroughly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TamsynHanrahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David K, General Manager at New Park Manor, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Hello there from Brokenhurst!

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your review on this site. Im so pleased that you found your stay relaxing and made the most of our great facilities.

Ive passed your comments on to chef regarding the meals you had, Im sorry that you found lunch uninspiring, we'll look into our offering Im sure. Im so pleased that you enjoyed the more relaxed menu, we think that its important to offer as much choice as we can, its not for us to decide what people eat and its a major part of why people stay here.

Im delighted that you would wish to return and we look forward to welcoming you back when you do!

David and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

I recently went with my wife and 2 yr old.
The hotel is set up brilliantly to accommodate families. There is plenty of space in the country classic room for a cot and the en suite was a good size.
The listening service is perfect for visiting the excellent (but pricy) restaurant or for a glass of wine.
The free creche was very useful to allow us to have a massage.
Overall great staff, facilities and location

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David K, General Manager at New Park Manor, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
greetings from The New Forest!

Thank you so much for leaving such a positive review on this site, the team and I are all delighted that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.

The Den team get loads of great feedback and they are an asset to the hotel, so Im pleased that you made the most of that popular facility.
We do offer a great listening service so parents can get some grown up time in our restaurant and lounges and Im pleased you enjoyed your meal and service.

We hope to welcome you back soon

David and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We didn't stay at the hotel, instead we stayed nearby and came and visited the spa for a 1/2 day. It was lovely. The weather was cold, so the outside hot tub wasn't that warm - but the rest of the facilities were lovely. A very relaxing space, nicely laid out, good steam, sauna, nice pool, chilled relaxation area. A great way to spend a morning/afternoon.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank sunshineliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David K, General Manager at New Park Manor, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Hello there from Brokenhurst!

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your review on this site.
Natalie our Spa Manager and her team are all thrilled that you enjoyed your day.
Did you manage to spot the local deer while in the hot tub? They're quite frequent visitors!

We hope we get to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I guess from the offset my expectations were high. However, for an overall experience I was disappointed.
Let me begin by saying that the staff from the moment we arrived to when we departed were execellent. Smiling, courteous and extremely helpful. That aside....
We stayed for night to be with the family including a small child. Our room was called Christopher. I knew beforehand it would be small and with no closet place - however, to keep bumping one's head getting up from the toilet and the shower and in other parts of the room was unexpected. It was a really small room. Also the climb up the stairs to the room was quite steep. Fortunately, we are fit . Moreover, luckily our memory is also good because if we had forgotten anything climbing up and down would have been a strain!
Be aware there are no lifts in the hotel.
We looked at our daughter's standard room which for the price, for us was disappointing. Really average.
The view from the window was nice but that was it. Really not worth the money.
The evening meal was a disappointment. I ordered a Ceasars Salad as a starter, which I woofed down in one forkful. It was really small. Worse, it didn't even taste like a Ceasars Salad. The crab linguini which I had as a main course was tasteless. My wife ordered steak and when it arrived it was soaked in butter. The hamburgers ordered for other members of my party was not moist. Choice of menu was limited as well.
The ambiance of the restaraunt was not that of 'first class' dining. No tablecloths and the seats not really comfortable
Breakfast in the morning was from 0700,. Cold buffet only, as one could not have a cooked breakfast until 0730. !!?? Where is the logic in that? If you open at 0700 then it should be for hot and cold breakfast(s)
Kids facillities were very good and the staff excellent. However, be aware that children are not allowed in the pool from 1000 -1500. Child friendly!? So if it rains (as it did) we were not allowed in the pool with our grandaughter.
Also the pool does not open until 0700 in the morning.
In conclusion.....
Families might like the property but for business trips, couples and solo guests, maybe look at another property.

Room Tip: Don;t stay in the Christopher room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Mandlebaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David K, General Manager at New Park Manor, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review on this site.
Firstly let me thank you for your comments on the team here, we are friendly bunch and they are all delighted that you mentioned them.

As I mentioned to you and your wife during our phone call, at present we do offer set times for children in the pool to allow parents some time to be grown ups and while this may not be perfect we do try to please all of our guests, and there is so much for the little ones to do while they are here, with the den, the cinema, our Blue Room which houses a Wii and Play stations, our snug for littler ones with countless games and toys, not to mention the plethora of local attractions. We are reviewing all times for kids at the moment and as I mentioned, our outdoor pool will be open soon for the season and there are no restrictions on those times.

You are correct that the pool does not open before 7am and we have thought about this clearly and aimed our hotel and its facilities at families, I have to say that we have not received any further requests for this to be changed, should we do so we'll certainly bear it in mind.

As I also mentioned on the phone, we actually open for breakfast at 07.30 but we do not turn guests away should they arrive earlier than that, we offer all that is ready at that point for guest to enjoy, we merely state that a cooked breakfast will be ready at 07.30. Should chef be ready sooner, of course we can and will supply this. We try our best to be as flexible as possible however cooked breakfasts take time to cook which is why we publicised the restaurant times in all of our guest information to avoid any confusion or disappointment.

We are a family hotel as you mention, but we are lucky to have some excellent repeat corporate guests who enjoy the stunning grounds, friendly atmosphere, superb food and service, professional Spa and the flexibility of our team and we work hard on continuing this.

Im sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your stay and please let me repeat my apologies I made on the phone.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon

David and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Having just returned from a fab hen weekend at New Park Manor I can honestly say I need to go back with my family.

Coordination of the weekend via Natalie, the spa manager was perfect. Every option discussed and all the hotel staff were so
friendly.

Gareth looked after us in the restaurant & was the perfect host.

The rooms were beautiful, quiet and clean. Even the pillows were welcoming & fluffy!

As a luxury family hotel we debated if this really could offer a suitable venue for a hen do & thank goodness we chose it. Nestled away in the New Forest with ample things to do locally, it's ideally set for exploring or just supping fizz by the pool.

A thoroughly enjoyable stay. Not pretentious at all. The staff couldn't do enough to make us very welcome. The food was divine.

Well worth a visit. We're piping back for Sunday lunch soon... Why not try it too!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DierckxTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David K, General Manager at New Park Manor, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Wow!! What a review! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave it on this site.

We remember your party very well, you were all great fun!
We are always delighted when the staff get mentioned in the review, yes, its why we're here but its so motivational when people notice the difference that the team can make, thank you.

As a team we are thrilled that we added to your Hen party and we hope its not too long before we can welcome you back.

David and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from 3 nights at this hotel. It was our first break with our 7 month old son, and overall it was really great. The crèche is a fantastic facility. The staff were great and our baby boy was so happy playing there each morning, he didn't even look up to say goodbye! My husband and I made the most of our time together in the spa, which was lovely, especially the outdoor hot tub. The views were delightful and even in the rain the hot tub was really enjoyable. The food was very good, although evening service was a little slow. We hired a babysitter for 2 evenings and they were both great, and allowed us to enjoy a relaxed dinner together. The service at every point was excellent. All the staff were friendly and helpful, especially regarding things needed for the baby.
Our room was lovely, spacious, and comfortable, however the living room area was very cold at night, as the door to the fire escape and the window in the living room, were very drafty. The only other thing I would say needed a little more attention was the cleanliness at times. Our room had a number of large cobwebs in, for the duration of our stay, and the high chair our son was given on the first day, had food stains and debris on the straps. Minor niggles really, and the three of us had a very lovely first family holiday, in a gorgeous location.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JS-J09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David K, General Manager at New Park Manor, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Greetings from a sunny New Forest!

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave your review of New Park Manor on this site.

We are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that baby made the most of the superb crèche facilities, they are an asset to the hotel and constantly receive positive mentions!

It always pleases me when the team are mentioned on here as we work hard on attracting and training the right people, it means so much when that is recognised, thank you.

We work tirelessly on our standards of service and while we aim to be a relaxed version of professional we do aim high, so Im sorry if there were delays in food service.

The baby sitting service we offer is always popular and I will make sure they receive your praise, thanks again.

we hope we get the chance to look after you again shortly.

David and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
2.0 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,721 reviews
0.9 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,615 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
1.4 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,061 reviews
5.3 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Park Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Park Manor

Property: New Park Manor
Address: New Park Lyndhurst Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Brockenhurst
#7 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — New Park Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to New Park Manor, a luxury family and dog friendly spa hotel in the New Forest. Relax in our spa, play croquet on the lawn, enjoy afternoon tea on the terrace or some family time in our gardens. New Park Manor offers the perfect destination for anyone wishing to explore and appreciate the unique mosaic of woodland, heathland and wetland that comprise the ancient landscape of the New Forest. The New Forest, Britain's most popular national park, was created by William the Conqueror in 1079 as a royal hunting area. In 1611, King Charles II chose New Park Manor as his favourite hunting lodge and his royal coat of arms is still displayed prominently above the fireplace in our award-winning Stag Restaurant. New Park Manor was carefully adapted for use as a country house hotel with 25 bedrooms and opened in 1970. Interesting details such as acorns and oak leaf patterned doors and original furniture and fireplaces can still be seen throughout the building. These commemorate the debt owed by King Charles to the oak tree which hid him from Cromwell's men on his escape to France in 1651. Today, New Park Manor is a beautiful, stylish country hotel, where the traditions of days gone by still live on and many original features can still be seen around the hotel. Bedrooms range from the splendor of our Muntjac our signature Family Suite to the contemporary style of our Forest rooms. Over recent years, our facilities have expanded to include a heated outdoor pool, croquet lawn, and our award-winning Spa which included a heated indoor pool and outdoor Canadian hot tub overlooking the New Forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your New Park Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Park Manor Hotel Brockenhurst
Country Hotel Brockenhurst
Country Hotel New Park Manor
New Park Manor Brockenhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing