We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful venue for a wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rhinefield House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We stayed at Rhinefield for a wedding. It is a beautiful venue, with stunning gardens and the front of the hotel is amazing. The food for the wedding breakfast was very good, and the staff at the hotel were incredibly polite and helpful, from the check-in staff to the waiters and bar staff – especially the girl working the hotel lounge bar when we all stayed up a bit longer to enjoy what was left of the wedding day. Whilst I did not get to use the spa, friends of mine did and were happy with the services and facilities on offer.

I did not sleep as well as I would have wanted but the bed is perfectly acceptable. Our breakfast was in the grill room – for guests of the wedding only – which was a nice touch but I do feel that the breakfast was lacking. My partner stayed at the hotel the night before and had breakfast in the main restaurant which he said was cooked to order and the buffet was plentiful whereas ours felt like a little bit of an afterthought with a fairly small selection on the buffet and warm-ish food.

That being said, it is a beautiful hotel in a stunning location and certainly for a traditional white wedding it was perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelb14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Dear Kelb14
Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review on Trip Advisor. I was really pleased you had enjoyed the Wedding you attended, We are very lucky with our setting and it does make for the Fairy Tale Wedding day. I will pass your thanks onto the team and especially Tilley who was working in the Lounge bar that evening.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,816)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

961 - 967 of 1,816 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

Lovely location and stunning grounds but you will need a car to get about and taxis very expensive. Service in bar and restaurants left a lot to be desired and in the grill restaurant the service was dire, we had to wait a very long time for our meal and not once were we checked on to see if everything was ok or our drinks topped up. All in all a very expensive meal with poor service. In the bar tables were not cleared and we had to go to the bar to be served all the time. Room very average for the cost.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Parndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Dear Tania B
I was really sorry to read that you had not received the level of service that we pride ourselves on here at Rhinefield. I have spoken with the senior team with in the Food and beverage department and they too join me in my apology. Please do let me know personally if you are staying at any other of our amazing sister hotels as I would very much like to over see any future bookings you make.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This is a very nice venue for a wedding, the food was excellent and the staff very helpful. My room was fine, well equipped and clean. The bed was a little soft for my liking but perfectly acceptable! I would only have two minor gripes, breakfast was served for the wedding party on the first day in a lovely room with attentive staff. The second morning, after the wedding breakfast was provided in a buffet style and in another room which was not as nice. It felt as though the wedding was over and we were being hustled out for the next one. Beware drinks prices as well, 'international level' would be a polite way of putting it.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank roderrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Dear Roderrs
Thank you for your recent posting to Trip Advisor. It is always good to get feedback and I was pleased that you had enjoyed your stay whilst attending a Wedding with us here at Rhinefield. I have taken on board your comments about Breakfast the day following a Wedding and have discussed this with my Wedding coordinators.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed last Friday on the bed to celebrate our wedding anniversary having stayed here for a
night of our honeymoon 27 years ago!
Bed, breakfast and evening meal offer with champagne.
Reception staff were welcoming and friendly.
Room very nice.
All the problems started at dinner - I will review the Armada restaurant under restaurant reviews as don't want to tarnish the hotel itself.
I give the hotel a 4 rating - it's lovely. The grounds are beautiful, setting wonderful.
Breakfast was great - and again staff very attentive.
Needless to say we didn't have a great stay but staff did all they could to put things right.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Dear Sue K
Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review of Rhinefield House on Trip Advisor. I was very pleased to read that you had enjoyed the house and that the staff had been very friendly towards you. Obviously we are very disappointed that you did not enjoy your evening meal and as a senior team we have already discussed the issues you raised with us here at the hotel and again our apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Excellent wedding location! - great staff and excellent pool area with jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. Food was excellent, both the breakfast and the dinner at the wedding. Great place to stay in the New Forest


Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Ross R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Dear Ross R
Thank you for your comments posted to Trip Advisor. I was really pleased you had enjoyed all of your stay with us from the Wedding itself through to breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We attended a wedding at Rhinefield house and booked to stay over for the night.
The location is beautiful and the management of the wedding and wedding breakfast was fist class. The mass-catered food (for the wedding breakfast) was very well done & catered seamlessly for special dietary requirements.
Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Dear Michael D
Thank you for your very kind words about the management of the Wedding you attended. We have an excellent co-ordination team behind the scenes and then of course we have Katie who runs the operational side of our weddings with great passion and conviction. We are lucky to have such a great team here at Rhinefield.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed here for a wedding and the house is lovely in the most wonderful setting.
For the money, our room in the old part of building was disappointing with furnishings ill thought through. For example, it was impossible for one person to sit at the dressing table without the other person having to climb across bed to access the other side of room.
Wedding food was simple but fine, except for bread rolls which were not fresh and very dry. Breakfast was buffet style with no choice of egg style and sausages had to be taken away again as they were not cooked (we couldn't understand how even the most inexperienced chef could have released them from kitchen in first place). They never did return in
time for us to consume them with
the rest of the breakfast. The hotel needs to improve in the basics for the rates they are charging (complimentary water bottles in room for example).

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Acrobatic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Dear acrobatic1
Thank you for taking the time to post your concerns on to Trip Advisor. It is always beneficial to get balanced reviews from our guests and we can then try to improve on our service and offerings. I have taken on board your comments and will be discussing them with the senior management team. Sorry you didn’t find the complimentary water in the fridge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
6.4 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,989 reviews
3.3 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
429 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#4 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,704 reviews
4.3 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
765 reviews
7.7 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beaulieu
1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhinefield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhinefield House Hotel

Address: Rhinefield Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7QB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
#4 Spa Hotel in Brockenhurst
#4 Luxury Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range: £121 - £233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rhinefield House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like a magical secret, Rhinefield House is located deep within the New Forest National Park. Step inside and the aura of magic simply deepens - and nowhere more spectacularly than in the Alhambra Room, bedecked in glittering jewels. With beautiful surroundings and a blend of Tudor and Gothic architecture, Rhinefield is the most perfect fairytale wedding venue. It is also the ideal setting for an indulgent break and an inspiring conference venue for meetings, team building or product launches. Downtime means the chance to take in the great outdoors we have on our doorstep, whether its pony trekking, long walks in the forest or a day trip to the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Rhinefield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rhinefield House Hotel Brockenhurst, New Forest
Rhinefield Hotel Brockenhurst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing