We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing New Forest break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rhinefield House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We enjoyed a two night midweek stay in an executive room with dinner on one night. The room was very nice with a view into the forest but, having seen into some of the standard rooms as well, I am not sure that the executive room was worth the upgrade; the standard rooms did not look a lot different.

Dinner in the Armada (main) restaurant was excellent, certainly worthy of its two AA-rosettes. Breakfast was slightly disappointing though. While the cooked breakfast was reasonable and there was a mid-sized buffet, the range of fruit was very limited on one of the mornings and on both mornings the orange juice was cheap juice from concentrate and not the freshly-squeezed juice described on the menu. Also, the bread was not great and the croissants/pastries were just small bake-offs. I expect more from a luxury 4 star hotel.

We used the spa twice. It is very small! The pool is only 9m long and about 2m wide and so as soon as there are three people in it, it is pretty much full. The gym is also small with only one treadmill, one rowing machine, two bikes and a few weight machines. Thankfully it was not very busy during our visit but I suspect that it would get very crowded at weekends so beware.

Despite the gripes about breakfast and the gym, I would still recommend Rhinefield for a relaxing stay if you can get a good deal.

Room Tip: Executive room was nice but not sure whether worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DB_n_JB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Dear DBnJB
Thank you for your recent posting to Trip Advisor and for your constructive critique. I will be looking into your comments with regard to Breakfast with the Food and Beverage team and our Head Chef. Im glad that overall you had enjoyed your stay with us here in the New Forest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,760)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

896 - 902 of 1,760 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

I took my god daughter and her partner to afternoon tea yesterday. I hoped it would be a really special occasion. The hotel was obviously very busy and the lounge was full of people also having tea. The three of us were given a small table, a second was added which gave us a rather disjointed feel. The waiter, who was obviously busy, was rather grumpy. He wasn't happy my guests asked if they could decide whether to have tea or coffee later, after they had drunk their champagne. (He never did come back to ask - so they had to drink what I was drinking!) The sandwiches were rather dry and unseasoned but the scones were delicious. We were served cups of raspberry mousse (with dried up mousse dripped down the outside of the cup) but no spoons to eat it with. There were no spoons for the jam or cream either. One of the cakes was very uninspiring and disappointing. It was almost impossible to gain the waiter's attention but when we did he didn't return with the milk we asked for so second cups of tea were drunk without it. There was a large wedding at the hotel and perhaps this impacted on the service we experienced. It was a bit of a let down and I felt disappointed considering the price and very different to what I had hoped.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank AmandaDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2013

Dear Amanda
Thank you for taking the time to post your review to Trip Advisor. We are naturally disappointed that you did not enjoy our Afternoon Experience and if you would like to contact me directly I would be very happy to discuss it further with you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

we had a lovely one night stay yesterday... we booked a classic room on a one night package.... £179 for bed and breakfast and evening fine dining meal with glass of wine and canapes... excellent value... the staff were very friendly and efficient... The food in the main restaurant was amazing... they have a superb chef with great imagination !!.. The room was very comfortable and the whole building is amazing ..set in the new forest and a lovely time of year to visit... highly recommended....

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Dear Candis T
Thank you for your glowing review posted to Trip Advisor. I will make sure that the team and especially the chef see it. You are right about the time of year, the Forest looks absolutely amazing this time of year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Had a lovely stay at the hotel during a November break.
We booked the Classic Room (cheapest one they have) and it was as per the website, we had no complaints. The bar area is very roomy, and overlooks the garden pond. The restaurant was over 2 rooms, both very grand and lovely. The breakfast could have had more on the fruit, and cereal side, but was adequate. The cooked breakfast was lovely. We did not dine in the hotel during the evening, so cannot comment. I had a massage in the SPA which was great the only negative point would be water being served in a plastic cup after the treatment ! A glass would have been nice, especially in a luxurious hotel. The SPA is very small with not a lot of room to sit and relax before or after treatment. The Swimming Pool is very small and narrow, but ok as long as no more than a few people are in there at a time. We used the pool twice with a max of 6 people in the pool, which was fine, any more and it would be hard to swim without touching at some point. The changing rooms on the first visit could have benefitted from having the floor mopped / cleaned although not dirty as such, but small puddles on floor. 2nd time was better, but with others coming in with Wellies etc on, the floor could get very grubby very quickly, so would benefit from constant cleaning or maybe a shoe rack before entering the changing rooms, so that outdoor shoes are not depositing dirty on the floor. The steam room was very nice, if not slightly tired, could do with a re-grout. These negatives may seem quite a lot, but are me being picking after a very lovely relaxing stay, and would recommend it. Beautiful hotel, in a beautiful setting, and excellent service.

Room Tip: Look on hotels website, there offers were better value than any of the general hotel discount sites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Dear Karen R
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I was really pleased to read you had had a relaxing stay with us and had enjoyed the food and service you received. Thank you for your comments about our Health Suite, I will be discussing them with the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This hotel has a wow factor is you approach and it maintains this from check in to check out. We stayed the night in a very comfortable well maintained room. The set menu in the Armada restaurant was perfect and service attentive and professional. We enjoyed our drinks in their comfortable lounge . Breakfast lived up to our expectations. We look forward to a return visor.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Therese B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Dear Therese B
Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor I think it sums everything up perfectly and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

This is a stunning hotel set in a fabulous part of the New Forest. The hotel offers many great things and one is the Armada Restaurant which serves excellent food. We had a choice of the 'A la carte menu' or a 3 course set menu, which is what we decided. Although the portions are small they are packed with flavour and presented beautifully.

I'd not only recommend the food but the service and setting is also very good especially if you are seated in the Armada room rather than a smaller private room. I'm looking forward to returning again soon.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Adam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Dear Adam D
Thank you for your recent review of your dinning experience in the Armada Restaurant here at Rhinefield House. We are very lucky to have such a beautiful setting for our dinning rooms and even luckier to have such a talented team working in the kitchen. We are hoping to host some more gourmet food and wine evenings in the New Year so I hope you will be able to join us for those and get to meet the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

My wife and I celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary by inviting members of our family to join us for a weekend in the New Forest and an overnight stay in this hotel. We had a great time over the weekend and the hotel definitely contributed to that. Everyone was pleased with the quality of the accommodation and the spacious rooms and comfortable beds were mentioned. The more active of us made use of the pool and sauna. The hotel is in a wonderful location and the grounds were beautiful and a pleasant place to stroll in the sunshine before breakfast.
We were offered the exclusive use of the Alhambra room for our meals and we all enjoyed the flamboyant decoration in this room, built as a replica of a room in the Alhambra Palace in Spain. It certainly contributed to the festive atmosphere. It was a great advantage to have a dining room to ourselves and it meant that the two-year-old in our party could wander about without being a nuisance to other guests. The arrangement with everyone around a square table was ideal - it made it easy for everyone to talk to everyone else.
The staff were unfailingly helpful and courteous and could not have done more to make our stay a pleasant one. The food was excellent. The dinner was very imaginative and we thought the choice of wines was very good, and good value too. The only complaint we had was about the quality of the vegetarian main course but that concern was dealt with sympathetically. The huge breakfasts met with approval all round.

Room Tip: There are rooms of different standards but even the basic rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Dear Chris P
Firstly many congratulations on your Ruby Wedding Anniversary and secondly thank you for choosing to spend it with us here at Rhinefield. I was delighted to read that your family and friends had enjoyed it also. I will pass on your comments to all of the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
6.4 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,902 reviews
2.5 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#4 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,650 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
751 reviews
6.7 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
3.3 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhinefield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhinefield House Hotel

Address: Rhinefield Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7QB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
#3 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
#4 Spa Hotel in Brockenhurst
#4 Luxury Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range: £151 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rhinefield House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like a magical secret, Rhinefield House is located deep within the New Forest National Park. Step inside and the aura of magic simply deepens - and nowhere more spectacularly than in the Alhambra Room, bedecked in glittering jewels. With beautiful surroundings and a blend of Tudor and Gothic architecture, Rhinefield is the most perfect fairytale wedding venue. It is also the ideal setting for an indulgent break and an inspiring conference venue for meetings, team building or product launches. Downtime means the chance to take in the great outdoors we have on our doorstep, whether its pony trekking, long walks in the forest or a day trip to the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Rhinefield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rhinefield House Hotel Brockenhurst, New Forest
Rhinefield Hotel Brockenhurst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing