We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rhinefield House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Ashurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Went for a Spa day with a friend and unfortunately didn't enjoyed at all!! The building itself is beautiful set in the lovely surroundings of the New Forest but the Spa area is nothing amazing...
The indoor pool is very small and water is cold, the gym is also small as well as the changing rooms and the treatments rooms...For what we were charged it was not worth it we try to make the most of it because there were not many facilities and the treatment was very average....
We also decided to have lunch and the meal was not cooked properly so we have to wait.....
Not impressed at all for such a majestic place!! it needs a little bit more attention in the spa area

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silvia79k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Dear SilviaK79
Thank you for taking the time to post your review to Trip Advisor. We were very upset to learn that you had not enjoyed your retreat day with us here at Rhinefield. I know that Elizabeth has been in touch with you to discuss it further and that you had the chance to talk it through.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    769
    449
    246
    106
    81
See reviews for
323
962
10
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nailsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

We booked into this hotel in early October for an anniversary celebration and were certainly not disappointed. We had booked a suite which was one of the hotels historic rooms and this proved to be outstanding. The character, layout and comfort of the room was everything that we could gave hoped for. The bathroom was especially grand.

We had booked on a dinner, bed & breakfast basis but even so because the menu was so fantastic upgraded each night to the al la carte choices. The wines on offer were also better than many other hotels of this class. The service at breakfast and dinner was 1st class, especially from the restaurant management. It was a bit odd having the bar so far away from the restaurant but we were escorted between the two each night at dinner.

The hotel and grounds are more than just interesting and both require time to explore and enjoy.

We will certainly be booking this hotel again and can thoroughly recommend it.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Dear Mike G
Thank you for your recent posting to Trip Advisor. I was really glad to read you had such a wonderful stay. We are lucky in so many ways. We have an excellent team in the kitchen, a very passionate gardener and an owner who Hand Picks all our wines personally each year. She is just about to send us some really exciting parcels of Bordeaux at amazing prices. We look forward to welcoming you back to Rhienfield.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a classic double room which was fine for the price we paid, comfortable bed and nice toiletries, the room service breakfast was abit disappointing as the cereal came in a ramekin rather than a cereal bowl and the fruit was dry, but apart from that the hotel itself is lovely, the staff are friendly the grounds are even nicer. The new forest is certainly a lovely location.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sunny1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Dear Sunny190
Thank you for your recent posting to Trip Advisor. Please be assured I will look into your comments about your room service breakfast but i was pleased that you had enjoyed your stay with us here at Rhinefield and had enjoyed the beautiful New Forest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth,Dorset
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

We spent a Friday night at Rhinefield House as part of a package including three course evening meal, pre dinner canapés and breakfast.
The hotel is a beautiful building and in the lovely surroundings of the New Forest.
We chose an executive room, named 'Bugle'. It was well appointed and comfortable with beautiful views into the forest.
Staff were polite and friendly.
We started our stay with 'elevenses' which was similar in content to an afternoon tea. It was unfortunately lacking in taste. It was also different to what was advertised online and very bland.
Our included three course evening meal in the Armada restaurant was also lacking in taste and disappointing. It left us wishing that we'd chosen the grill restaurant instead where they offered burger and chips or steak type options. Having visited the grill during our last stay in April they seem to have improved this menu.
Finally our night was disturbed by noise from guests in the adjacent room. Children were noisy
until just before midnight, keeping us awake.
I think that the hotel needs to address the quality of food. Until then, I don't think we'd return.
Otherwise, the only tips I would offer is to take earplugs.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank yoojayem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Dear yoojayem
Thank you for your recent posting to Trip Advisor and I am really sorry that you found your recent stay a bit of a disappointment. I will certainly be discussing your concerns about the lack of flavour with our chef James who I know will be equally disappointed that it was not to our usual high standard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

We enjoyed a two night midweek stay in an executive room with dinner on one night. The room was very nice with a view into the forest but, having seen into some of the standard rooms as well, I am not sure that the executive room was worth the upgrade; the standard rooms did not look a lot different.

Dinner in the Armada (main) restaurant was excellent, certainly worthy of its two AA-rosettes. Breakfast was slightly disappointing though. While the cooked breakfast was reasonable and there was a mid-sized buffet, the range of fruit was very limited on one of the mornings and on both mornings the orange juice was cheap juice from concentrate and not the freshly-squeezed juice described on the menu. Also, the bread was not great and the croissants/pastries were just small bake-offs. I expect more from a luxury 4 star hotel.

We used the spa twice. It is very small! The pool is only 9m long and about 2m wide and so as soon as there are three people in it, it is pretty much full. The gym is also small with only one treadmill, one rowing machine, two bikes and a few weight machines. Thankfully it was not very busy during our visit but I suspect that it would get very crowded at weekends so beware.

Despite the gripes about breakfast and the gym, I would still recommend Rhinefield for a relaxing stay if you can get a good deal.

Room Tip: Executive room was nice but not sure whether worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DB_n_JB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Dear DBnJB
Thank you for your recent posting to Trip Advisor and for your constructive critique. I will be looking into your comments with regard to Breakfast with the Food and Beverage team and our Head Chef. Im glad that overall you had enjoyed your stay with us here in the New Forest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blandford Forum, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

I took my god daughter and her partner to afternoon tea yesterday. I hoped it would be a really special occasion. The hotel was obviously very busy and the lounge was full of people also having tea. The three of us were given a small table, a second was added which gave us a rather disjointed feel. The waiter, who was obviously busy, was rather grumpy. He wasn't happy my guests asked if they could decide whether to have tea or coffee later, after they had drunk their champagne. (He never did come back to ask - so they had to drink what I was drinking!) The sandwiches were rather dry and unseasoned but the scones were delicious. We were served cups of raspberry mousse (with dried up mousse dripped down the outside of the cup) but no spoons to eat it with. There were no spoons for the jam or cream either. One of the cakes was very uninspiring and disappointing. It was almost impossible to gain the waiter's attention but when we did he didn't return with the milk we asked for so second cups of tea were drunk without it. There was a large wedding at the hotel and perhaps this impacted on the service we experienced. It was a bit of a let down and I felt disappointed considering the price and very different to what I had hoped.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Dear Amanda
Thank you for taking the time to post your review to Trip Advisor. We are naturally disappointed that you did not enjoy our Afternoon Experience and if you would like to contact me directly I would be very happy to discuss it further with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

we had a lovely one night stay yesterday... we booked a classic room on a one night package.... £179 for bed and breakfast and evening fine dining meal with glass of wine and canapes... excellent value... the staff were very friendly and efficient... The food in the main restaurant was amazing... they have a superb chef with great imagination !!.. The room was very comfortable and the whole building is amazing ..set in the new forest and a lovely time of year to visit... highly recommended....

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear Candis T
Thank you for your glowing review posted to Trip Advisor. I will make sure that the team and especially the chef see it. You are right about the time of year, the Forest looks absolutely amazing this time of year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
6.4 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,723 reviews
2.5 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,552 reviews
3.8 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
6.7 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
5.6 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhinefield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhinefield House Hotel

Property: Rhinefield House Hotel
Address: Rhinefield Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7QB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
#3 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
#4 Luxury Hotel in Brockenhurst
#4 Spa Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rhinefield House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like a magical secret, Rhinefield House is located deep within the New Forest National Park. Step inside and the aura of magic simply deepens - and nowhere more spectacularly than in the Alhambra Room, bedecked in glittering jewels. With beautiful surroundings and a blend of Tudor and Gothic architecture, Rhinefield is the most perfect fairytale wedding venue. It is also the ideal setting for an indulgent break and an inspiring conference venue for meetings, team building or product launches. Downtime means the chance to take in the great outdoors we have on our doorstep, whether its pony trekking, long walks in the forest or a day trip to the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rhinefield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rhinefield House Hotel Brockenhurst, New Forest
Rhinefield Hotel Brockenhurst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing