We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice but not VFM - yes, 'disappointing' about right.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rhinefield House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“nice but not VFM - yes, 'disappointing' about right.”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

certainly a nice location in the middle of new forest. rooms are in the annexe at the back/side and size ok. I'm in the travel trade and its always about VFM - value for money. if you pay 50 quid p.n. and get that 'quality' then fine, and if you pay 250 quid pn and get that quality then also its fine. the problem with rhinefield is that being 'ok in a nice location' while charging those prices isnt enough. a traditional country manor house that takes 45 mins to serve breakfast? that runs out of butter on a sunday morning breakfast for all guests? and then you find that if you ASK for a square of flora then you'll get one - but why don't they provide it without asking? dinner menus looked uninspiring saturday, and we were told we couldn't see the dinner menu (in order to book or not) for the sunday til 430pm same day. what kitchen in a decent hotel doesn't know what's on the menu for the evening by same day lunchtime? for a fantastic meal try the silver hind in sway - see my other review.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heafers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear Heafers
Thank you for your critique posted to trip advisor and to use your words we are really disappointed you didn’t enjoy your time with us here at Rhinefield. We take all of our guests concerns very seriously and of course will be discussing yours so that we can make our future guests stays better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    785
    464
    258
    113
    83
See reviews for
335
990
10
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lymington
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We have stayed before and always love it. My husband had his birthday here so I decided to have my 50th here as well. It was either a big family party or a stay in the walker suite. We had the walker suite with dinner and breakfast. When we arrived my husband had arranged afternoon tea with friends, the table was decorated beautifully, the staff had even helped my husband with a surprise, an emerald and diamond ring hidden on the afternoon tea!!! How amazing! The staff really got into the spirit of the occasion, I felt like family, was very special. And the suite was out of this world. Best birthday ever. Food great service fantastic. Definitely coming again. In fact we've booked walker suite for our 30th wedding anniversary in August 2014. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear Loraine
Thank you for choosing to spend your Birthday here with us at Rhinefield and it was a pleasure to have you stay with us again. I know the team really enjoyed looking after you and your friends. We were all really glad you found the ring and that it hadn’t got stuck under a cake. Look forward to seeing you again in August for your Wedding Anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Rhinefield House is a picture book setting. An outstanding building in such a lovely part of the country. I decided it would be the perfect setting for a marriage proposal. Having contacted the hotel some weeks prior to our stay it was thought that staff would bring the ring into our suite with the afternoon tea I had booked. The ring was dropped off at reception and we spent some time wandering around the beautiful grounds before returning to the room. At exactly the time agreed the afternoon tea and the ring arrived, closely followed by a celebratory bottle of champagne. The Heron Suite we stayed in was so beautiful. The views of the forest and the grounds were stunning. The service both in terms of room service and in the Armada Restaurant was excellent and everything that has been agreed prior to our visit was performed with precision. The food we were given was absolutely perfect. I can not fault our stay at Rhinefield House apart from the fact it went too quickly. We will definitely return soon the only difference will be the fact we return as a married couple. It was a simply wonderful experience.


Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Duncan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Duncan
Many congratulations on your recent engagement and thank you so much for choosing to pop the question here with us at Rhinefield. I was so pleased that all of the planning went like clock work and that the two of you enjoyed the rest of your time with us. I know all of the team were really excited for you. We all look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I was very disappointed by our stay at the Rhinefield. The website and indeed the main house are beautiful, but that is lost once you continue into the rooms and other areas in the hotel. It expanded and has not maintained the quality it offers through the pictures of the main house.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear Laura M
Thank you for taking the time to post your review to Trip Advisor on us here at Rhinefield and I’m really sorry that you found your visit disappointing. I have taken on board your concerns and will look into them with the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, Dorset, England
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We celebrated our daughter's 50th birthday here. It is in a beautiful location in the New Forest. The history of the hotel. the atmosphere, the food and stall all helped to make this a memorable occsion. The swimming pool and spa made for a relaxing time as well. We all enjoyed sitting around the log fire after a delicious meal.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeannie37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear Jeannie37
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review to Trip Advisor and thank you for choosing to celebrate your daughters 50th birthday here with us at Rhinefield. I was so happy to read it had been a successful event and you had really enjoyed the food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We had a great xmas party earlier this month at Rhinefield...the table was beautifully decorated...the food was fabulous (as always when we've visited this hotel).... The service was attentive...the disco was great fun.

Thanks to the staff at Rhinefield for getting our Xmas off to a cracking start!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Dear Johnsb
Thank you for taking the time to post your review to Trip Advisor and we are all really pleased that we have got your Xmas off to a great start and that you enjoyed the Xmas join a party night. Merry Christmas from us all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We stayed in an apartment. Oh! It was so lovely. High ceilings, ornate fireplace, well appointed bathroom with a proper bath and another bathroom with a shower. Bliss!
The enormous 6ft bed was heaven! It was sooo comfortable and warm and cosy. We really didn't want to get up.
Although we have stayed at Rhinefiled house many times we have never had breakfast in the hotel.
The service was very good indeed. My husband had a Full English which was served piping hot and on a HOT plate. Excellent sausage. I had some fruit - prepared orange, grapefruit and pear, followed by apple juice, oodles of coffee and smoked salmon with scrambled eggs to die for! Even the toast and preserves were perfect. It certainly wasn't cheap at £14.50 but there was so much to choose from. I didn't even make a dent in the cold meats, cheeses, yogourts and cereals. The newspaper was a nice touch too.
We really appreciated the reception staff who were friendly, spoke perfect English (so important!) and were able to give us all the information that we needed.
The in-house artist was amazing. His paintings of the forest, the ponies, dogs, deer, etc, were unique and rather desirable!
So glad that the hotel is upgrading various things, especailly the road to and from the car park.
We will be back...to a terrific building in a peaceful yet wild location.

Room Tip: The timeshare apartment that we stayed in was fabulous. So spacious. One bedroom with two bathroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BellaWimborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Dear bella Wimborne
Thank you for your recent posting to Trip Advisor and I cant agree more the beds here are amazingly comfortable and who doesn’t dream of spending the whole day in bed. I was so glad you had enjoyed our Breakfast Experience as a good one really does set you up for the day. We look forward to welcoming you back to Rhinefield.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
6.4 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,807 reviews
2.5 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,605 reviews
7.7 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
1,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
349 reviews
6.7 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
5.6 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhinefield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhinefield House Hotel

Property: Rhinefield House Hotel
Address: Rhinefield Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7QB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
#3 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
#4 Spa Hotel in Brockenhurst
#4 Luxury Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rhinefield House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like a magical secret, Rhinefield House is located deep within the New Forest National Park. Step inside and the aura of magic simply deepens - and nowhere more spectacularly than in the Alhambra Room, bedecked in glittering jewels. With beautiful surroundings and a blend of Tudor and Gothic architecture, Rhinefield is the most perfect fairytale wedding venue. It is also the ideal setting for an indulgent break and an inspiring conference venue for meetings, team building or product launches. Downtime means the chance to take in the great outdoors we have on our doorstep, whether its pony trekking, long walks in the forest or a day trip to the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Rhinefield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rhinefield House Hotel Brockenhurst, New Forest
Rhinefield Hotel Brockenhurst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing