We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect New Forest weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rhinefield House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A perfect New Forest weekend away”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

The approach to the Hotel through the New Forest and into the forest garden at the front of the Hotel raises the anticipation of your arrival. The staff were courteous and the modern room in the annex overlooked the forest with a full wall window. HINT : ramblers do walk through the woods so remember to pull the curtains when changing so save scaring them, you may be eating a meal next to one later, which could lead to some odd looks.

Dinner in main restaurant was everything expected of a 5 star facility. We had dinner in the Grill on night which was less formal but excellent food and service geat

In terms of diversions a walk around the grounds after breakfast will help work up the appetite for lunch. We recommend to carry a bag of breadcrumbs, not to stave off hunger, but so as to leave a trail through the Maze for when you get lost.

The subterranean pool is quiet and well maintained if a little bland. The Hot Tub is interesting despite supposedly set at 37 Deg C, would allow you to soft boil an egg in 2 mins. HINT: the on-off switch is on the floor next to a health and safety notice, ignore the large unmarked button on the wall, this is the panic alarm- the staff were very understanding and says it happens all the time.

Overall we would go again, as soon as we have a chance.

HINT: the pubs in Brockenhurst are great for lunch, and the Tea Rooms at Station House, Holmsley are a must when visiting the New Forest.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the forest: for beautiful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The-Old-Romantics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear the Old Romantics
Thank you for taking the time to post such a great review to Trip Advisor. We are all really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and got so much enjoyment out of the New Forest. It is a very special place to visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    777
    456
    248
    108
    81
See reviews for
327
972
10
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

certainly a nice location in the middle of new forest. rooms are in the annexe at the back/side and size ok. I'm in the travel trade and its always about VFM - value for money. if you pay 50 quid p.n. and get that 'quality' then fine, and if you pay 250 quid pn and get that quality then also its fine. the problem with rhinefield is that being 'ok in a nice location' while charging those prices isnt enough. a traditional country manor house that takes 45 mins to serve breakfast? that runs out of butter on a sunday morning breakfast for all guests? and then you find that if you ASK for a square of flora then you'll get one - but why don't they provide it without asking? dinner menus looked uninspiring saturday, and we were told we couldn't see the dinner menu (in order to book or not) for the sunday til 430pm same day. what kitchen in a decent hotel doesn't know what's on the menu for the evening by same day lunchtime? for a fantastic meal try the silver hind in sway - see my other review.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heafers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear Heafers
Thank you for your critique posted to trip advisor and to use your words we are really disappointed you didn’t enjoy your time with us here at Rhinefield. We take all of our guests concerns very seriously and of course will be discussing yours so that we can make our future guests stays better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We have stayed before and always love it. My husband had his birthday here so I decided to have my 50th here as well. It was either a big family party or a stay in the walker suite. We had the walker suite with dinner and breakfast. When we arrived my husband had arranged afternoon tea with friends, the table was decorated beautifully, the staff had even helped my husband with a surprise, an emerald and diamond ring hidden on the afternoon tea!!! How amazing! The staff really got into the spirit of the occasion, I felt like family, was very special. And the suite was out of this world. Best birthday ever. Food great service fantastic. Definitely coming again. In fact we've booked walker suite for our 30th wedding anniversary in August 2014. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear Loraine
Thank you for choosing to spend your Birthday here with us at Rhinefield and it was a pleasure to have you stay with us again. I know the team really enjoyed looking after you and your friends. We were all really glad you found the ring and that it hadn’t got stuck under a cake. Look forward to seeing you again in August for your Wedding Anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Rhinefield House is a picture book setting. An outstanding building in such a lovely part of the country. I decided it would be the perfect setting for a marriage proposal. Having contacted the hotel some weeks prior to our stay it was thought that staff would bring the ring into our suite with the afternoon tea I had booked. The ring was dropped off at reception and we spent some time wandering around the beautiful grounds before returning to the room. At exactly the time agreed the afternoon tea and the ring arrived, closely followed by a celebratory bottle of champagne. The Heron Suite we stayed in was so beautiful. The views of the forest and the grounds were stunning. The service both in terms of room service and in the Armada Restaurant was excellent and everything that has been agreed prior to our visit was performed with precision. The food we were given was absolutely perfect. I can not fault our stay at Rhinefield House apart from the fact it went too quickly. We will definitely return soon the only difference will be the fact we return as a married couple. It was a simply wonderful experience.


Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Duncan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Duncan
Many congratulations on your recent engagement and thank you so much for choosing to pop the question here with us at Rhinefield. I was so pleased that all of the planning went like clock work and that the two of you enjoyed the rest of your time with us. I know all of the team were really excited for you. We all look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I was very disappointed by our stay at the Rhinefield. The website and indeed the main house are beautiful, but that is lost once you continue into the rooms and other areas in the hotel. It expanded and has not maintained the quality it offers through the pictures of the main house.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this review, 1 February 2014
Dear Laura M
Thank you for taking the time to post your review to Trip Advisor on us here at Rhinefield and I’m really sorry that you found your visit disappointing. I have taken on board your concerns and will look into them with the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, Dorset, England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

We celebrated our daughter's 50th birthday here. It is in a beautiful location in the New Forest. The history of the hotel. the atmosphere, the food and stall all helped to make this a memorable occsion. The swimming pool and spa made for a relaxing time as well. We all enjoyed sitting around the log fire after a delicious meal.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeannie37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear Jeannie37
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review to Trip Advisor and thank you for choosing to celebrate your daughters 50th birthday here with us at Rhinefield. I was so happy to read it had been a successful event and you had really enjoyed the food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We had a great xmas party earlier this month at Rhinefield...the table was beautifully decorated...the food was fabulous (as always when we've visited this hotel).... The service was attentive...the disco was great fun.

Thanks to the staff at Rhinefield for getting our Xmas off to a cracking start!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Dear Johnsb
Thank you for taking the time to post your review to Trip Advisor and we are all really pleased that we have got your Xmas off to a great start and that you enjoyed the Xmas join a party night. Merry Christmas from us all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
6.4 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,745 reviews
2.5 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
3.8 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
6.7 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
5.6 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhinefield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhinefield House Hotel

Property: Rhinefield House Hotel
Address: Rhinefield Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7QB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
#3 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
#4 Luxury Hotel in Brockenhurst
#4 Spa Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rhinefield House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like a magical secret, Rhinefield House is located deep within the New Forest National Park. Step inside and the aura of magic simply deepens - and nowhere more spectacularly than in the Alhambra Room, bedecked in glittering jewels. With beautiful surroundings and a blend of Tudor and Gothic architecture, Rhinefield is the most perfect fairytale wedding venue. It is also the ideal setting for an indulgent break and an inspiring conference venue for meetings, team building or product launches. Downtime means the chance to take in the great outdoors we have on our doorstep, whether its pony trekking, long walks in the forest or a day trip to the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Rhinefield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rhinefield House Hotel Brockenhurst, New Forest
Rhinefield Hotel Brockenhurst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing