We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rhinefield House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Beaulieu Hotel(Beaulieu)
US$229
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balmer Lawn(Brockenhurst)
US$365
US$293
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$307
US$298
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cloud Hotel(Brockenhurst)
US$210
US$204
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$349
US$328
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cottage Lodge Hotel(Brockenhurst)(Great Value!)
US$182
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Passford House(Lymington)
US$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Pig(Brockenhurst)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
New Park Manor(Brockenhurst)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Forest Park Hotel(Brockenhurst)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,873)
Filter reviews
1,873 results
Traveller rating
876
500
273
128
96
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
876
500
273
128
96
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe grillarmada restaurantexecutive roomafternoon teaalhambra roomwalker suitehandpicked hotelshand picked hotelstimeshare apartmentsgrand hallheron suitenew forestlounge barornamental drivehealth clubclassic roomstunning grounds
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
953 - 958 of 1,873 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2014

A nice old building in super gardens, very pretty albeit a victorian folly. It is in a super position for the forest. The staff all very nice and some most helpful.
I could tolerate the fist sized hole in the quilt cover and the black mould round the bathroom fittings. (just as well because no action was taken when I mentioned it ro reception, forgotten I think not ignored).
It just was not my kind of place. It is neither restaurant with rooms, a true spa nor a traditional country hotel. It tries to be all and little cracks show. They were exceptionally rude to a young man with a tiny dog who wanted a drink saying the dog could not even be in the grounds. I am biased as I love my dogs and horses and frankly the dog had better manners than some of the guests, one of whom stole the furry toy which you hang on the door if you dont want room service.
Yet, I still liked this place because of the staff and because bits of the building are truly lovely - oriel windows and Versailles type ponds and fountains.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank Alison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Alison
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Rhinefield and post it to Trip Advisor. I was sad to read that we hadn’t delivered on many fronts and that you found us to be a confused hotel. I will certainly take you points on board and discuss them with the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This was a lovely romantic setting for our friends wedding. Everything was organized very well and the food was excellent, really very good indeed and a big improvement on a previous visit to Rhinefield. There are three reasons why I haven't given an excellent. The first one is the walkway between the old building and the newer wing has a institutional corridor feel, it really is quite uninspiring and horrible and more effort could be made. Our room was comfortable but the carpet had a nasty stain and the mattresses were not up to standard, they were not the lovely pocket spring type that I would expect, when paying this much money for a room. The other big issue that everyone was complaining about were the extortionate bar prices - £17.00 for a double gin and tonic! Made everyone feel ripped off and not that expensive in the Chewton Glen!!! If these issues were addressed it would be fabulous.

Room Tip: Stay in the old house!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Coolkoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Coolkoala
Thank you for your honest review having attended a recent Wedding with us here at Rhinefield. I was glad to read that we had improved on many things since your last visit to us but take on board your other comments and will look into these. I was pleased you had enjoyed the Wedding and your stay overall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An EasyToBook.com traveler
13
Reviewed 26 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This is the second time we have stayed here and we have nothing but praise for this lovely hideaway hotel. The first time we stayed we were upgraded which was a fantastic treat. Both times we stayed we found the food excellent, the beds comfortable and the rooms spacious and clean. The staff are courteous and attentive without being intrusive. I especially enjoyed watching all the preparations for a wedding that was happening later on! Without a doubt we will return

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nialliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Nial
Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor and thank you for choosing to return to Rhinefield for another stay. Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews