We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Abba Night”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rhinefield House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Rhinefield house is a gorgeous venue set in the new forest. Whilst the new section doesn't have a lot of character, it's well worth asking for a room in the old part which is a lot more traditional.

I was there for a Christmas Abba themed night with some customers and must say they put on an outstanding event - the atmosphere and music was great. The food was also extremely good, the only downside was that the portion sizes were tiny so we had to order some extras!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank lillyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Lilly
Thank you for your recent posting to Trip Advisor and i was really pleased to read you had enjoyed your Christmas party with us here at Rhinefield. The ABBA night was such a huge success that we are running another one this year and have even added a Beatles tribute night as well. Hopefully we might see you at that one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,760)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

840 - 846 of 1,762 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2014

We booked into the Rhinefield for a late romantic getaway. We were both struck by the sight of the magnificent building as we came up the drive, and the surrounding grounds. The main bulding is very impressive, with the ornate wooden panels, and iron and stonework. We were greeted in reception by very polite and welcoming staff, and the service continued in this vein throughout our stay. Our room was in a newer part of the building, but still very comfortable. The only slightly negative thing I noticed was some black mould on the leaded windows, which had stained the net curtains. But the room itself, the bathroom and the view were all very good. The bed was very comfortable, and we both had a great night's sleep. Breakfast was in a grand room with beautiful panelling and lovely view onto the grounds, which we enjoyed exploring around the house. Our waitress, Lynne, was very warm, attentive and friendly without being overly so. All of the staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delicious, with a hot plate and quality ingredients. I needed help to finish! Wish we'd booked for longer. We will definitely return, and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LondonGoneroamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for your recent posting to Trip Advisor and i was really pleased to read you had enjoyed your stay with us here at Rhinefield. I was especially pleased to read your comments about Lynne and have passed them on to her personally. She is a real asset to us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

The Rhinefield House is a really lovely place to be on a nice sunny day, a very tranquil setting.

However, unfortunately the service is terrible, different staff say different things, some staff really seem like they don't care or want to be there!!!

Such a shame!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Pete R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Pete R
I was hoping that you might contact me directly to expand on your recent posting to Trip Advisor as I would obviously like to hear where we got things wrong on this occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I cannot recommend this hotel enough. We were lucky enough to celebrate our wedding here and it was perfect. The wedding team made everything run seamlessly and if there was any stress we didn't hear of it! The food was simply brilliant very well flavoured and presented. The rooms were all clean and well serviced (with very comfy beds) and the bridal suite was simply stunning with views over the amazing grounds. Some of our guests have already said they are booking another trip and some even tried to stay an extra night after the wedding which I think says it all. Absolutely 5 stars from us.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goodmk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear goodmk1
Firstly thank you very much for choosing to spend your special day with us here at Rhinefield and secondly thank you for sharing your experience through Trip advisor. Many congratulations again to your both and we look forward to welcoming you back to Rhinefield in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

A nice old building in super gardens, very pretty albeit a victorian folly. It is in a super position for the forest. The staff all very nice and some most helpful.
I could tolerate the fist sized hole in the quilt cover and the black mould round the bathroom fittings. (just as well because no action was taken when I mentioned it ro reception, forgotten I think not ignored).
It just was not my kind of place. It is neither restaurant with rooms, a true spa nor a traditional country hotel. It tries to be all and little cracks show. They were exceptionally rude to a young man with a tiny dog who wanted a drink saying the dog could not even be in the grounds. I am biased as I love my dogs and horses and frankly the dog had better manners than some of the guests, one of whom stole the furry toy which you hang on the door if you dont want room service.
Yet, I still liked this place because of the staff and because bits of the building are truly lovely - oriel windows and Versailles type ponds and fountains.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank Alison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Alison
Thank you for taking the time to write your review of Rhinefield and post it to Trip Advisor. I was sad to read that we hadn’t delivered on many fronts and that you found us to be a confused hotel. I will certainly take you points on board and discuss them with the team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This was a lovely romantic setting for our friends wedding. Everything was organized very well and the food was excellent, really very good indeed and a big improvement on a previous visit to Rhinefield. There are three reasons why I haven't given an excellent. The first one is the walkway between the old building and the newer wing has a institutional corridor feel, it really is quite uninspiring and horrible and more effort could be made. Our room was comfortable but the carpet had a nasty stain and the mattresses were not up to standard, they were not the lovely pocket spring type that I would expect, when paying this much money for a room. The other big issue that everyone was complaining about were the extortionate bar prices - £17.00 for a double gin and tonic! Made everyone feel ripped off and not that expensive in the Chewton Glen!!! If these issues were addressed it would be fabulous.

Room Tip: Stay in the old house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Coolkoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Coolkoala
Thank you for your honest review having attended a recent Wedding with us here at Rhinefield. I was glad to read that we had improved on many things since your last visit to us but take on board your other comments and will look into these. I was pleased you had enjoyed the Wedding and your stay overall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
An EasyToBook.com traveler
13
Reviewed 26 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
3  Thank An EasyToBook.com traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
6.4 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,903 reviews
2.5 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#4 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,650 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
751 reviews
6.7 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
3.3 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhinefield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhinefield House Hotel

Address: Rhinefield Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7QB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
#3 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
#4 Spa Hotel in Brockenhurst
#4 Luxury Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range: £149 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rhinefield House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like a magical secret, Rhinefield House is located deep within the New Forest National Park. Step inside and the aura of magic simply deepens - and nowhere more spectacularly than in the Alhambra Room, bedecked in glittering jewels. With beautiful surroundings and a blend of Tudor and Gothic architecture, Rhinefield is the most perfect fairytale wedding venue. It is also the ideal setting for an indulgent break and an inspiring conference venue for meetings, team building or product launches. Downtime means the chance to take in the great outdoors we have on our doorstep, whether its pony trekking, long walks in the forest or a day trip to the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Rhinefield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rhinefield House Hotel Brockenhurst, New Forest
Rhinefield Hotel Brockenhurst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing