We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rhinefield House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Almost great”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

This was booked to celebrate my birthday (no biggie, I've already had plenty of those!)
Beautiful setting, great to look at, right away from "it all".
Unfortunately there had been 3 weddings the previous 3 nights (this was a Monday) and you could tell that the staff were trying to catchup, the pool (one of the main reasons for booking) was full of dirt / grit / sand and the not shallow end floor could not be seen, dirty towels littered the area, what a shame.

When shown to our room (they do that here) we were amazed - the whole wall window look directly into the forest no more then 20 feet away.
The breakfast was excellent (we went for fish and chips on the harbour in Lymington), made to order just the way it should be with a huge pot of leaf tea and extra water all without asking.

Would we go again - yes, but only when we're sure nothing major was happening the preceding day(s)

Room Tip: We had an executive room in the new part looking directly into the forest - stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidP6207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear David
Thank you for your recent posting to Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us here at Rhinefield. I was really pleased that overall you had enjoyed your stay with us and please be reassured that the problem we had with the circulation pumps on the outdoor pool have now been rectified.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,670 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    777
    456
    248
    108
    81
See reviews for
327
972
10
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We've just spent a weekend in this lovely hotel. It is in beautiful grounds and the gardens are well maintained - we even saw them hoovering the lawn to clear up confetti after a wedding!
We had an executive room so we had air conditioning - and we're glad we did, as it was a very hot weekend so this was very welcome.
They do a turndown service and this meant that not only did they turn the bed down, they also replenished the tea and coffee too, a nice touch.
We ate in both restaurants and both delivered good food and excellent service.
In fact, the service from everyone was excellent. Well trained staff who ensured you had everything you wanted with minimum fuss.
In room safe at no extra charge, a mini fridge with fresh milk (what a nice change from the processed cartons!) and a trouser press with an iron and ironing board....brill.
Although there were weddings on both days, we were not disturbed by noise from any of the guests or from the celebrations held in the building, they were very well contained.
A couple negatives, but nothing that spoilt our stay. Although they say everywhere is 'accessible' there are a few area's where it's a bit tricky for anyone that is not able bodied or if you are rather frail.
A good selection at breakfast and it's cooked fresh, no buffet. But on both days there was only Bramble & Apple yogurt, no other choice. If there had been, then they'd all gone before we got there at 9.30am both days.
Never the less a really lovely hotel, with excellent staff.

Room Tip: Do not know about the other rooms so couldn't comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hollydaze57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Hollydaze57
Thank you for your recent review of Rhinefield House posted to Trip Advisor. I was thrilled to read that you had enjoyed your stay so much and that the team had exceeded your expectations. I have passed on your comments about the flavoured yogurts and I know James our Chef is having a look at this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We came her for 1 night to celebrate our anniversary. The grounds are beautiful although the pool was a little too murky for my liking. Other people swam in it but I refrained due to the brownie colour. The staff are extremely helpful and accommodating. We had a suite which was massive and very comfortable and had all the mad cons you needed including the TV in the wall at the end of the bath. If you are dependant on WiFi then be warned that it is intermittent,
The food was great and Caesar who works in the Grill restaurant was brilliant.
I had an Elemis facial with Jess who was also very professional and gave me an excellent treatment. The Spa is very small, so if you looking for a Spa Day, it wont have enough for you to do.
All in all a lovely old building in a stunning setting with great food and drink. The Eggs Benedict at breakfast were possibly the best I have ever had and the Espresso Martini before dinner was also well worth a try.

Room Tip: Heron Suite is fab
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Honest_Mrs_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Mrs R
Thank you for your very positive recent posting to Trip Advisor and many congratulations on your Anniversary. It is always great when our team members are single out as well. I will be sure to pass on your comments to both Caesar and Jess.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Just stayed here over the weekend and I have to agree with the last review, almost left on the first night but then changed from classic room to executive room which was much more spacious and modern and for only £60 more it was well worth it.

The house and grounds are beautiful it would have been nice to stay in the main building as the part that we stayed in was an add-on, basically a new block which could have been any 'travel lodge' type hotel. I find this happening more and more on these types of stately properties and I feel the guests are cheated, unless they are prepared to build an add-on in the same feel both architecturally and with the same aesthetics internally as the period building that it sells itself on then they shouldn't charge the same rate for the rooms as the other rooms in the main building.

The connection between the additional new wing and the old house architecturally was very awkward with lots of different levels. Short corridors with twists and turns, who ever designed it should have been challenged! It could have been so much more elegant and in keeping with the rest of the house but it was just confusing. Another thing that we noticed was the total lack of ambiance in the evening, this house could been so magnificent and full of ambiance if given more attention to lighting design, flowers and music but as it was it was just dark outside, no lighting no music no nothing people just sat in the dark?! The bar was like a sad airport waiting lounge and everyone sat around in dullness simply because they had nowhere else to go or do and it just didn't inspire us to stay for drinks.

The plus side was the staff were great and so was the breakfast and the location is also very good, the fine dining room was very elegant but we didn't eat there as we we're put off by eating in the Grill which was the casual dining which cost over £100 for two for average food and wine plus the grill once again lacked any kind of ambiance the lamps where turned off as if they are trying to save money on electricity. Shame because it's a waste of a beautiful property that could be so much more if they are prepared to invest more in to it.

Room Tip: Make sure the room is in the main house or get an executive room if you don't mind a modern bloc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jsmatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Jsmatt
Thank you for taking the time to write your detailed critique of your recent stay with us here at Rhinefield House. It is always good to get the thoughts and experiences of our guests and please be reassured that I will look into all your comments with the senior team here. Please do let me know if you are returning as I would be more than happy to assist with your booking personally and help to get you a room in the main house.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Our stay at Rhinefield House was "nice", but the hotel could be "fabulous". The location is stunning and the hotel itself is beautiful from the outside. Inside there are some really nice communal rooms and some very tired and dated areas that reminded me of an old people's home. Service is mixed, some good, some rather poor and the service at the bar was positively slow. Drinks were expensive, but the white wine warm. WiFi is free, but super slow. The hotel gives the impression that it thinks that it is grander than it actually is. Overall, a little disappointing.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bettina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Bettina
Thank you for taking the time to post your recent review to Trip Advisor and I was very sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations on this visit. I have taken on board your comments and will work with the team to try and rectify your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We left this hotel after 5 nights with a strange fondness for it, which was a surprise seeing as we nearly left on the first night.

I could have rated this at certain points at anywhere between the lowest and highest. I'm settling for a "Very Good" as there isn't a "Good" and Rhinefield House isn't Average. It's just confused and a little tired in places.

I'll be as fair as I can and won't say anything I didn't share with the staff. I have to give a big shout out here to the Assistant Manger Elizabeth for the professional way she handled all problems and completely turned the situation around from us wanting to check out to actually eventually adding another night on.

I'll explain what we felt about the building. On arrival you can't fail to be impressed with Rhinefield. The long sweeping driveway with the impressive Redwoods leads up to the amazing front view of the hotel. The character and grandeur of the building take your breath away. You then however walk into a tired and shabby reception which (look at the ceiling) is in desperate need of a paintbrush.Our room wasn't ready so we went for an explore and found the layout a little odd. Lots of winding corridors and small rooms. Outside the masonry looked a bit tired especially around the Koi pond where frankly some of it was crumbling and needs some tlc. We went to look at the outside pool and were struck by how intense the smell of chlorine was and the fact that it also looked grubby. Decided there and then that we wouldn't be using that. We also looked at the spa and felt we wouldn't be using that either. It's down below ground and felt a little dungeon like. The pool there is small and it all looked like it had seen better days. Refit or relocate to justify the prices.

We went back to reception and were shown to our room. We were taken to a "Classic" room that we had been booked into. Initial thoughts were it was quite small and sparsely and fairly cheaply furnished. There was the requisite bed, cabinets both sides a small coffee table and two armchairs and a dressing table at the foot of the bed. What immediately struck us though was that the television was above the dressing table so my wife asked the lady who had shown us in "is there no mirror? How do I dry my hair?" to which the lady said "here 's the mirror" and picked up a shaving mirror. Odd start.

When we were left on our own it became apparent how tired the room was. These ones really need some work Rhinefield. I won't go into huge detail as, as I say, the hotel went out of their way to sort things out for us. Suffice to say that at this point the review would have had an awful rating and the photos would have been of the room problems. I think it was compounded by the fact it hadn't been dusted too but for us, it wasn't what we were expecting.

Elizabeth listened to our comments and looked at the photos and agreed it wasn't their usual standard and promised to have us moved next morning so we decided we would stay the night and see the next room before deciding whether to stay on further. We were shown another room in the morning and it was bigger, cleaner and modern feeling. It had a very nice bathroom with separate shower and a TV set into the tile above the bath. Professionally resolved.

I said earlier the hotel was confused. It's the rooms and their furnishings I mean. We have a stunning old building here and then the accommodation is in modern blocks to the side with modern furnishing and fittings all approached by a quite odd corridor which almost feels like a hall of mirrors. To us it felt out of sync and just a chance missed to do something sympathetic.

Anyway I've ended up giving the review a "Very Good" (Good) How? Well, the staff made a lot of it. I've mentioned Elizabeth and I wish we knew the name of one of the waitresses who went out of her way to look after us. She'll know and so will Elizabeth so "thank you - you made a great impression". Pretty much everyone else we dealt with was friendly and good.

Secondly, and important....every single thing we ate whilst we were at the hotel was amazing. Breakfasts were well cooked, plentiful and used lovely fresh ingredients. We had amazing fish in both the main restaurant and the Grill Room. We also had the most amazing mussels outside by the pond one lunchtime. Superb F&B although missing a trick by not having any of the beautiful ales from the surrounding area on tap.

The grounds are beautiful, we enjoyed watching all the rabbits.

Finally the setting of the hotel is just idyllic and so easy to be straight out into the forest and the Ornamental Drive and nearby arboretum. We walked across the moors among the ponies to Brockenhurst to browse the shops and try the pubs. We went to the Arboretum and we also had an amazing walk through the forest across from the arboretum. It was meant to be a walk to Lyndhurst but please Rhinefield, get someone to go and re-write those directions because we followed them and got hopelessly lost and Lyndhurst didn't appear :)

We left feeling relaxed and ever so slightly smitten with the place. If they can sort the niggles and get it all as good as the food, the location and the initial impression then this will be a tremendous hotel. As it is, given our room knowledge etc. yes, we would go again. Rhinefield totally won us over in the end.

Room Tip: The Classic rooms overlooking the pool are the smallest. Other side of the corridor looked ok and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maw0504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear maw0504, thank you very much for visiting Rhinefield and for taking your time to write such a helpful, detailed and fair review. The issues that you have kindly raised are being addressed which will help to ensure that all of our guests are, from the outset, smitten by Rhinefield. I am delighted to hear the positive aspects of your stay and that the "niggles" were resolved professionally. We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future to enjoy another break with us. With very best regards, Mark Dicks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

I went to the Rhinefield to propose to my girlfriend, and I wanted it to be a lovely surprise. We both found it stunning and we both felt that the service was second to none. The atmosphere, surroundings and staff were all superb. From being welcomed by the manager to the attentive Ewa in the bar area, all made it the most special of days. Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark D, General Manager at Rhinefield House Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear Lee W, congratulations on your engagement! Thank you for choosing Rhinefield as the venue for such a special occasion in both of your lives. Myself and the team here are thrilled that your experience was excellent and beautiful, and we hope to be able to welcome you back to Rhinefield soon......have you short listed any wedding venues yet!? With very best regards, Mark Dicks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
6.4 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,744 reviews
2.5 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
3.8 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
6.7 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
5.6 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhinefield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhinefield House Hotel

Property: Rhinefield House Hotel
Address: Rhinefield Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7QB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
#3 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
#4 Spa Hotel in Brockenhurst
#4 Luxury Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rhinefield House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like a magical secret, Rhinefield House is located deep within the New Forest National Park. Step inside and the aura of magic simply deepens - and nowhere more spectacularly than in the Alhambra Room, bedecked in glittering jewels. With beautiful surroundings and a blend of Tudor and Gothic architecture, Rhinefield is the most perfect fairytale wedding venue. It is also the ideal setting for an indulgent break and an inspiring conference venue for meetings, team building or product launches. Downtime means the chance to take in the great outdoors we have on our doorstep, whether its pony trekking, long walks in the forest or a day trip to the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Rhinefield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rhinefield House Hotel Brockenhurst, New Forest
Rhinefield Hotel Brockenhurst

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing