We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Cloud Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$307
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beaulieu Hotel(Beaulieu)
US$229
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balmer Lawn(Brockenhurst)
US$365
US$293
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$349
US$339
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cottage Lodge Hotel(Brockenhurst)(Great Value!)
US$182
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Passford House(Lymington)
US$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Forest Park Hotel(Brockenhurst)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Pig(Brockenhurst)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
New Park Manor(Brockenhurst)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rhinefield House Hotel(Brockenhurst)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (280)
Filter reviews
280 results
Traveller rating
195
45
23
8
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
195
45
23
8
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew forestgrab railsjourney homequiet surroundingsbiscuitssunday lunchspecial occasionson arrivaltraditional hotelroast potatoescomfortable hotellocation was perfectexcellent hotelfunction roomvery attentive staffforest viewreception area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
251 - 256 of 280 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2011

3 of us have just spent a most enjoyable stay (as always) in this lovely hotel with the friendliest of staff, all home comforts and the tastiest of food beautifully cooked. We make a habit of going to stay at least twice a year for a few days at a time and find the locality is just perfect for our needs as it is very central for visiting relatives and going "out and about". Everyone makes you feel at home and the amenities in all bedrooms are very much to our liking.

Room Tip: Its a very quiet hotel
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patricia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tillergirl, Owner at The Cloud Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2011

Many thanks for your review of the Cloud Hotel which is very much appreciated by myself and my staff. It gives us great pleasure to welcome our regular customers back every year and to know we make them feel at home. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We have just returned from a very enjoyable six night family get-together at the Cloud. This peaceful hotel is nestled in a pretty location at the heart of the New Forest, approximately 10 minutes walk from Brockenhurst village centre.

On arrival we were shown around the hotel and to our rooms by a very friendly member of the reception staff. Our large, extremely comfortable, well appointed room had ample daylight and looked out from the front of the building where we would frequently see New Forest ponies grazing up to the hotel’s front door, with the picturesque natural heath extending beyond this. Our daughter had a smaller double room overlooking the pretty hotel gardens to the rear and my parents (who require easy room access) had a spacious twin bedroom on the ground floor with a walk in shower. All of our en-suite rooms were spotlessly clean and it is clear that the hotel places great emphasis on maintaining a high standard of appearance.

The Cloud offers its guests friendly, attentive, personal service by extremely helpful staff. There are 3 lounge/sitting areas and a first class restaurant. Breakfast comprised of a good choice of fruit etc and a traditional hot selection, all cooked to order. The extensive Dinner menu changed on a daily basis with an excellent choice of beautifully prepared, perfectly cooked and presented cuisine.

The AA’s 2 star rating in no way does this wonderful hotel justice. British hotels frequently never fail to underwhelm, however this is certainly not the case with the Cloud Hotel which I can highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paulo070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tillergirl, Owner at The Cloud Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2011

Thank you for your excellent review and I'm delighted to know how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We always welcome feedback and appreciate you taking the time to give us yours. I hope I shall have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back to the Cloud Hotel sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Having visited the New Forest every year for 14 years this was the first time we stayed at the Cloud Hotel, not knowing it existed before, had we have known, we would have stayed everytime. The hotel was excellent in every way, location, cleanliness, friendliness, breakfast was superb (great choice). We recently read how Avril Owton battled to turn it into the place it is today and all we can say is "hats off to you Mrs Owton" you have a lovely hotel - faultless!! We plan to return in October and we have already recommended your hotel to friends.

Room Tip: our room overlooked the garden at the back of the hotel, very clean, had everything we needed
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank douglas d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tillergirl, Owner at The Cloud Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2011

Thank you for your feed back and I'm delighted to know how much you enjoyed your stay at the Cloud Hotel and thank you for recommending it to your friends. I look forward to welcoming you back in October.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We stayed for 1 night only and would never go back. Ridiculously overpriced, the room was very small and cramped with furniture. The bath was for someone less than 4ft tall. The so-called lounges were tiny areas with bay windows. We were told the room overlooked the gardens; in fact the room overlooked glass roofs and part of the next door garden. We were hoping the breakfast would be good - but no, instead the scrambled egg we were served was rubbery and flavourless. The woman who booked us in was very pleasant, but we cannot say the same for the other two staff. They were downright unkind and unfriendly. Make no doubt about it, we feel that this is a very poor hotel. We are amazed at the positive reviews this hotel has been given by others.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank canford5053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tillergirl, Owner at The Cloud Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2011

Thank you for your feedback and I'm very disappointed to know that you were not happy with your stay at the Cloud Hotel. I can only apologise for the unfriendly staff that you encountered and can assure you this is totally out of character as the Cloud is renowned for its friendliness. However there is no excuse for this and the staff have been made aware of your comments. Some of our rooms are on the small side as the hotel is not purpose built and that is what most people think gives it its unique character. Obviously the hotel did not suit your requirements but I appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We took advantage of the hotel's Summer Break offering 4 nights for 3 with breakfast and dinner included. Everything was once more exceptionally clean and comfortable. The breakfasts are outstanding and dinners tastey with a good if mildly conservative choice. This, as noted above, was our second visit to the hotel. The first being in early April to celebrate my son's birthday. We were immediately recognised and remembered by several of the staff and owner who were all very welcoming without being over effusive and the room we were given this time (No.2) was, if anything, better than the one we stayed in first time around (No.9) although there was certainly nothing wrong with that.
We much appreciated the invitation to pre dinner drinks in the bar on one evening of our stay and once again the departure gift of bottled water and home made biscuits were much appreciated as a thoughtful extra.
It has been mentioned in previous reviews that the hotel attracts the older guest and this does appear to be true however, whilst not yet falling into this catagory this in no way detracted from my enjoyment, nor that of my son. Of course if you are looking for a hotel with lively nightlife and clubs etc, this is not the one for you. It is however beautifully and conveniently situated and I would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone wishing to find an independently owned traditional style hotel offering exceptional comfort and service in stunning surroundings

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zonez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews