We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel and staff”
Review of The Cloud Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Cloud Hotel
Ranked #10 of 11 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Dorking
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel and staff”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We have stayed at The Cloud for the last 10 years ever since my sister- in- law and brother-in-law got married there. We all love it, the hospitatlity, food, staff and cleanliness. Avril, Bridgit, Mandy and all the other staff are so friendly and welcoming.

Room Tip: We stay in room 11 which a particularly nice room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rosemary c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tillergirl, Owner at The Cloud Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2011
Thank you for taking the time to give us your very kind comments. We are delighted that you return to the Cloud Hotel every year. We are continually striving for perfection especially as the Cloud Hotel is now an AA 2 Red Star hotel. We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    41
    22
    8
    8
See reviews for
50
121
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Owned and run by a most exquisitely elegant and charming former Tiller Girl , the presentation and atmosphere is optimised at every level within the constraints of a relatively compact house on the very edge of a classic New Forest vista. The menu is classic England , splendidly prepared and presented with Sunday lunch ( booking essential) a particular joy. Not one for the chrome and glass nouvelle Euro AA Gill brigade ( thank God ) , more a refuge for admirers of courtesy gentility, relaxation , a full tum and , who knows , an after lunch stroll. An absolute delight for anyone who remembers standards (and can keep a secret !).

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank websiteless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tillergirl, Owner at The Cloud Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2011
Thank you for taking the time to give us your genuine feedback and I'm delighted to know how much you enjoyed your experience at the Cloud Hotel. Our aim at the Cloud Hotel is to create an atmosphere where our customers can unwind and relax and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesex
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

We stayed at The Cloud Hotel for one night for our 21st Wedding Anniversary. All the staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was lovely and the bed comfortable. We had an excellent breakfast in the morning. We really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: We had a room which overlooked the forest
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryMiddlesex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tillergirl, Owner at The Cloud Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2011
I'm delighted to know how much you enjoyed your stay at the Cloud Hotel and thank you for your comments. Your feedback is really appreciated by myself and all the staff. I hope we will have the pleasure of your company sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnet, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2011

3 of us have just spent a most enjoyable stay (as always) in this lovely hotel with the friendliest of staff, all home comforts and the tastiest of food beautifully cooked. We make a habit of going to stay at least twice a year for a few days at a time and find the locality is just perfect for our needs as it is very central for visiting relatives and going "out and about". Everyone makes you feel at home and the amenities in all bedrooms are very much to our liking.

Room Tip: Its a very quiet hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patricia m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tillergirl, Owner at The Cloud Hotel, responded to this review, 11 October 2011
Many thanks for your review of the Cloud Hotel which is very much appreciated by myself and my staff. It gives us great pleasure to welcome our regular customers back every year and to know we make them feel at home. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We have just returned from a very enjoyable six night family get-together at the Cloud. This peaceful hotel is nestled in a pretty location at the heart of the New Forest, approximately 10 minutes walk from Brockenhurst village centre.

On arrival we were shown around the hotel and to our rooms by a very friendly member of the reception staff. Our large, extremely comfortable, well appointed room had ample daylight and looked out from the front of the building where we would frequently see New Forest ponies grazing up to the hotel’s front door, with the picturesque natural heath extending beyond this. Our daughter had a smaller double room overlooking the pretty hotel gardens to the rear and my parents (who require easy room access) had a spacious twin bedroom on the ground floor with a walk in shower. All of our en-suite rooms were spotlessly clean and it is clear that the hotel places great emphasis on maintaining a high standard of appearance.

The Cloud offers its guests friendly, attentive, personal service by extremely helpful staff. There are 3 lounge/sitting areas and a first class restaurant. Breakfast comprised of a good choice of fruit etc and a traditional hot selection, all cooked to order. The extensive Dinner menu changed on a daily basis with an excellent choice of beautifully prepared, perfectly cooked and presented cuisine.

The AA’s 2 star rating in no way does this wonderful hotel justice. British hotels frequently never fail to underwhelm, however this is certainly not the case with the Cloud Hotel which I can highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paulo070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tillergirl, Owner at The Cloud Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2011
Thank you for your excellent review and I'm delighted to know how much you enjoyed your stay with us. We always welcome feedback and appreciate you taking the time to give us yours. I hope I shall have the pleasure of welcoming you and your family back to the Cloud Hotel sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Having visited the New Forest every year for 14 years this was the first time we stayed at the Cloud Hotel, not knowing it existed before, had we have known, we would have stayed everytime. The hotel was excellent in every way, location, cleanliness, friendliness, breakfast was superb (great choice). We recently read how Avril Owton battled to turn it into the place it is today and all we can say is "hats off to you Mrs Owton" you have a lovely hotel - faultless!! We plan to return in October and we have already recommended your hotel to friends.

Room Tip: our room overlooked the garden at the back of the hotel, very clean, had everything we needed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank douglas d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tillergirl, Owner at The Cloud Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2011
Thank you for your feed back and I'm delighted to know how much you enjoyed your stay at the Cloud Hotel and thank you for recommending it to your friends. I look forward to welcoming you back in October.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We stayed for 1 night only and would never go back. Ridiculously overpriced, the room was very small and cramped with furniture. The bath was for someone less than 4ft tall. The so-called lounges were tiny areas with bay windows. We were told the room overlooked the gardens; in fact the room overlooked glass roofs and part of the next door garden. We were hoping the breakfast would be good - but no, instead the scrambled egg we were served was rubbery and flavourless. The woman who booked us in was very pleasant, but we cannot say the same for the other two staff. They were downright unkind and unfriendly. Make no doubt about it, we feel that this is a very poor hotel. We are amazed at the positive reviews this hotel has been given by others.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank canford5053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tillergirl, Owner at The Cloud Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2011
Thank you for your feedback and I'm very disappointed to know that you were not happy with your stay at the Cloud Hotel. I can only apologise for the unfriendly staff that you encountered and can assure you this is totally out of character as the Cloud is renowned for its friendliness. However there is no excuse for this and the staff have been made aware of your comments. Some of our rooms are on the small side as the hotel is not purpose built and that is what most people think gives it its unique character. Obviously the hotel did not suit your requirements but I appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brockenhurst hotels
0.3 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,605 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,044 reviews
2.3 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
1,155 reviews
0.5 mi away
Forest Park Hotel
Forest Park Hotel
#11 of 11 in Brockenhurst
566 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cloud Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cloud Hotel

Property: The Cloud Hotel
Address: Meerut Road, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7TD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst
#4 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cloud Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cloud Hotel is a 3 star hotel located at Brockenhurst in the heart of the New Forest National Park. The famous New Forest ponies can be seen outside the entrance of the hotel which faces directly onto the open forest. The Cloud Hotel has recently been upgraded from an AA 2 star to an AA 2 red star Inspectors Choice Hotel, and upgraded again to an AA 3 star hotel. We continually strive to offer the best customer service and standards possible for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Cloud Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cloud Hotel Brockenhurst
The Cloud Hotel Brockenhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing