We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Special"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thatched Cottage Hotel
Ranked #3 of 31 Brockenhurst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"Special"”
Reviewed 28 April 2012

Great location to train routes, comfortable with character room, excellent breakfasts and a special romantic atmosphere in the restaurant.
We weren't able to get an expected room, so that's my only reason for not giving an outstanding rating.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LincolnTanyaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    96
    31
    11
    6
See reviews for
26
211
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We stayed here with friends between Christmas and the New Year (I'm catching up on all sorts of on-line stuff on a chilly Good Friday!). It's quirky, really a restaurant with rooms. It was lovely and warm. Our friends brought their dog who was made very welcome. Our room was small and our bed very springy - quite an old-fashioned feel to it. Reminded me of my childhood sleeping at my grandmother's in a feather bed. This isn't international hotel standard but for a few nights it was fine.

Food was OK - before we booked I thought the menus sounded interesting, but in fact I thought they were a bit OTT and I've never seen so much watercress. Every dish, right down to the breakfast was covered with it. Also the chef just couldn't understand a fried egg "over easy" - nearly got up and did my own.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DangerousLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012 via mobile

Lovely stay, exactly what we needed for our engagement night!

Stayed May 2011
Helpful?
Thank Dustin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2012

The thatch looked very cute and just a little bit different which is what made us book. We stayed in room - Assam bop which on the surface looked very pretty but it was actually very worn, cramped and not very clean. The carpet was stained, the bed was very uncomfortable and dipped on one side so my partner woke up with a stiff neck. Whilst having a shower the head fell off and water gushed out of a pipe everywhere and to top it off there was a power cut so we couldn't have breakfast. It had a strange atmosphere, it felt like I was literally staying in someone's home. I wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 0193678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2012

What a truly romantic place to spend Valentines night!! The cottage is very very beautiful, and our room was delightful (Assam B.O.P). I had originally booked the Jasmine Flower room (cheapest!!) but was upgraded at no extra cost. I'd booked us in for afternoon tea too, which at £12.50 each was a little pricey, but so so special, and totally delish! The Carrot Cake has to be tasted to be believed! I'd also booked for us to have breakfast in bed and bang on time breakfast arrived and was placed on our laps on lovely antique style trays with legs actually in bed... such a treat! Breakfast was wonderful, with locally sourced sausages and free range eggs. The staff were great, really attentive, but totally discreet, and very friendly and helpful.... will we return...... you betcha we will!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anjihinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester
Level Contributor
108 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

A large group of us visited for a birthday party recently. The food was ordered in advance and they were very well organised. Good service, lovely and eccentric venue and the food was very good indeed.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HoobyWinchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2011

One of the best breakfast's ever- real attention to detail as far as quality and enormous range. Brockenhurst is a lovely place and we stayed here on an impulse having failed to get into a b&b we had stayed before.
Bed not great, furnishings tired -too much clutter for dust etc. Would have breakfast there any day of the week but would not stay again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewP123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
0.2 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
0.7 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,567 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,669 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
5.3 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thatched Cottage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thatched Cottage Hotel

Property: Thatched Cottage Hotel
Address: 16 Brookley Road | New Forest National Park, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7RR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Thatched Cottage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 400 year old thatched cottage and garden rooms situated in the village of Brockenhurst located in the heart of the New Forest National Park. Something really special, a cosy boutique hotel, a touch of romantic luxury combined with a homely charm. Well equipped historic and garden rooms with all modern essentials, supported with friendly professional service. We offer breakfast, afternoon tea and a gin bar! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Thatched Cottage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thatched Cottage Hotel Brockenhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing