We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A welcome rest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Thatched Cottage Hotel
Ranked #3 of 31 Brockenhurst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A welcome rest”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We visited this delightful place for a lunchtime sandwich and drink during Easter 2014.
We were made very welcome by the staff including lots of water refills for a very thirsty dog.
We ordered our food and when it arrived it was really good food- lots of different filled sarnies, lots of salad and crisps- very filling.
Unfortunately we didn't stay at the property as we were staying in our van in Sway but have promised ourselves a short break here in the future

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janethopkins1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    96
    31
    11
    6
See reviews for
26
211
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We had a wonderful stay here for our 25th wedding anniversary. Anya made us feel like it was home. We ordered tea and scones and as a wonderful gesture she said it was on them.
The room we were given was upstairs in the old part of the cottage, it was a beautiful room. Breakfast was beautifully presented and cooked.
Anya runs this hotel with true passion, friendly, homely etc
I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tazzy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Lovely old thatched cottage with tiny windows and low doorways. A lovely welcome from Anja who offered us tea and scones on arrival , breakfast was wonderful well cooked and with plenty of choice. Our room was upstairs in the old part of the cottage up a very steep stair case, which was fine for my husband and myself but wouldn't be suitable for everyone. An enjoyable visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Mr B - Bedfordshire

We stayed here in one of the Garden Rooms (Camomile) for 3 nights starting on friday 14th March. Having left our booking fairly late, Anja was so helpful and with a little reorganisation was able to offer this dog friendly ground floor room that also had a small but very useful patio.
The food is fantastic, Mannfred did a great job on the breakfasts of which there was plenty.....plenty of choice and plenty of food!
My parents stayed here for a week around two years ago and still rave about the food and oh so friendly owners for whom nothing is too much trouble.
We can thoroughly recommend this hotel to others who may be looking for a small hotel bursting with character, run by passionate owners who serve great food with great service.
Even if you cannot stay, if you're in the area, give yourself a treat and experience the wonderful afternoon teas, sandwiches and cakes.
We hope to return in the near future.
Many thanks Anja and Mannfred

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hindhead
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Wow!
What a gem of an Hotel, run with passion and true expertise
We booked in for Sunday 16th and arrived a little before 2pm
Warmly greeted and advised that the Garden room, Hibiscus had not yet been finalised and would we like to have a drink in the garden until it was ready
The accommodations are top quality, all claims on their website are true!
You have to try the basil infused Gin and Tonic, it is different and refreshing
Engaging conversation with our hosts who really are hospitable
A comfortable night followed by an epic breakfast, served in the charming a quirky Salon
If you plan to visit Brockenhurst, this is a must, just pop in for a light lunch or the superb fondue!

Room Tip: They are all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
basingstoke
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Didn't stay here, but on a beautiful spring day, spotted it when collecting my daughter from the train station. It looked like the most idyllic spot for morning coffee. And it was. We liked it so much we stayed for a light lunch too. Only serves snacks really, cakes, soup and sandwiches, but that was perfect. Service was very friendly. We popped in to use the loo and got lost in the charming quaintness inside. Just lovely.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank pebblecox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Had an ansolutley fantastic last minutes stay for one night through Hotels.com. I was looking for something special as it was for a special occasion and previous reservations elsewhere fell through. I'm so glad they did! When we arrived we were blown away. The cottege is querky with lots of history, the service was phenominal and the room was absolutley beautiful. The location was also great as there were plenty of places to eat - I'd recommend the italian.

We'll most certainly be back as soon as we have an excuse!! Thank you so much for a magical night and for fitting us in at the very last minute!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HungryHamster14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
0.2 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
0.7 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Beaulieu Hotel
The Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,670 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
5.3 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thatched Cottage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thatched Cottage Hotel

Property: Thatched Cottage Hotel
Address: 16 Brookley Road | New Forest National Park, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7RR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Thatched Cottage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 400 year old thatched cottage and garden rooms situated in the village of Brockenhurst located in the heart of the New Forest National Park. Something really special, a cosy boutique hotel, a touch of romantic luxury combined with a homely charm. Well equipped historic and garden rooms with all modern essentials, supported with friendly professional service. We offer breakfast, afternoon tea and a gin bar! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Thatched Cottage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thatched Cottage Hotel Brockenhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing