We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thatched Cottage Hotel
Ranked #3 of 31 Brockenhurst B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Wonderful place to stay, couldn't recommend it enough. Very quaint, cosy, cute and rustic cottage - everywhere you look there is something kitsch to look at.

Food: Breakfast was absolutely fantastic. Fresh fruit on offer with delicious yoghurt, cooked breakfast is one of the best I've had at a hotel, especially the eggs Benedict (unbelievably tasty hollandaise sauce). And don't leave without trying the Complete Afternoon tea - absolutely divine, especially the cinnabons and the venison sausage rolls).

Rooms: Exactly what you need - again very quaint and rustic, warm and cosy. A little rough round the edges but this is to be expected from a 400 year old cottage that has kept it's character.

Staff: So so friendly and welcoming. Lovely waitresses and the owner is very friendly. Brilliant service all round.

As for the negative reviews, I think they're harsh and petty and very pleased to see that the owners have responded.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank MarMar88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 338 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

Just returned home from wonderful stay at the Thatched Cottage. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and had great knowledge of the local area. Breakfast was great and lovely to see the smiling faces of the lovely waitresses in the morning. Also a plus that breakfast wasn't served at the crack of dawn so no pressure to get up early. Rustic is the best way to describe the accommodation, could do with some TLC but very comfortable. Would love to visit again.

Lots of things to do nearby, places to eat etc. Weymouth amazing for families. We went on the train (the station is 2 minutes walk from the Thatched Cottage) which cost £15 each return (summer holiday offer), lovely trip out for the day.

Highlight of Brockenhurst is the horses an donkeys roaming the streets.

Thank you to everyone for a great break.

Ritch and Angie

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank amj6071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We've had a great stay at the Thatched Cottage. The hosts are very friendly, helpful and welcoming. The breakfast each morning was delicious and the coffee was very good. No need to rush to get up in the morning to make breakfast. Very peaceful and quiet.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank DCLondonLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This was a last minute booking, we needed somewhere to stay overnight,
I would describe the accommodation as “rustic “and a little cluttered, in need of redecorating, it could be so much more, the potential is there, I laid in bed thinking I’d do this and that, but alas it’s not mine…. the staff were warm, welcoming and polite, breakfast was fine, cereal and pancakes for me, full English for the other half, overall no complaints.

Room Tip: Not everynight you get to sleep in a 400+ year old building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank weezergeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The most picturesque cottage restaurant in the New Forest. Lovely garden room with good touches. Breakfast was to die for!! Fabulous quality with everything freshly cooked to order. Some good pubs and restaurants in the area. Great stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Very unusual quaint hotel, but do not stay in the Jasmine Room.

The staff, the dinning room and the breakfast was excellent, you really could not ask for better.

BUT we booked the Jasmine room and we were not happy with that, it was in the main cottage, and the toilet and shower room (which was very small) was outside the bedroom. When we went to the toilet in the night we were aware of the possibility of disturbing other visitors, as there are 2 other rooms in close proximity. We were also aware of the traffic noise as the weather was hot and we needed the windows open.
The stairs to the bedrooms were extremely steep.

Very good location for exploring the New Forest.

Room Tip: Everything was good but do not book the Jasmine Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jena t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Stayed here whilst visiting relatives in the area. We had one of the garden rooms which was clean and comfortable. Anja the owner is the perfect hostess and made sure that we had a very pleasant and memorable stay. Excellent breakfast.
We would certainly return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SukySomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
0.2 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,105 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
5.8 mi away
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
Woodlands Lodge Hotel
#2 of 2 in Woodlands
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,798 reviews
2.8 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
759 reviews
3.9 mi away
Beaulieu Hotel
Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thatched Cottage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thatched Cottage Hotel

Address: 16 Brookley Road | New Forest National Park, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7RR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Brockenhurst
Price Range: £91 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Thatched Cottage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 400 year old thatched cottage and garden rooms situated in the village of Brockenhurst located in the heart of the New Forest National Park. Something really special, a cosy boutique hotel, a touch of romantic luxury combined with a homely charm. Well equipped historic and garden rooms with all modern essentials, supported with friendly professional service. We offer breakfast, afternoon tea and a gin bar! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Thatched Cottage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thatched Cottage Hotel Brockenhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing