We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely ambience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Lovely ambience”
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed on the first night after getting married to my new wife. Brilliant room, so easy to check in and get sorted, lovely staff, decorated very nicely and breakfast in bed was wonderful as well. Really recommend staying here.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jstred84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    759
    218
    34
    9
    6
See reviews for
94
755
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Definitely an upmarket B&B with everything you need and situated in a beautiful village. Good to be able to buy a bottle of wine or beer in the snug. It was full when we stayed here in March and one couple we met bought fish & chips in the local and a table was laid for them in the restaurant and bread and butter provided. Unfortunately the restaurant was closed the two nights we were there. Would definitely stay here again. The staff couldn't do enough.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeannieivy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We only had one night stay here, wish it could have been longer. It was fantastic. Rooms were clean and well stocked, staff friendly and very helpful. Food was magnificent and all in all we shall be looking to stay for longer next time.

Room Tip: We had one of the rooms which takes a dog and found it roomy and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shirleyww_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2013

I have stayed here 4 times now. Bev, the Cottage Lodge manager is absolutely amazing. The accommodation, food, snug, people, are also amazing. You fall in love with the entire package. NOTHING is to much trouble. You are made to feel special. The are many B&Bs in the surrounding area, but I dare you to book into another. All your needs and more are here at the Cottage Lodge. Will continue to book into the Cottage Lodge.

Room Tip: The newly decorated room, made with all locally, naturally fallen drift wood, is a must. Four Poster...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
87 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Really enjoyed our stay in Brockenhurst. Lovely warm welcome with tea and cake (although perhaps we would have been more comfortable putting our bags in our room first so we could have enjoyed it more). Like the idea of a snug with bits and pieces you could find out about, eat or drink at your leisure.

The room although one of the smallest was fine enough and perfectly clean and I always enjoy a powerful shower. Perhaps some of the deccor is a little dated although this is not really problematic and if you want something grander they have many others to choose from. Also nice to have a DVD player in the room with DVD's available to borrow. Lots of info in the welcome pack as well.

Breakfast in bed was a nice touch and the poached eggs were perfect! It is a bit of shame that some of what we got was a bit cold by the time we recieved it...perhaps having hotter plates to start with would help. Also they could maybe change their system of washing up as there was often what looked like fluff from a tea towel on the crockery and glasses etc.

I agree wth some others that the key system is a bit fiddly but again not overly problematic.

The location of this place is also superb...particularly if you fancy a bike ride into the forest.

I think that a little refinement in a few small areas could really make this a very special place to tay for all. Overall I think the five star rating relates to the huge ammount of services and addtions on offer as opposed to finese (the star rating sysyem is pretty flawed anyway according to many).

I must say as an additional observation, that it is a little daunting placing a review on here as many other people seem to have received an essay in responce from the owner. Whilst there is valuing in defending one's position and marketing your assets, it is also a little off-putting and I imagine some people might not give it a sceond go based on this. No where will be to everyone's tastes but I would certainly consider returning.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uniquefreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whyteleafe, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 March 2013

My girlfriend and & I, have just come back from a weekend away at Cottage Lodge, in Brockenhurst, and I must say the quality of the hotel was way above our expectations.
From the minute we arrived, we were greeted by one of the staff, who made us feel extremely welcome. She explained to us about our room, the restaurant, and a lovely little room called the Snug.
In here you could help yourself to some home made cake (for free), collect fresh milk to take to your room for tea and coffee, as well as purchase a small selection of beers and wine, at a small cost.
It also have a beautiful little burning stove, which came in very handy for warming up as you came in from the cold and wet weekend we had endured.
As far as the room, this was also perfect, we had more than enough room for our clothes and belongings, as well as a fantastic walk in wet room shower.
It also had a very nice little restaurant, which not only served a great breakfast, but also served a very nice evening meal.
We will definitely be going back this year, and look forward to meeting all the wonderful staff again.
Many Thanks....

Room Tip: We stayed in the Burley room, which had a small patio area, as well as a walk in wet room shower roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peterpan68111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We have just spent the most relaxing long weekend at The Cottage Lodge Hotel, Brockenhurst. We cannot rate this hotel highly enough. From the reception on arrival to the goodbye at the end of our stay it was just perfect.
Christina, the owner, was so sweet, very helpful and was serving her clientele. The food was very fresh and very tasty. I am a breakfast person and the breakfast was just amazing, from the delicious sausages to the oh so tasty mushrooms, the preserves are all made especially for Christina, and they too were delicious.
Our room was so quaint, we had a little balcony with table and chairs on, unfortunately the weather didn't permit us sitting out there. The bathroom was very clean and very modern and very warm. The bed was big and very, very comfortable. The room was small but well equipped.
Because the weather was so wet and so cold we longed to get back to the little snug where there was a log burning stove, it was so welcoming.
We will definitely return, hopefully in the summer when we would hope for better weather !!!

Room Tip: I don't think anyone would have a problem with any of the rooms, they were all different but we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeddyWeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
5.5 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
1,145 reviews
5.8 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
417 reviews
0.7 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
706 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
5.5 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Lodge Hotel

Property: Cottage Lodge Hotel
Address: Sway Road | Brockenhurst, New Forest, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7SH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cottage Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cottage Lodge has upgraded from a 5star B&B to a 2 star hotel over the last 12 months. So, if you decide to come to the Cottage Lodge in Brockenhurst you are choosing a clean and comfortable property, located in the heart of the New Forest National Park village of Brockenhurst. All the en-suite rooms are individually designed. They all come with flat screen tv's, new mattresses, recently painted walls, tea and coffee making facilities (with real milk), and an in-room safe. Cake is available free of charge in the Snug Bar. We have: romantic rooms with hand made four poster beds: a room with a wood burning stove; ground floor rooms with showers;dog friendly rooms; family friendly rooms; rooms in the original building(C1650);simple rooms perfect for single occupancy or for a couple looking for somewhere simple to stay. There is one parking space at the front of Cottage Lodge for each room. We have won lots of awards for various things: excellence, environmentally friendly, best use of local produce, outstanding breakfast etc. Cottage Lodge is located in the heart of the New Forest National Park village of Brockenhurst. Our very own Fallen Tree Restaurant is open six days a week (closed on Wednesdays). Book early because the restaurant is very popular. Our breakfast's are locally sourced. We assure you of a warm welcome. There are three lovely pubs, nine charming restaurants and tea shops, cycle hire, horse riding, open forest, mainline railway station, village shops, open forest all within ten minutes walk of Cottage Lodge. Twenty minutes drive to the coast, Beaulieu Motor Museum, Exbury Gardens and the Lymington Ferry to the Isle of Wight. We hope to have the pleasure of meeting you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cottage Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottage Hotel Brockenhurst
Cottage Lodge Hotel Brockenhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing