We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classically English with a modern twist*****”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Some friends gave us a birthday treat of planning a weekend away for us. They couldn't of got it more right.

A classic cottage feel with modern clean and cosy elements.

Large fresh breakfasts, they didn't stop topping you up with toast very friendly and accommodating.

The bed was so comfy we couldn't stop sleeping! A lovely patio with table which was a treat to get a bit of fresh air into the room in the morning. They supply so much guidance for the local area which really helped they have files on local walks, pubs, restaurants. Cake in the snug always and afternoon tea which was ridiculously good. Then to top it off you can hire an electric car which is fun and drive around to see the ponies! a massive fan of the new forest and cottage lodge just added to the experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

683 - 689 of 1,105 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

An old lodge with character and lots of charm. Nice clean room en suite with good bed. We felt very welcome. Parking space was reserved. Breakfast is all you can wish for. We dined twice in the Fallen Tree restaurant. Food is absolutely wonderful. Great place to stay without a doubt.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clementine v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

I stayed here with a group of friends and we were all delighted with the choice of B and B. Friendly welcome and a reserved parking space were much appreciated. It is scrupulously clean and cosy. We liked the snug and the offer of unlimited cake. The cake was shop bought and our little group felt something home made would be more in keeping with the lovely homely feel of the place. Nothing too extravagant: flapjack or a sponge? The rooms were pleasant and had very comfortable mattresses. The bathroom facilities in William room were very good. No view but the back yard is very neat and tidy. The location is very convenient, just a short hop, skip and a jump away from the high street. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SLEWIS1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

A lovely, homely B&B with a warm and friendly welcome and that rare feeling that nothing is too much trouble.

We bought in fish and chips from the local chippy and the staff member who greeted us brought out plates and salt and vinegar and bread and butter!

Rooms are okay - but the wifi doesn't really stretch much further than the central area. Either make it better or don't advertise it as a benefit.

Breakfast was great - fantastic porridge! - but this isn't a place to enjoy dinner. Hideous, syrupy muzak and poor cooking (tasteless cod, microwaved rhubarb crumble).

Friendly and good value as a place to stay, but not a great choice for an evening meal.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewForestFilly, Owner at Cottage Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2013

Thank you for the lovely review of Cottage Lodge B&B. We were delighted you had a good time with us. We remember your stay very well. You stayed at Cottage lodge for the first night and then went to the Cloud Hotel for the second night. On the second night you decided to return to Cottage Lodge to to dine at the Fallen Tree Restaurant. This lovely little restaurant is run by three talented young people as their own business. In less than four months they have taken the top spot on Trip Advisor restaurants for Brockenhurst and risen to number 3 in the New Forest National Park. Look them up on Trip Advisor and you can see all the reviews together

On behalf of Fallen Tree please accept my apologies that your meal was not to your taste. If you contact us we will be delighted to chat to you about your meal and see if there is anything we can do at this late stage to make it better. If you are reading this and thinking of coming to either the Cottage Lodge B&B or the Fallen Tree Restaurant please let me promise you something. We are very friendly. We love feedback. We want to give you the best experience possible. So please tell us if anything is wrong. No one can get everything right all the time. Please give us the chance to put things right. Just let us know, and we will jump into action to put it right.

Thank you for writing this review. Take care and I hope we have the pleasure of your company another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

Just back from two nights at Cottage Lodge & can't say enough about it. In lovely location, very helpful, obliging staff, lovely breakfast, clean bright room.......The only down side was to get to upstairs you have to navigate a very steep staircase with very little headroom, but then it is an old building with history. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Don't choose an upstairs room if you have poor mobility
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kathySussexEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in May for our wedding anniversary. The hotel was easy to find and right in the village close to the few shops and pubs/restaurants. The staff were very friendly and always happy to help out with booking taxis or restaurants. Breakfast (which was lovely!)was either served in your room or in the dining room (which was the Fallen Tree Restaurant at night which is well worth a visit if you have had a long day out and dont want to venture far) The food was very nice and reasonably priced (3 courses 29.95). We stayed in the William 1st room which had some welcoming sky lights, double shower and corner bath. Although the weather wasn't extremely hot but warm enough, it can get very warm in the room which is the only downside but they do provide a fan. The bed was so comfortable, we slept really well! All in a lovely find which was recommended to us. Would return for another stay.

Room Tip: William 1st has nice skylights and a bath as well as a shower. No view though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackl1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Christina and her team were very hospitable, nothing was too much effort. Everything really well thought through, they've really tried to focus on using local resources where possible, so you get a genuine 'taste of the new forest'. Can't recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gillinghambl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
3.7 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Forest Park Hotel
Forest Park Hotel
#10 of 10 in Brockenhurst
621 reviews
5.5 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beaulieu
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
415 reviews
4.1 mi away
Beaulieu Hotel
Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
837 reviews
5.8 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Lodge Hotel

Address: Sway Road | Brockenhurst, New Forest, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7SH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range: £55 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cottage Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the Cottage Lodge, a small and friendly two star hotel offering five star service in the heart of the New Forest National Park village of Brockenhurst. You can pick the exact room you want and we will reserve it just for you. Your room comes with personalised reserved parking space, good wifi, tea , cakes, fresh milk, in room safe, flat screen tv and breakfast. Stay a few days and work your way through our breakfast menu which includes choices for vegetarians, vegans, dairy free and gluten free customers. In the evening why not book into White Tails restaurant, our on-site restaurant run by master chef Martin Packard. Cottage Lodge is known for its individually designed rooms, with a mixture of modern hand-made four-poster beds and other features designed to bring the personality of the New Forest and coastline into the hotel for you to experience. We hope you decide to spend your new forest holiday at Cottage Lodge and look forward to meeting you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Cottage Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottage Hotel Brockenhurst
Cottage Lodge Hotel Brockenhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing