We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb with reservations !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Superb with reservations !”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

My partner and I were looking for a dog friendly, hotel in the New Forest for a romantic week-end and found the Cottage Lodge website. Eco friendly, beautiful looking rooms, lovely breakfasts looked amazing. Booked one of the two dog friendly rooms and arrived as planned Saturday lunch time. We were shown to the room which had a wooden floor, lots of space and a little fenced patio for Jasper my dog to go out into. All good so far. Lovely tea was offered with cake which we duly tried.

Later that afternoon we discovered the 6' bed was two twins zipped together - not in itself a problem - however these mattresses were seriously old and lumpy. The edges of both mattresses were hard and rigid with the centres dipped and soggy........... no way was a good night's sleep going to happen far less a romantic one. We went to reception and I have to say Ursula was wonderful, she offered us the next door room (up some stairs) which was a beautiful, newly decorated room with a new good mattress on the bed. The only trouble was Jasper had to stay down in the dog friendly room (Morant) I understand that new mattresses are being looked into for that room now.

I would certainly stay again but would need to be very clear about the particular room I was staying in.

Room Tip: “Morant is the dog friendly room with the terrible mattresses and Gillies Holt was the beautiful red...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Healthtouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewForestFilly, Manager at Cottage Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you so much for letting us know your problem and giving us a chance to sort it out. As soon as I heard what happened I went to look at the mattresses. The mattresses on the bed are designed for hotels. The edges are designed to be firm. If I am honest with you I wouldn't describe the centre as dipped and soggy. These mattresses are three years old. What I would say is that when I lay on the bed the springs were softer than I would expect in their support. So I have ordered new mattresses. They are being made to order so will be here in three weeks. In the meantime we have bought a lovely topper to put on the bed. You will be pleased to know that the couple who slept in the room last night had a great nights sleep and were very happy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    758
    218
    34
    9
    6
See reviews for
94
755
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Sandefjord, Norway
Level Contributor
144 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We stayed as several times before in our favorite room, The Exbury. We sat at the terrace and saw horses and donkies walking by. The breakfast choices is good and the food excellent. Brockenhurst is a great place to discover New Forest.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vestfolding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We were travelling with our dog and so had one of their two dog friendly rooms - worked perfectly. Staff were very welcoming and helpful; snug with free tea/cake and local guides a nice touch. Central location with good access to rest of the forest.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank howard58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
138 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Stayed at the Cottage Lodge as a birthday treat and what a treat it was! We stayed in the Rhinefield Room which was absolutely gorgeous, the bed and all the furniture was made from fallen trees which was unique and gave a lovely atmosphere. The bathroom was modern and clean and filled with luxurious smellies. The breakfast was amazing. We chose to eat in our room rather than the dining room downstairs to make it more relaxing - we were given a list of food options (loads to choose from) the night before so that we could put through our choices and a choice of time slot for it to be bought up. I had continental style one morning and traditional English breakfast the next morning and would highly recommend both, couldn't fault any of it.

We ate in the adjoining restaurant (the Fallen Tree) one night. Would definitely recommend a meal there, the nicest I've had in a very long time, but bear in mind it is a small restaurant so I would recommend booking in advance to ensure you can get in as it's too good to miss!

There is a snug downstairs where you can buy drinks (with an honesty box for payment), borrow a bottle opener or tuck into some of the lovely free cakes they provide. They also have a selection of DVD's available for borrowing which was a nice touch.

The Cottage Lodge is in a lovely location, perfect for exploring the New Forest and with some lovely walks close by for an evening stroll. The staff couldn't have been more friendly and welcoming.

I had a wonderful stay and couldn't recommend the Cottage Lodge highly enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dilly476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournemouth
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

My boyfriend and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Cottage Lodge. We had a lovely warm welcome upon arrival, and were given a pot of tea and offered to help ourselves to free cake! Our room, the standing hat, was spacious and clean, and the bed was extremely comfortable! We loved the log burner, and the shower was huge and very nice indeed. Breakfast was good and the staff were very friendly and attentive, without being in your face. I particularly appreciated the special touches. Thanks Cottage Lodge!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Foodaddict123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Fantastic room, well appointed, very clean and spacious, extremely comfy bed, the wood burner was wonderful. Efficient service. Very dog friendly. Will definitely be back. Breakfast in the room was very good too.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed at this lovely quaint, but efficiently run hotel yesterday.
The room we were given was stunning (James hill).
The staff are warm welcoming and very helpful.
The location is lovely, on the edge of the new forest national park.
The food was great, free cake if wanted, an honesty bar, just typifies, how chilled this place is.
We used the hotels Twisie to venture into the forest and enjoy the autumnal beauty.
Wildlife free to roam in their natural habitat, is always nice to see.
The whole experience is one that I think couples would enjoy, weather a relaxing escape, or romantic break!
I would recommend this place to anyone and defy them not to write and equally honest rave review.

Room Tip: No fitness sorry. This is a place that you would go to escape and feel totally relaxed. My tip is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derekS102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
5.5 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
1,145 reviews
5.8 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
413 reviews
0.7 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
5.5 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
327 reviews
2.8 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Lodge Hotel

Property: Cottage Lodge Hotel
Address: Sway Road | Brockenhurst, New Forest, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7SH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cottage Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cottage Lodge has upgraded from a 5star B&B to a 2 star hotel over the last 12 months. So, if you decide to come to the Cottage Lodge in Brockenhurst you are choosing a clean and comfortable property, located in the heart of the New Forest National Park village of Brockenhurst. All the en-suite rooms are individually designed. They all come with flat screen tv's, new mattresses, recently painted walls, tea and coffee making facilities (with real milk), and an in-room safe. Cake is available free of charge in the Snug Bar. We have: romantic rooms with hand made four poster beds: a room with a wood burning stove; ground floor rooms with showers;dog friendly rooms; family friendly rooms; rooms in the original building(C1650);simple rooms perfect for single occupancy or for a couple looking for somewhere simple to stay. There is one parking space at the front of Cottage Lodge for each room. We have won lots of awards for various things: excellence, environmentally friendly, best use of local produce, outstanding breakfast etc. Cottage Lodge is located in the heart of the New Forest National Park village of Brockenhurst. Our very own Fallen Tree Restaurant is open six days a week (closed on Wednesdays). Book early because the restaurant is very popular. Our breakfast's are locally sourced. We assure you of a warm welcome. There are three lovely pubs, nine charming restaurants and tea shops, cycle hire, horse riding, open forest, mainline railway station, village shops, open forest all within ten minutes walk of Cottage Lodge. Twenty minutes drive to the coast, Beaulieu Motor Museum, Exbury Gardens and the Lymington Ferry to the Isle of Wight. We hope to have the pleasure of meeting you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cottage Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottage Hotel Brockenhurst
Cottage Lodge Hotel Brockenhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing