We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend booked this for a getaway for my birthday and I am very glad she did. The goodness starts from the minute you drive in. There was a reserved parking space so we had no problems with having to find a space. We were greeted by a very pleasant lady, who informed us that the room wasn't quite ready, so took us to the snug and gave us tea and cake.

When we did get to our room, the staff had kindly decorated the bed with banners and balloons which my girlfriend had asked them to do.

The room was very spacious and we found the room to be very clean. The bathroom was also very clean with the shower being the most powerful shower we have ever used.

We had cream tea delivered to the room on the first day and breakfast on the second. At all times the staff were very polite.

I can honestly say that this is the best place I have stayed in the uk.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Billyant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

599 - 605 of 1,105 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed in the William 1 room on a Groupon deal - room was spacious, very comfortable, excellent bathroom, all it lacked was a view. Complimentary cake - always a winner with me. Pleasant staff. The Fallen Tree restaurant was fully booked the night we arrived - so book in advance.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dahney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We decieded to get away for the night after seeing a good weather forecast for the weekend.
My wife chose Cottage Lodge and we were not disappointed. We received a welcome worthy of any 5 star international hotel by a lovely young lady. She took us into the snug, gave us tea and cake, explained all about Cottage Lodge. She then took us to our room which was the William Ist room on the first floor. It was bright , spotlessly clean, could do with a touch up of paint on certain parts of the wall, but overall fantastic.

Breakfast was also great with freshly sourced food and set us up for the day.

Keep up the good work and we will be back at sometime.

Room Tip: I think each room is different so have a look at the web site to choose. I know a couple of rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisjEastSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Just returned home from a lovely one night stay at the cottage lodge. Stayed int he James Hill room which had a new matress which was extremely comfortable and thinking of changing the one at home for the same one.
The room was very clean and comfortable.

The cottage is located very close to the train station and near to the shops, pubs and restaurants. Really liked the honesty bar, and free cakes.

If you do stay I recommend eating at the Filly Inn, it's a short 5 minutes drive away but was worth it as the food was fantastic and does a taste card offer, so great value.

Must try this place you will not be disappointed!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ukreviewer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Me and my partner booked this using an Amazon deal, and decided to stay out of season at the end of Feb.

Email confirmation was sent promptly and very efficiently, I changed the date of our stay once and this was no trouble to the owner.

I was pleasantly surprised when we arrived by car that our parking space was allocated with a named board, something other places could learn from as this made it very easy when returning back from a day out knowing your space was there.

Upon arrival we had complimentary tea and cake in the snug room with a blazing fire going, whilst we waited to be shown to our room.

Our stay included lots of little extras including a cream tea, crumpets and hot choc and a 30 min drive in the "Whizzy" a little electric car available for hire.

Our room was the Tom Hayter, which was very small although clean. It had its own entrance outside of the main b&b.

Once we managed to get the key in the dodgy lock, we noticed there was a lot of mould on the inside of our front door and we felt quite on show and exposed as there were lots of windows into the bedroom and a flimsy net curtain to protect our dignity! At night we used the full material curtains but during the day this blocked all the light.

The bathroom was quite dated and definitely needs attention. There was lots of mould inside the bathroom cupboard where the safe and only small wardrobe was, I have asthma and allergies so I was worried it might aggrevate this.

The shower was midget sized, the shower head placed for someone 5 foot and below! Also the heated towel rail didn't work.

Despite these little inconveniences we spent most of our time exploring the New Forest and found Brockenhurst a great base for this. I had booked an evening spa experience at Careys Manor which was amazing and we used the Whizzy on a cold but sunny Saturday and had a lot of fun spotting ponies and trying not to get lost!!

Breakfast was good, although the food seemed pre-cooked and then kept warm - but it was brought to us promptly and was of a good quality.

Staff were polite and helpful, we didn't feel like a nuisance when we rang the bell for them to ask for anything.

I would reccommend this lovely B&B to anyone looking for a relaxing break but I would choose another room, maybe one which had been refurbished.

Room Tip: Choose a refurbished one, Tom Hayter although clean was extremely small and needs updating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank therosebud_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewForestFilly, Owner at Cottage Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Thank you for your lovely review and your kind comments. I would just like to reassure anyone reading this review that we have attended to the maintenance issues mentioned in this review immediately. There was just a little condensation on the inside of the door and the wardrobe that had discoloured. I would have loved to have sorted this out whilst this delightful couple was staying. If you are thinking of staying let me reassure you that if there is anything wrong we will do our best to attend to it straight away. Take care Christina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Stayed for one night in "Little Alice" and it was a perfect little getaway!

The website warns the room is quite small, but we found it more than adequate as a place to sleep and relax briefly. There are so many things to do in the New Forest that it's unlikely you will be sitting in your room all day.

The staff were very knowledgeable and very attentive upon arrival and during our stay. If I had to make any comment, the shower in the bathroom was a bit poor, but we accepted that staying in an unusually old building must have made plumbing a little tough.

Make sure you eat at the restaurant as the food was superb, as was the breakfast.

We would definitely visit again.

Room Tip: Some rooms are dog friendly which might appeal to certain travellers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed here in Feb 2014. Really enjoyed the stay. We stayed in 'Bolderwood' room. It was a smaller room, but more than big enough for us. It had a cosy feel and a modern bathroom with a good shower. The only slight downside was that if you're 6ft tall you can't stand under the shower with out crouching a bit - not really a big deal though. There was a really cosy snug area with a fire in the restaurant area which was great. The breakfast was really good, freshly cooked with local ingredients. We would like to return to this place as we really enjoyed our time here and in the New Forest. Definitely would recommend Cottage Lodge!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul_east_sussrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
3.7 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Forest Park Hotel
Forest Park Hotel
#10 of 10 in Brockenhurst
621 reviews
5.5 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beaulieu
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
415 reviews
4.1 mi away
Beaulieu Hotel
Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
837 reviews
5.8 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Lodge Hotel

Address: Sway Road | Brockenhurst, New Forest, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7SH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range: £56 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cottage Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the Cottage Lodge, a small and friendly two star hotel offering five star service in the heart of the New Forest National Park village of Brockenhurst. You can pick the exact room you want and we will reserve it just for you. Your room comes with personalised reserved parking space, good wifi, tea , cakes, fresh milk, in room safe, flat screen tv and breakfast. Stay a few days and work your way through our breakfast menu which includes choices for vegetarians, vegans, dairy free and gluten free customers. In the evening why not book into White Tails restaurant, our on-site restaurant run by master chef Martin Packard. Cottage Lodge is known for its individually designed rooms, with a mixture of modern hand-made four-poster beds and other features designed to bring the personality of the New Forest and coastline into the hotel for you to experience. We hope you decide to spend your new forest holiday at Cottage Lodge and look forward to meeting you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Cottage Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottage Hotel Brockenhurst
Cottage Lodge Hotel Brockenhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing