We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A wonderful place!”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in April. We booked online and stayed in the James Hill room. We arrived to find our reserved parking space occupied by someone else but this was quickly sorted out so we could park. Our room was not quite ready so we were invited to take tea and cake in the snug and given a warm welcome. The snug is excellent filled with information on local walks, pubs, restaurants and other local things.

Our room was lovely, very clean and serviced every day whilst we were out. We opted for breakfast to be brought to our room on the first morning as we were celebrating a birthday and so wanted a little more privacy but it was such a lovely experience we ended up opting for this for the next 2 mornings as well. We actually forgot to select a time we wanted out breakfast on the first day so at 8.30 a member of staff came to our room to ask what time we wanted it. We apologised and said ASAP and it was with us in less than 5 minutes. Excellent service as the error was completely on our part.

We checked out early on the morning of our departure but left the car in the car park until 11.30 whilst we went for a walk before we left.

We would highly recommend staying here and are definitely looking at going back at some point.

Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenBoughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewForestFilly, Owner at Cottage Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Thank you so much for taking time to write such a lovely review for us here at Cottage Lodge.
We always want our guests to have the best possible experience that they can as having a break away from home is important to us all.
We are so pleased that you feel we are a "wonderful place" to stay. Its the little things that matter and here its what we aim to ensure we do for all of our guests.
We look forward to your return to us very soon we hope.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    758
    218
    34
    9
    6
See reviews for
94
755
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2014

A lovely place to stay where the staff are very friendly and helpful.
What can be better than a cup of tea and a slice of cake in the snug after a your journey.
Beautiful clean room, an excellent breakfast, great location just a short walk from cosy pubs and the beautiful New Forest.
If you are looking for a great place to stay in the New Forest look no further than The Cottage Lodge

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Z4014UBJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewForestFilly, Owner at Cottage Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Thank you for the lovely comments you have given us regarding your recent stay with us here at Cottage Lodge.
We know how tiring a long journey can be so we love to offer our guests tea/coffee and cake in our snug as a welcoming gesture.
" A little gem" is a great compliment so thank you.
We hope to be welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

I would firstly like to say I totally disagree with the negative ratings this beautiful hotel has got! I can not fault it, iv stayed here twice now with a 3 year gap between stays and it is still a lovely friendly and accommodating b&b! Best iv stayed in, in the new forest by far. Beautiful rooms with lovely decor, staff are friendly and welcoming, it feels like a home from home! Breakfast was tasty, and it was nice to have the choice of having it brought up to the room aswel as going down to the restaurant. In a beautiful location minutes walk from pubs, tea rooms, the village and the beautiful new forest! Highly recommend a stay here! You won't be disappointed!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nickynrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewForestFilly, Owner at Cottage Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your recent stay at Cottage Lodge.
It pleases us greatly that you felt we were "home from home". Our staff take a pride in ensuring all of our guests leave us happy and its good to know that this hasnt changed in the three year gap of your visits.
We look forward to your return to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
105 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

This is a lovely place and the staff are very friendly. We had a warm welcome and everything was explained well, the staff went out of their way to provide us with information about restaurants in the area. Our room was small but clean and cosy, everything we needed. Gluten free was catered for and they even provided gluten free muesli and sausages at breakfast (a huge rarity!). Only thing I would say is a bit more of a selection of fresh fruit at breakfast would be lovely. Another thing is that WIFI codes were given but it was very unreliable and none of us could get it to work most of the time, not a big deal for us but would be annoying for some guests. Thank you for a lovely stay, a hotel right in the heart of the town, walking distance from the station and all the pretty cafés and shops too.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kateandchris2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewForestFilly, Owner at Cottage Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thank you very much for your great feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at Cottage Lodge.
We are happy that you felt well looked after. We make every effort to cater for everyone in our Hotel.
Our wifi has been looked into since your feedback and seems to be working much more efficiently now. Its only when our guests give us such feedback that we can ensure all our guests get the best possble stay with us so thank you.
We look forward to your next visit to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Our second visit to the Cottage. Great welcome with tea/coffee/cake. A quaint hotel using local materials for all furnishings in the hotel where possible. Central location ideal for walks and two minutes from train station. The best breakfast and superb restaurant. You will not be disappointed. Fantastic friendly team nothing too much trouble.

Room Tip: Very low ceilings throughout. Not ideal for those with mobility issues because of very tight stairca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewForestFilly, Owner at Cottage Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your recent stay here at Cottage Lodge.
We are pleased that you found everything to your liking. Our aim is to give all of our guests a fantastic stay and our staff are always willing to assist in ensuring this.
We hope it will not be too long before you return to us here at Cottage Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

stayed here for a 2 night special price break. Room quite small but really comfy and cosy. Good choice at breakfast plus welcome coffee and cake on arrival. Also had afternoon tea which was delicious. Great staff and atmosphere. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MexBear1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewForestFilly, Owner at Cottage Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you for taking time to give us feedback on your recent stay at Cottage Lodge.
We are very pleased that you felt you had a great welcome and you enjoyed your afternoon tea and breakfast. We pride ourselves in our friendly staff, homely atmosphere and attention to detail.
We look forward to your next visit to Cottage Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We have been to the New Forest many times and often thought that we might like to return and stay at Cottage Lodge. The opportunity came when we saw details of a special offer.
We stayed in the Verderers Room on the ground floor overlooking the rear courtyard. The room was a good size and very clean and comfortable. Breakfast on both mornings was very good although we did opt to take it in our room on the first morning and found this to be slightly less convenient as there really was nowhere to sit and eat it, and only one tray provided. The Snug was just that, and we were able to help ourselves to fresh milk in order to make tea from the facilities provided in our room.
We ate dinner in the Fallen Tree Restaurant. The food was excellent, service friendly but not excessive and the price was what one might expect to pay for good food in the New Forest. We would most certainly return and recommend to others.

Room Tip: The hotel front overlooks the road through the village. There is a certain amount of traffic that go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zonez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
5.5 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
1,145 reviews
5.8 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
416 reviews
0.7 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
705 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
5.5 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Lodge Hotel

Property: Cottage Lodge Hotel
Address: Sway Road | Brockenhurst, New Forest, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7SH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cottage Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cottage Lodge has upgraded from a 5star B&B to a 2 star hotel over the last 12 months. So, if you decide to come to the Cottage Lodge in Brockenhurst you are choosing a clean and comfortable property, located in the heart of the New Forest National Park village of Brockenhurst. All the en-suite rooms are individually designed. They all come with flat screen tv's, new mattresses, recently painted walls, tea and coffee making facilities (with real milk), and an in-room safe. Cake is available free of charge in the Snug Bar. We have: romantic rooms with hand made four poster beds: a room with a wood burning stove; ground floor rooms with showers;dog friendly rooms; family friendly rooms; rooms in the original building(C1650);simple rooms perfect for single occupancy or for a couple looking for somewhere simple to stay. There is one parking space at the front of Cottage Lodge for each room. We have won lots of awards for various things: excellence, environmentally friendly, best use of local produce, outstanding breakfast etc. Cottage Lodge is located in the heart of the New Forest National Park village of Brockenhurst. Our very own Fallen Tree Restaurant is open six days a week (closed on Wednesdays). Book early because the restaurant is very popular. Our breakfast's are locally sourced. We assure you of a warm welcome. There are three lovely pubs, nine charming restaurants and tea shops, cycle hire, horse riding, open forest, mainline railway station, village shops, open forest all within ten minutes walk of Cottage Lodge. Twenty minutes drive to the coast, Beaulieu Motor Museum, Exbury Gardens and the Lymington Ferry to the Isle of Wight. We hope to have the pleasure of meeting you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cottage Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottage Hotel Brockenhurst
Cottage Lodge Hotel Brockenhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing