We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice stay”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

My parents have stayed in the cottage lodge for couple of nights as their anniversary gift ...;-) there were very pleased with perfect location, lovely accommodation and friendly staff ;) and the weather ;) in the short distance from village high street they had everything they wanted ;) nice and cosy room plus tasty breakfast
Worth trying.....they have recommended it to friends and family

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tumit P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewForestFilly, Owner at Cottage Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for taking time to give us a lovely review of your recent stay.
We are very happy that you enjoyed everything about your stay but have to admit Cottage Lodge had no part in the lovely weather! If only we had that power.
We look forward to your return very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    749
    216
    34
    9
    6
See reviews for
91
749
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My husband booked this hotel as a little get away for our anniversary, away from children for two nights – thought what a great idea, then I read the reviews about the noise and was a bit worried as I knew we had the room booked from the front of the property, how wrong I was (about 9pm the road is completely empty with the odd car driving past)
When we arrived we were welcomed by a lovely lady who talked us through all the things we needed to know and took us to our room, which was very nice.
There was tea and coffee facilities in the room and fresh milk and complimentary cakes in the snug area to help yourself to, loved it.
We went for early dinner to a local pub and decided to have an early night with some movies (we had dvd player in the room and there was lots of movies to choose from in there on a dvd shelf – what a nice touch)
Breakfast first class
All staff working at Cottage Lodge are so welcoming and always there to help with anything, the atmosphere in that place is so relaxed but very professional, great team they have that’s for sure.
We felt very welcome, definitely will be coming back and recommending the place to all my friends

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely, the road is busy between 8am-9pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewForestFilly, Owner at Cottage Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you very much for giving us such a lovely review of your recent stay with us.
We are so pleased that you discovered the delights of Cottage Lodge for yourselves and that you had a lovely stay.
We hope you come back to see us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the standing hat room which allows pets, however you wouldn't know. Hosts were great and breakfast was yummy.

The snug was great, free cake and a fridge full of wine, beer, ale etc you chose what you want from the fridge and make a note of what you had taken and put in a comments box, it's then added to your final bill. Which I found very trusting.

The area itself is just beautiful. Donkeys and horses tend to wander around the street.

The restaurant the fallen tree was a great experience, lovely food and great service.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boydiex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewForestFilly, Owner at Cottage Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you so kindly for your lovely review of your stay with us recently.
We are happy that you had a great birthday break and that you had an all round good experience of our accommodation and restaurant.
We hope we see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed at Cottage Lodge on the 27th - 28th July due to having a wedding to attend in the area.
I was drawn to Cottage Lodge because of the straight forward website and inviting looking accomodation. We booked two rooms, one being the Foresters at a cost of £90.00 per night (and Bolderwood £90.00 per night)
The parking is great if you booked (which we did) if not a bit tight - careful driving needed! We were given our room key and the door code for when returning later in the evening. Everything was very pleasent until we got to our room.
I can only review the Foresters but what we found was very disappointing.
£90 a night isnt a fortune but its also way too much to pay for the level of room we had. The room itself smelt very musty when we arrived and on first look everything looked as it should look. Clean sheets, somewhere to hang your clothes. However, the first thing we noticed was the extra sheet on the end of the bed which was maybe for more decorative reasons was white but filthy - perhaps white wasnt the best colour to choose if you wont wash it each time.
The curtains were hanging off the rail hooks and had lots of holes in and let light in - a simple thing which could have been rectified.
The bathroom is dated to say the least, it needs to be ripped out and replaced as soon as possible. The tiles were dirty, there are no rails to hang towels so they were placed on the toilet (not hygenic). There was toilet paper left on the toilet brush which had seen better days which although you know had been used previously you dont wish to see the evidence. I then had a shower to freshen up and found the shower to have hair, dirt and mould in it. A very simple thing to get rid of if it had been cleaned properly. The toilet didnt flush properly and the amount of dust and grime, which carried over into the room itself shocked me. The area behind the toilet needs a good scrub with some bleach.
I dont think asking for basic cleanliness is too much to ask for and it made me wonder what else wasnt clean in the B&B. We asked for our bathroom to be re-cleaned but it was a poor effort as it wasnt much different on our return.
Another thing to mention, having tea and coffee in the room is great but dont serve the coffee loose in a bowl, would have been nicer to have single packets as it gets you wondering how long it had been sitting there.
Had the room been clean it would have been such a lovely stay but i feel cheated having pre-paid for the stay as i personally think charging £45 per night would have been much more realistic.
I know the B&B has more modern rooms available at a higher cost (which we would have booked had they been available) which im sure must be much better, but the smaller rooms shouldnt be neglected.

Room Tip: Dont choose the Foresters until they have given this a full revamp. Go for the higher cost rooms wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank KRSymes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewForestFilly, Owner at Cottage Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Thank you for taking time to give us your honest feedback for your recent stay.
We are so sorry that you had issues with the cleanliness of your room. We can only look at things through guests eyes if we are told about them and we appreciate that you have.
Once again may I say how sorry we are.
We hope you return to us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

First the positives, we enjoyed a good welcome with offer of tea and cake on arrival. A parking space had been reserved which I would consider essential. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. The bathroom was well furnished but the extractor did nit work making it hot and steamy.
There is no lounge for guests, only a small snug with wooden chairs. Neither was there a comfortable chair in the bedroom. The hotel is on a busy road and is quite noisy. This was made worse by a party at a property which backs on to the hotel. The floor in this old building creak every time anyone walks around, so our neighbours above woke us several times in the night A notice in the room asks that guests let the owners know if they are disturbed by noise, so this is seemingly a common problem
We had hoped to eat in the on site restaurant but it was fully booked ( perhaps advice to book ahead would be useful)
Breakfast slot had to be ordered the night before, presumably as there are only seven tables and more rooms than that. Breakfast was well cooked and enjoyable, but the floors had not been cleaned from the night before with considerable food remains visible
All in all a very average stay and nit good value for money at £165 per night

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank year2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewForestFilly, Owner at Cottage Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us at Cottage Lodge.
We appreciate ALL feedback and can only put things right if we are told about them.
Regarding the extractor fan in the bathroom it will have been repaired if you mentioned it at check out please rest assured.
Thankfully we have very few issues with our neighbours but once is too much this is why we have the notice in the room for our guests to call.
As you say we are an old building and our floorboards do creak at times but this is unavoidable in a property built in 1650.
We are so sorry that you were disturbed by both issues.
We send an email out to all of our guests 3 - 4 weeks before arrival to advise of booking a table in the restaurant. If you book after those times we still email you and advise if they are fully booked or give the availability at the time of emailing.
Again, thank you for your feedback. We hope you return to us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

This smart, cosy and tasteful small hotel, excellently situated, is a New Forest delight. A short stroll from Brockenhurst high street and station, you will find all you need for a memorable stay here. Rooms are stylishly designed, complete with hand made wooden beds and furniture. The restaurant, though not spacious, serves up locally sourced produce. The breakfast choices are impressive, including a veggie or gluten free choice. The, "Snug", next to the restaurant is where you can find all the local info you need, have a drink or help yourself to the free and delicious cake on offer. Specific parking spaces are provided especially for your stay. There really is nothing negative to say about the Cottage Lodge, the only thing to point out is that you are staying on a fairly busy road, so traffic noise can be heard first thing in the morning. We had our dog with us and within 5 minutes of walking, we were in the surrounding green areas. To encounter wild but people friendly donkeys, horses and ponies in the streets of Brockenhurst is an unforgettable experience. Staying at Cottage Lodge is memorable too. Use this as a base for your New Forest visit and you can't go wrong.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 610markc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewForestFilly, Owner at Cottage Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Thank you kindly for your lovely review for your recent stay with us.
We are pleased that you and your doggie had a great time with us and you found everything to your liking.
We hope you will all be back with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a short break in the New Forest.
From booking to departure everything was faultless.As soon as you walk in the door the staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel was beautifully decorated throughout and spotlessly clean, the bed was comfy. The breakfast was delicious and we were able to enjoy this on our own private patio.
We would definately stay here again and have recommended it to our friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew_G10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewForestFilly, Owner at Cottage Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Many thanks for your lovely review.
We always do our best to ensure our guests get the best we can provide and are pleased you felt we did this.
Thank you for recommending us to your friends and family. We look forward to seeing them.
We hope to see you again too, soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
5.5 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
6.8 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,569 reviews
5.8 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
5.5 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Lodge Hotel

Property: Cottage Lodge Hotel
Address: Sway Road | Brockenhurst, New Forest, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7SH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cottage Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cottage Lodge has upgraded from a 5star B&B to a 2 star hotel over the last 12 months. So, if you decide to come to the Cottage Lodge in Brockenhurst you are choosing a clean and comfortable property, located in the heart of the New Forest National Park village of Brockenhurst. All the en-suite rooms are individually designed. They all come with flat screen tv's, new mattresses, recently painted walls, tea and coffee making facilities (with real milk), and an in-room safe. Cake is available free of charge in the Snug Bar. We have: romantic rooms with hand made four poster beds: a room with a wood burning stove; ground floor rooms with showers;dog friendly rooms; family friendly rooms; rooms in the original building(C1650);simple rooms perfect for single occupancy or for a couple looking for somewhere simple to stay. There is one parking space at the front of Cottage Lodge for each room. We have won lots of awards for various things: excellence, environmentally friendly, best use of local produce, outstanding breakfast etc. Cottage Lodge is located in the heart of the New Forest National Park village of Brockenhurst. Our very own Fallen Tree Restaurant is open six days a week (closed on Wednesdays). Book early because the restaurant is very popular. Our breakfast's are locally sourced. We assure you of a warm welcome. There are three lovely pubs, nine charming restaurants and tea shops, cycle hire, horse riding, open forest, mainline railway station, village shops, open forest all within ten minutes walk of Cottage Lodge. Twenty minutes drive to the coast, Beaulieu Motor Museum, Exbury Gardens and the Lymington Ferry to the Isle of Wight. We hope to have the pleasure of meeting you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cottage Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottage Hotel Brockenhurst
Cottage Lodge Hotel Brockenhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing