We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$305
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beaulieu Hotel(Beaulieu)
US$228
US$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balmer Lawn(Brockenhurst)
US$291
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$347
US$330
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cloud Hotel(Brockenhurst)
US$230
US$209
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Passford House(Lymington)
US$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Pig(Brockenhurst)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
New Park Manor(Brockenhurst)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rhinefield House Hotel(Brockenhurst)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Forest Park Hotel(Brockenhurst)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,155)
Filter reviews
1,155 results
Traveller rating
866
239
35
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
866
239
35
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barfree cakeparking spacestanding hatb bexbury roomjames hillsnug bargillies holtbrusher millsmorant roomwilverley roomtea and cakenew forestfresh milkreserved parkingbucks fizz
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
591 - 596 of 1,155 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Have just had a wonderful night staying with friends in the willvery and bolder wood rooms . The staff went out of their way to make our stay most enjoyable, the fallen tree restaurant was first class and would advise booking a table before arriving. We certainly will be returning .

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewForestFilly, Owner at Cottage Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay with us.
"superb" a lovely compliment for sure.
We are so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us and look forward to your return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My parents have stayed in the cottage lodge for couple of nights as their anniversary gift ...;-) there were very pleased with perfect location, lovely accommodation and friendly staff ;) and the weather ;) in the short distance from village high street they had everything they wanted ;) nice and cosy room plus tasty breakfast
Worth trying.....they have recommended it to friends and family

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Tumit P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewForestFilly, Owner at Cottage Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you for taking time to give us a lovely review of your recent stay.
We are very happy that you enjoyed everything about your stay but have to admit Cottage Lodge had no part in the lovely weather! If only we had that power.
We look forward to your return very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My husband booked this hotel as a little get away for our anniversary, away from children for two nights – thought what a great idea, then I read the reviews about the noise and was a bit worried as I knew we had the room booked from the front of the property, how wrong I was (about 9pm the road is completely empty with the odd car driving past)
When we arrived we were welcomed by a lovely lady who talked us through all the things we needed to know and took us to our room, which was very nice.
There was tea and coffee facilities in the room and fresh milk and complimentary cakes in the snug area to help yourself to, loved it.
We went for early dinner to a local pub and decided to have an early night with some movies (we had dvd player in the room and there was lots of movies to choose from in there on a dvd shelf – what a nice touch)
Breakfast first class
All staff working at Cottage Lodge are so welcoming and always there to help with anything, the atmosphere in that place is so relaxed but very professional, great team they have that’s for sure.
We felt very welcome, definitely will be coming back and recommending the place to all my friends

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely, the road is busy between 8am-9pm
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewForestFilly, Owner at Cottage Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you very much for giving us such a lovely review of your recent stay with us.
We are so pleased that you discovered the delights of Cottage Lodge for yourselves and that you had a lovely stay.
We hope you come back to see us again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the standing hat room which allows pets, however you wouldn't know. Hosts were great and breakfast was yummy.

The snug was great, free cake and a fridge full of wine, beer, ale etc you chose what you want from the fridge and make a note of what you had taken and put in a comments box, it's then added to your final bill. Which I found very trusting.

The area itself is just beautiful. Donkeys and horses tend to wander around the street.

The restaurant the fallen tree was a great experience, lovely food and great service.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boydiex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewForestFilly, Owner at Cottage Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you so kindly for your lovely review of your stay with us recently.
We are happy that you had a great birthday break and that you had an all round good experience of our accommodation and restaurant.
We hope we see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed at Cottage Lodge on the 27th - 28th July due to having a wedding to attend in the area.
I was drawn to Cottage Lodge because of the straight forward website and inviting looking accomodation. We booked two rooms, one being the Foresters at a cost of £90.00 per night (and Bolderwood £90.00 per night)
The parking is great if you booked (which we did) if not a bit tight - careful driving needed! We were given our room key and the door code for when returning later in the evening. Everything was very pleasent until we got to our room.
I can only review the Foresters but what we found was very disappointing.
£90 a night isnt a fortune but its also way too much to pay for the level of room we had. The room itself smelt very musty when we arrived and on first look everything looked as it should look. Clean sheets, somewhere to hang your clothes. However, the first thing we noticed was the extra sheet on the end of the bed which was maybe for more decorative reasons was white but filthy - perhaps white wasnt the best colour to choose if you wont wash it each time.
The curtains were hanging off the rail hooks and had lots of holes in and let light in - a simple thing which could have been rectified.
The bathroom is dated to say the least, it needs to be ripped out and replaced as soon as possible. The tiles were dirty, there are no rails to hang towels so they were placed on the toilet (not hygenic). There was toilet paper left on the toilet brush which had seen better days which although you know had been used previously you dont wish to see the evidence. I then had a shower to freshen up and found the shower to have hair, dirt and mould in it. A very simple thing to get rid of if it had been cleaned properly. The toilet didnt flush properly and the amount of dust and grime, which carried over into the room itself shocked me. The area behind the toilet needs a good scrub with some bleach.
I dont think asking for basic cleanliness is too much to ask for and it made me wonder what else wasnt clean in the B&B. We asked for our bathroom to be re-cleaned but it was a poor effort as it wasnt much different on our return.
Another thing to mention, having tea and coffee in the room is great but dont serve the coffee loose in a bowl, would have been nicer to have single packets as it gets you wondering how long it had been sitting there.
Had the room been clean it would have been such a lovely stay but i feel cheated having pre-paid for the stay as i personally think charging £45 per night would have been much more realistic.
I know the B&B has more modern rooms available at a higher cost (which we would have booked had they been available) which im sure must be much better, but the smaller rooms shouldnt be neglected.

Room Tip: Dont choose the Foresters until they have given this a full revamp. Go for the higher cost rooms which im sure would be much better.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
8  Thank KRSymes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewForestFilly, Owner at Cottage Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for taking time to give us your honest feedback for your recent stay.
We are so sorry that you had issues with the cleanliness of your room. We can only look at things through guests eyes if we are told about them and we appreciate that you have.
Once again may I say how sorry we are.
We hope you return to us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews