We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed two nights and loved every minute. The rooms are clean and spacious, the breakfast freshly cooked and an added bonus of the Fallen Tree restaurant on the premises. You can walk to everywhere and parking is a bonus. One thing I would suggest to improve the 'honesty bar' would be to have wine available by the glass.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justonemoreholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewForestFilly, Owner at Cottage Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review.
We are so pleased that you had a lovely time and found us well located.
We will look into your suggestion regarding the wine.
We hope you return to us very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,098)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

533 - 539 of 1,098 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my girlfriend for two nights in mid-July. We received a very warm welcome from the lady on duty (can't remember your name! Sorry!) and was shown our room promptly. We stayed on the first floor with a 4 poster bed. The room was very clean, tidy and nicely decorated. The lodge itself was charming inside and the furniture was mostly made from the same tree, a nice touch. The free tea and coffee was supplemented with fresh milk rather than those horrible uht pots, and the extra provision of free cake was very welcome! There were folders full of activities for wet and dry weather and guides to the local area.

The breakfast selection was tasty and you have a choice of English or cereals/toast etc. I had a full English each day and it was very tasty. All the food, down to the butter and jams were as local as they could make it and it showed! Good food all round.

The stay overall was very good, the staff couldn't do enough for us and I would recommend the hotel to anyone wanting a peaceful, comfortable stay in the New Forest. I would come back in an instant.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewForestFilly, Owner at Cottage Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

We would like to thank you for your lovely review of your recent stay with us.
“Excellent service, lovely hotel. ” Is just what we aim to provide for our guests. We are very happy that you found everything to your liking.
We hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Have just had a wonderful night staying with friends in the willvery and bolder wood rooms . The staff went out of their way to make our stay most enjoyable, the fallen tree restaurant was first class and would advise booking a table before arriving. We certainly will be returning .

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewForestFilly, Owner at Cottage Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay with us.
"superb" a lovely compliment for sure.
We are so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us and look forward to your return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My parents have stayed in the cottage lodge for couple of nights as their anniversary gift ...;-) there were very pleased with perfect location, lovely accommodation and friendly staff ;) and the weather ;) in the short distance from village high street they had everything they wanted ;) nice and cosy room plus tasty breakfast
Worth trying.....they have recommended it to friends and family

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Tumit P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewForestFilly, Owner at Cottage Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you for taking time to give us a lovely review of your recent stay.
We are very happy that you enjoyed everything about your stay but have to admit Cottage Lodge had no part in the lovely weather! If only we had that power.
We look forward to your return very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My husband booked this hotel as a little get away for our anniversary, away from children for two nights – thought what a great idea, then I read the reviews about the noise and was a bit worried as I knew we had the room booked from the front of the property, how wrong I was (about 9pm the road is completely empty with the odd car driving past)
When we arrived we were welcomed by a lovely lady who talked us through all the things we needed to know and took us to our room, which was very nice.
There was tea and coffee facilities in the room and fresh milk and complimentary cakes in the snug area to help yourself to, loved it.
We went for early dinner to a local pub and decided to have an early night with some movies (we had dvd player in the room and there was lots of movies to choose from in there on a dvd shelf – what a nice touch)
Breakfast first class
All staff working at Cottage Lodge are so welcoming and always there to help with anything, the atmosphere in that place is so relaxed but very professional, great team they have that’s for sure.
We felt very welcome, definitely will be coming back and recommending the place to all my friends

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely, the road is busy between 8am-9pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewForestFilly, Owner at Cottage Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you very much for giving us such a lovely review of your recent stay with us.
We are so pleased that you discovered the delights of Cottage Lodge for yourselves and that you had a lovely stay.
We hope you come back to see us again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the standing hat room which allows pets, however you wouldn't know. Hosts were great and breakfast was yummy.

The snug was great, free cake and a fridge full of wine, beer, ale etc you chose what you want from the fridge and make a note of what you had taken and put in a comments box, it's then added to your final bill. Which I found very trusting.

The area itself is just beautiful. Donkeys and horses tend to wander around the street.

The restaurant the fallen tree was a great experience, lovely food and great service.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boydiex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewForestFilly, Owner at Cottage Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Thank you so kindly for your lovely review of your stay with us recently.
We are happy that you had a great birthday break and that you had an all round good experience of our accommodation and restaurant.
We hope we see you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed at Cottage Lodge on the 27th - 28th July due to having a wedding to attend in the area.
I was drawn to Cottage Lodge because of the straight forward website and inviting looking accomodation. We booked two rooms, one being the Foresters at a cost of £90.00 per night (and Bolderwood £90.00 per night)
The parking is great if you booked (which we did) if not a bit tight - careful driving needed! We were given our room key and the door code for when returning later in the evening. Everything was very pleasent until we got to our room.
I can only review the Foresters but what we found was very disappointing.
£90 a night isnt a fortune but its also way too much to pay for the level of room we had. The room itself smelt very musty when we arrived and on first look everything looked as it should look. Clean sheets, somewhere to hang your clothes. However, the first thing we noticed was the extra sheet on the end of the bed which was maybe for more decorative reasons was white but filthy - perhaps white wasnt the best colour to choose if you wont wash it each time.
The curtains were hanging off the rail hooks and had lots of holes in and let light in - a simple thing which could have been rectified.
The bathroom is dated to say the least, it needs to be ripped out and replaced as soon as possible. The tiles were dirty, there are no rails to hang towels so they were placed on the toilet (not hygenic). There was toilet paper left on the toilet brush which had seen better days which although you know had been used previously you dont wish to see the evidence. I then had a shower to freshen up and found the shower to have hair, dirt and mould in it. A very simple thing to get rid of if it had been cleaned properly. The toilet didnt flush properly and the amount of dust and grime, which carried over into the room itself shocked me. The area behind the toilet needs a good scrub with some bleach.
I dont think asking for basic cleanliness is too much to ask for and it made me wonder what else wasnt clean in the B&B. We asked for our bathroom to be re-cleaned but it was a poor effort as it wasnt much different on our return.
Another thing to mention, having tea and coffee in the room is great but dont serve the coffee loose in a bowl, would have been nicer to have single packets as it gets you wondering how long it had been sitting there.
Had the room been clean it would have been such a lovely stay but i feel cheated having pre-paid for the stay as i personally think charging £45 per night would have been much more realistic.
I know the B&B has more modern rooms available at a higher cost (which we would have booked had they been available) which im sure must be much better, but the smaller rooms shouldnt be neglected.

Room Tip: Dont choose the Foresters until they have given this a full revamp. Go for the higher cost rooms wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
7  Thank KRSymes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewForestFilly, Owner at Cottage Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for taking time to give us your honest feedback for your recent stay.
We are so sorry that you had issues with the cleanliness of your room. We can only look at things through guests eyes if we are told about them and we appreciate that you have.
Once again may I say how sorry we are.
We hope you return to us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
3.7 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
5.5 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Beaulieu
1,226 reviews
0.5 mi away
Forest Park Hotel
Forest Park Hotel
#10 of 10 in Brockenhurst
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
409 reviews
4.1 mi away
Beaulieu Hotel
Beaulieu Hotel
#2 of 2 in Beaulieu
833 reviews
2.8 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Lodge Hotel

Address: Sway Road | Brockenhurst, New Forest, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7SH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Brockenhurst
Price Range: £57 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cottage Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the Cottage Lodge, a small and friendly two star hotel offering five star service in the heart of the New Forest National Park village of Brockenhurst. You can pick the exact room you want and we will reserve it just for you. Your room comes with personalised reserved parking space, good wifi, tea , cakes, fresh milk, in room safe, flat screen tv and breakfast. Stay a few days and work your way through our breakfast menu which includes choices for vegetarians, vegans, dairy free and gluten free customers. In the evening why not book into White Tails restaurant, our on-site restaurant run by master chef Martin Packard. Cottage Lodge is known for its individually designed rooms, with a mixture of modern hand-made four-poster beds and other features designed to bring the personality of the New Forest and coastline into the hotel for you to experience. We hope you decide to spend your new forest holiday at Cottage Lodge and look forward to meeting you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Cottage Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottage Hotel Brockenhurst
Cottage Lodge Hotel Brockenhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing