We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special treat for our special Labrador!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Lechlade
Level Contributor
133 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A special treat for our special Labrador!”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I admit to choosing Cottage Lodge because it had not only excellent reviews but because it is dog friendly & when we holiday as we often do for short breaks, in the New Forest our Labrador must come with us. She thoroughly approved & was made very welcome. We were also made very welcome & appreciated the special touches such as the honesty bar, relaxed atmosphere & of course complimentary cake! Our only disappointment which was not due to the hotel staff was eating in the Fallen Tree on my birthday. My husband enjoyed his meal but we had problems with them struggling to locate the white wine we ordered, even being offered a red at one point and my food was very disappointing. However this would not stop us revisiting this lovely hotel, we might just restrict eating to the excellent breakfast & of course the cherry cake!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewForestFilly, Owner at Cottage Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you kindly for your review of your stay with us here at Cottage Lodge.
We are pleased that your doggie approved of the room and it was a pleasure meeting her...........and you also.
We are sorry you were disappointed with your meal and we have spoken to Fallen Tree regarding the issue you had.
We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    749
    216
    34
    9
    6
See reviews for
91
749
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Kilmarnock
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights so we could be close to peppa pig world. It was absolutely adorable! Christine went out of her way to be helpful & offered us advice about toddler-friendly activities on our last day. Thank you Christine, my little girl still talks about the crabs we caught in a tub at lymington. The room was great, breakfast was lovely & we could even have it in our own little garden. Overall a lovely welcoming hotel with a personal touch.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daisyrosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewForestFilly, Owner at Cottage Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review of your recent stay with us.
We are so please that you had a great stay with us. Its great to go home with wonderful memories of your time in the area as your little girl has.
We look forward to your next visit to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Arriving here on spec, as refugees from an unpleasant experience elsewhere, we were overcome by the helpfulness of the staff here. Although they weren't able to offer us a room for our whole stay they contacted a nearby hotel and arranged for us to continue our stay there.
The rooms are gorgeous, each one furnished and decorated in an individual style. The breakfasts were delicious and the unmanned snug bar with its honesty box (free cake and milk, a selection of wine, beer and soft drinks) was typical of the caring and trusting attitude of the management.
We would most definitely return here, and hope to in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewForestFilly, Owner at Cottage Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for your lovely review of your recent stay with us at Cottage Lodge.
We are so pleased that you had a great experience with us. We take on board all feedback from our guests which is why we offer things like cake in the snug.
We hope you come back to us very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed for 1 night in the little Alice room. The room is the smallest but still quite airy although anyone over 6' may struggle in this room. The welcome we received on arrival was very friendly and the owners are very helpful. We only had breakfast at the cottage which was fantastic. For dinner we ate at the snake catcher which we cannot recommend highly enough. A 2 course meal for 2 with wine was £50 and can honestly say it is the best food we have had for a very long time.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louise d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewForestFilly, Owner at Cottage Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you for your kind words about Little Alice room and your stay with us at Cottage Lodge.
We are very pleased you found a lovely place to eat locally.
We hope that you come back to us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

It has been 18 months since my last stay at Cottage Lodge and there have been a few changes.

My family stayed in " Exbury", "Rheinfeld" and " Little Alice". All the rooms are of a very high standard and the little lounge in Exbury, was a great area for the family to congregate and play board games, after long days exploring the forest and the New Forest show. The balcony is great for "donkey" watching!
The beds are comfortable, the rooms are clean , light and airy.
Breakfast was a real treat and the ladies who serve are friendly and very efficient. Cottage Lodge, is a lovely place to stay, the staff are friendly and Christina has very high standards, for her hotel, which never vary, so you are assured of a wonderful stay.
The restaurant "The Fallen Tree", is a great addition and the high quality of the food served, compliments the quality of "Cottage Lodge".
We will not leave it so long, before we return

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sapper99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewForestFilly, Owner at Cottage Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for taking time to give us such a lovely review.
We are so glad that you had a lovely stay with us. Its so nice when our guests come back to us.
Exbury room is indeed a lovely room for a get together and we are pleased that you enjoyed this aspect of your stay too.
We hope you will be back with us very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
381 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed two nights and loved every minute. The rooms are clean and spacious, the breakfast freshly cooked and an added bonus of the Fallen Tree restaurant on the premises. You can walk to everywhere and parking is a bonus. One thing I would suggest to improve the 'honesty bar' would be to have wine available by the glass.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justonemoreholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewForestFilly, Owner at Cottage Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review.
We are so pleased that you had a lovely time and found us well located.
We will look into your suggestion regarding the wine.
We hope you return to us very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my girlfriend for two nights in mid-July. We received a very warm welcome from the lady on duty (can't remember your name! Sorry!) and was shown our room promptly. We stayed on the first floor with a 4 poster bed. The room was very clean, tidy and nicely decorated. The lodge itself was charming inside and the furniture was mostly made from the same tree, a nice touch. The free tea and coffee was supplemented with fresh milk rather than those horrible uht pots, and the extra provision of free cake was very welcome! There were folders full of activities for wet and dry weather and guides to the local area.

The breakfast selection was tasty and you have a choice of English or cereals/toast etc. I had a full English each day and it was very tasty. All the food, down to the butter and jams were as local as they could make it and it showed! Good food all round.

The stay overall was very good, the staff couldn't do enough for us and I would recommend the hotel to anyone wanting a peaceful, comfortable stay in the New Forest. I would come back in an instant.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NewForestFilly, Owner at Cottage Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
We would like to thank you for your lovely review of your recent stay with us.
“Excellent service, lovely hotel. ” Is just what we aim to provide for our guests. We are very happy that you found everything to your liking.
We hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brockenhurst
5.5 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
6.8 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
5.8 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
5.5 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cottage Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottage Lodge Hotel

Property: Cottage Lodge Hotel
Address: Sway Road | Brockenhurst, New Forest, New Forest, Brockenhurst SO42 7SH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > Brockenhurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cottage Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cottage Lodge has upgraded from a 5star B&B to a 2 star hotel over the last 12 months. So, if you decide to come to the Cottage Lodge in Brockenhurst you are choosing a clean and comfortable property, located in the heart of the New Forest National Park village of Brockenhurst. All the en-suite rooms are individually designed. They all come with flat screen tv's, new mattresses, recently painted walls, tea and coffee making facilities (with real milk), and an in-room safe. Cake is available free of charge in the Snug Bar. We have: romantic rooms with hand made four poster beds: a room with a wood burning stove; ground floor rooms with showers;dog friendly rooms; family friendly rooms; rooms in the original building(C1650);simple rooms perfect for single occupancy or for a couple looking for somewhere simple to stay. There is one parking space at the front of Cottage Lodge for each room. We have won lots of awards for various things: excellence, environmentally friendly, best use of local produce, outstanding breakfast etc. Cottage Lodge is located in the heart of the New Forest National Park village of Brockenhurst. Our very own Fallen Tree Restaurant is open six days a week (closed on Wednesdays). Book early because the restaurant is very popular. Our breakfast's are locally sourced. We assure you of a warm welcome. There are three lovely pubs, nine charming restaurants and tea shops, cycle hire, horse riding, open forest, mainline railway station, village shops, open forest all within ten minutes walk of Cottage Lodge. Twenty minutes drive to the coast, Beaulieu Motor Museum, Exbury Gardens and the Lymington Ferry to the Isle of Wight. We hope to have the pleasure of meeting you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cottage Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cottage Hotel Brockenhurst
Cottage Lodge Hotel Brockenhurst, New Forest

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing