We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous gluten free”

The Thatched Cottage
Ranked #35 of 58 Restaurants in Brockenhurst
Price range: US$1 - US$26
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Thatched Cottage Hotel in Brockenhurst is a 400 year old thatched cottage in the heart of the New Forest National Park and easily reached by rail and road. Join us for Afternoon Tea or sample a gin tasting flight in the Gin Bar. Accommodation is also available in historic cottage rooms and modern garden rooms.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fabulous gluten free”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This place is quaint and gorgeous, the cosy interior, the friendly caring service and the the food, although the menu is limited and the time it takes to get to the table is longer than I would like, when it arrives, it is simply the best gluten free cream tea I have had outside of my four walls...

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank commonasmuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    30
    18
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
“Quirky, clean and hospitable ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

From our arrival until departure we have been very well looked after. We enjoyed the new modern rooms to the rear of the thatched cottage: very clean, comfortable beds, lovely toiletries. Home, grown and local breakfast. Thank you for your patience!

Helpful?
Thank Brendan_Stegmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect traditional afternoon tea so far!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

I have been here so many times with my friends and we just love it! The staff works on Friday is very cheerful, the food (include afternoon tea) is absolutely delicious. I also love the way all the cakes are decorated, looks very lovely. Definitely recommend for everyone to come if you have a desire to experience real afternoon tea in the forest!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Scones Scones Scones and a lovely cuppa tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stopped here for a cup of tea and scones. Wonderful. Lovely garden and fairly quiet although next to road in village. The scones were moreish and the china tea cups and saucers and 'proper' looseleaf tea - a real treat. We will be back again. noel and sheila

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SCM_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Forest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“this used to be a great place”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

This used to be a lovely place always a bit pricey but worth it. I am not sure what has happened to it maybe changed hands i just don't know but me for sure will not be returning.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank lindaforbes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Thatched Cottage also viewed

Brockenhurst, New Forest
Brockenhurst, New Forest
 
Brockenhurst, New Forest
Brockenhurst, New Forest
 
Brockenhurst, New Forest
Brockenhurst, New Forest
 

Been to The Thatched Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing