We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oasis of calm - adults only Thai dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Zen Garden

Zen Garden
Ranked #12 of 58 Restaurants in Brockenhurst
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$41
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Esher, Surrey
Level Contributor
138 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Oasis of calm - adults only Thai dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

This small restaurant, Zen Garden, in the Carey's manor hotel by their spa has a lovely decor and atmosphere. The food is a lovely change from big roasts and fine dining puréed vegetables and foams.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank IsofEsher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    56
    24
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sway
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best Thai ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Just had a beautiful meal with friends in this lovely place!
I had the Tom yum to start, which was exquisite, with wondrous taste explosions with every mouthful !
Main dish was a beef dish with chilli, outstanding and very hot and flavoursome !
Pudding was fried Banana, which was devine!
We had a great night, with great laughs , good company and outstanding food !
Cannot wait to go back!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lumpinisway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lunch-great, dinner-pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

Both the food and the service here was very good. Wonderful panini at lunchtime- good value as plenty of it! Dinner was also lovely however the dishes were very pricey and quite small considering the price!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank xHAPPYinHOVEx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Terrible Value for Money - Avoid if you Value your Wallet!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

Had lunch, partner ordered biscuits -2arrived on plate £1.50. Also had two scones. I had a Greek Salad a whopping £15.95. With a tea and coffee whole bill came to almost £35.00. I also ordered a melon juice, nowhere on the menu did it mention dairy products in it, which I cannot digest (ok with goat or sheep milk but not cow), felt ill for rest of the day!

Would not pay these sorts of prices even in London - Avoid if you value your wallet.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Belle1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“One of the best Thai meals I have tried in the UK”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

On a spa break and ended up having lunch and dinner here as it was so good. We have a great Thai cafe in our local market which is run by some Thai ladies.... And this restaurant goes one better. It's pricey for Thai food but when it's this good you don't mind. Service was excellent and variety of dishes just makes you want to go back and try more...... Also don't be afraid to ask for a dish with no chilli... I love green papaya salad which is traditionally served spiced up with chilli but as with most Asian food it's cooked fresh so the chef was easily able to accommodate my request.....

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shirley_md_memories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zen Garden also viewed

Brockenhurst, New Forest
Brockenhurst, New Forest
 
Brockenhurst, New Forest
Brockenhurst, New Forest
 

Been to Zen Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing