We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Traditional and very good”
Review of Huish Moor

Huish Moor
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Huish Moor
Ranked #29 of 36 Bideford B&B and Inns
Bornem, Belgium
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Traditional and very good”
Reviewed 19 September 2011

A B&B where one likes to go to, not only because the bed as well as the breakfast are good -which they most certainly are- but also because the entire atmosphere is so attractive. The house itself, the surrounding garden, the vieuw and last but not least, the very friendly owners. The place is somewhat remote (which we like), but it is only a five minutes drive to Instow, whith several places which offer very good food.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luk V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    3
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
14
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 13 September 2011

I spent two glorious days staying at Huish Moor, where Tim and Angi were the perfect hosts. It's a really lovely house in a beautiful location with dreamy views down to the mouth of the Taw. Breakfast was a treat both days and most importantly I slept like an absolute log - surely a good sign wherever you are staying. When combined with Tim's knowledge of local fishing and his patient and superb guiding, a stay at Huish Moor stacks up in every way.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2011

A beautiful bed and breakfast set in an idyllic location with fantastic views. Angi and Tim make you feel right at home from the start of your visit with a cream tea on arrival. The rooms are clean and comfortable and Angi’s breakfasts are consistently superb!

We will definitely be back next year!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helsbels8363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2011

Stayed in April for a weekend. What a wonderful place. Made to feel very welcome by hosts Tim and Angie. The room was very pretty and cosy and clean.
Wonderful view all around the house. Delicious cooked breakfasts which went down very well before 18 holes of golf.
Will definitely return. Would I recommend to friends? Most definately although I would like to keep it a secret.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidaymaker12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

In my 33 years I have travelled across the UK and Europe and stayed in numerous hotels, gites, cottages, B&B's and more. I have often wondered which of those was the best I have visited. Now that question has an easy answer. Huish Moor. Easily the best B&B I have ever stayed at and it deserves the accolade.
Tim and Angi go that extra mile to make their guests feel comfortable as they did with us. Hidden away in the quiet country lanes of North West Devon, the house has a hill-top location with stunning views. Relaxation comes naturally here and everything that Tim and Angi do is geared towards this. They also applied little touches such as hot cross buns and easter eggs as we stayed over Easter. I could go on for hours about how good Huish Moor but I will simply say this.....book and try it for yourself. You won't be disappointed. Myself, Chantal and Alex will be back.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GosportJezza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2011

What a beauiful place and what better way to unwind. The food is amazing the rooms are clean and comfortable. Surrounded by beautiful countryside, whether it be the rolling hills or the beach there is something here for everyone.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrishawthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2011

I have now stayed at Huish Moor on a number of occasions - with the boys on golf tour, with my wife for a long weekend in Devon or for a spot of sea trout fishing!

Tim and Angi are delightful hosts for whom nothing is too much trouble. Cream tea on arrival is a very welcome touch after the journey down from London. The accommodation is clean, warm and very reasonably priced. Angi's breakfasts are to die for and all made with the finest, locally sourced ingredients.

Tim and Angi are very knowledgeable about the area and are happy to provide guidance on where to eat and what's going on in the locality. Tim is highly qualified as a fishing guide so, if like me you've always dreamed of landing a double digit salmon, you could seriously improve your chances of success by having him by your side!!

If you are looking for a base in the Bideford area for a few days, I can't recommend Huish Moor too highly!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bakes71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bideford hotels
4.4 mi away
Westbeach Resort
Westbeach Resort
#5 of 9 in Westward Ho
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
2.9 mi away
Yeoldon House Hotel
Yeoldon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 11 in Bideford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Instow Barton
Instow Barton
#2 of 3 in Instow
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
3.2 mi away
Durrant House
Durrant House
#8 of 11 in Bideford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bideford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huish Moor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huish Moor

Property: Huish Moor
Address: Huish Moor Huish Lane, Bideford EX39 4LR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Bideford
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Bideford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Huish Moor 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self Catering - The Shippen is an old traditional feeding barn that has been converted to provide a high standard of accommodation whilst retaining its original character. Sleeping 5/7 with full central heating. The ground floor has one twin/double bedroom, one double bedroom, and a further single bedroom. There is a bathroom and separate shower room, both with hand basin and WC. The open-plan upstairs is light and spacious and has high ceilings with exposed timbers and stone walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Huish Moor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huish Moor Bideford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing