We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place for a family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mettaford Farm Holiday Cottages
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Bideford
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic place for a family holiday”
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We've just got back from a week at Mallard Cottage and had a brilliant time. Cottage was very comfortable for the price. Swimming pool was wonderful, with a free sauna. There was a badminton court and mini tennis court outside, and pool (20p a game) and table tennis in the games room. Internet worked well on our laptop in the cottage. The owners were extremely helpful, with tips for good things to do locally. We loved bodyboarding at the beautiful, uncommercialised sandy beaches about 20 mins away towards Bude (Northcott Mouth was our favourite) and also exploring the nearer, very quiet and remote beaches on the Hartland Peninsula - lots of sand, rocks, caves and rock pools, and spectacular coastal scenery. We did the Hartland treasure trail which was a fun way to explore the area. We also went coasteering with Team Players (about an hour away, but so worth the drive). Wish we'd been able to stay a month, as we only scratched the surface of all the things to do in the area. Hartland seems to be the undiscovered corner of Devon, without the commercialisation, heavy traffic and extortionate parking fees that spoil other parts of the county. We would thoroughly recommend a holiday at Mettaford Cottages.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hoodiemum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    5
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
11
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rugby
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Truly relaxing holiday, we stayed in Heron Cottage 2nd to 9th July, 11, and the cottage was more than we had wished for, clean, spacious, beds lovely for a good nights sleep and the private garden was a real bonus.

Steve and Sue are friendly and although they give you privacy you know you can ask them for help and advise if needed excellent hosts.

We would recommend these cottages 100%, a lovely place to return to after a day out

Thanks for a great holiday we will be back.

Connie and Fred Osborn x

Room Tip: The swimming pool although we did not use it would be an added bonus for children, and the grounds a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TessRugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

We are a family of 4 with 2 young children and have just returned from a week staying in 'Curlew' - a 2 bedroom cottage on the farm - and had a fantastic holiday. The cottage was full of character, spacious, spotlessly clean, and very well equipped. The beds were extremely comfortable. The gardens are beautiful and the views are stunning. The indoor heated pool was great for days when it wasn't warm enough to go to one of the nearby beaches and we had fun playing table tennis. The owners were very friendly and there if you needed them. Incredible value for money given we paid more to stay in a grotty chalet at a nearby holiday park last year. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Mettaford Farm Cottages to anyone.

Room Tip: Curlew is a great cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RachelB71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2010

We stayed for a week in a one bedroom cottage which was light, clean, warm and spacious with beatiful views across the countryside. The gardens and grounds are beautifully maintained by the owners with the nearby woodland/river where the mini golf course is situated being perfect for anyone who enjoys nature and wildlife.
The owners were extremely welcoming, informative,approachable and helpful, promptly dealing with any enquiries we had. We appreciated the privacy they gave us we never felt 'overlooked' at any time during our stay, leaving us to explore and relax at our leisure. We simply knocked their door if we needed them.
We look forward to returning again in
May and would recommend Mettaford Farm in terms of location, value and facilities.
The location was perfect for exploring the coast.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blewed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheadle Hulme, cheshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2010

having booked for 3days on arrival the lady of cottages ran inside with her shopping and we never seen her what a great hoast. then we were told by her husband that the key was in the door of the cottage we had booked so off we went and looked around we couldent get the tv to work so i had to fone the man who then said he had forgot to switch it on from his house
he then did . we found these people very unhelpful not once did we see them or get asked if things were ok, on the 3 day we had no heating the calor gas had run out so we went to bed to get warm , the cotttage was very basic cold &damp beds basic & uncomfortable quilts and bedding old and cheap these cottages really need updating. its exspensive for the state of the place we have since found a few miles away a fantastic place in cllovely with all mod cons and a indor pool which is cheaper please dont use these cottages !! stockport

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bpeacock062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2009

I'd left booking really late this year and wanted two cottages grouped for me and my family (kids - 9,12) and my mate and his. None of the usual searches showed this place and I found it by luck - so wanted to write this up in case any one else is looking.

I thought this was a great place if you want to go away as a group of families. I came away really pleased. I'd definitely go again. We may go as a bigger group seeing the layout. There's a pool, sauna, games room - table tennis, pool, darts. The owner's not paying for a cottage company to do his marketing so the places are a good price.

The Hartland sits between Bude and Braunton - each are about half an hour away. Sandymouth turned out to be our favourite beach - it's a great little spot, super waves and quite stunning. A small caution - When the tide comes in you're up on the pebbles so get down there as the tide's out.

Make sure you get down to the Hartland Quay - stunning scenery.

I would definitely return.

Helpful?
4 Thank NickinDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bideford
13.1 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 12 in Bideford
355 reviews
11.3 mi away
Premier Inn Bideford Hotel
Premier Inn Bideford Hotel
#7 of 12 in Bideford
40 reviews
4.4 mi away
New Inn
New Inn
#2 of 2 in Clovelly
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
Durrant House
Durrant House
#8 of 12 in Bideford
683 reviews
4.5 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 2 in Clovelly
520 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hartland Quay Hotel
Hartland Quay Hotel
#6 of 12 in Bideford
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mettaford Farm Holiday Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mettaford Farm Holiday Cottages

Property: Mettaford Farm Holiday Cottages
Address: Hartland, EX39 liberty stile, Bideford EX39 6AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Bideford
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Bideford
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Mettaford Farm Holiday Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mettaford Farm Holiday Cottages Bideford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing