We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“everything provided for a cottage holiday...”
other traveller has booked this property
Private parking & garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private parking & garden
Indoor Heated Swimming Pool Hot tub, 7 seater, inside swimming pool building
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Private parking & garden
Indoor Heated Swimming Pool
Hot tub, 7 seater, inside swimming pool building
Lounge - Leather Sofas, TV, DVD & Playstation 1
Dining Room with seating for 6
Kitchen with Nespresso Machine, Dishwasher, Washing Machine & Utensils
Master bedroom with Super King bed
Bedroom with 2 single beds
Private secured garden
Front aspect
Lounge - Leather Sofas, TV, DVD & Playstation 1
Master bedroom with Super King bed
Master bedroom with Super King bed
Bedroom with 2 single beds
Bedroom with 2 single beds
Bathroom with bath / shower, WC, washbasin & towel rail
Crow Point with our 2 dogs
Lake, with many Golden Orph fish
Crow Point
Garden views
8 mile views from the grounds
Cows pasturing in the 14 acres of land
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bideford, Torridge, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
juliejoy
Essex
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“everything provided for a cottage holiday - excellent”
Reviewed 20 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

It makes a change to book a place that you find very little to dislike about it - we very much enjoyed our stay and would return again.

On arrival we found all rooms clean and well presented with all materials and facilities practically new. We were provided with a welcoming package that included the owners homemade bread and scones, wine, tea, coffee, jam and clotted cream - which of course was swiftly tried and proved yummy. The coffee machine being a nice touch. Also provided were bottles of water in each room and especially appreciated by my better half, was a quality toiletries pack too. The bed is a super king which is huge and comfortable but the bathroom mirror is too high for a shorty.

One small blessing or annoyance (?) was the lack of broadband which although talk-talk was installed it never worked for me - i probably should have mentioned it but its likely it would not have been fixed in our week. The garden was tidy and useful as were the sun loungers which we used (there is also a small BBQ with fuel provided too). A large part of our week was spent cycling the Tarka Trail - it has numerous entry points and a few are within a few miles of the cottage. Ideal for novices. We used the garden to store the bikes but i guess it might be possible to use the shed though the owner should be consulted.

So in summary, the Lodge is highly recommended and its worth noting the owners whose (large) house is further down the drive are very easy to talk to and responsive,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Excellent welcoming package with cream tea; garden outlook
Liked least: Bathroom mirror too high for shorty; Wifi never worked
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2014
Thank you for your review. We are glad you had such a great time - we aim to please! Unlimited WiFi is available. After we read your comment, we checked it and it was a quick fix - we restarted the router.
Hope to see you next year and by then we will have the indoor pool, hot tub, sauna and games room ready for our guests.
Thanks
Anne-Louise and Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PhilEld
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay, highly recommend”
Reviewed 15 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Beautiful spot. Secluded and independent but close enough to amenities, beaches and access to surrounding area to make it convenient.

The lodge is extremely well kept and well appointed. Cosy and characterful but with modern amenities and fittings. Clean and convenient. We wanted for little.

The proprietors, on who's property the lodge is located and who's house is nearby, are extremely friendly and go out of their way to be helpful and make the stay as enjoyable as possible without interfering. The welcome pack is thoughtful and includes not just what you need but what you fancy on arrival - homemade scones, clotted cream, wine and homemade bread amongst other things though I'd expect this is likely to vary over time and form visit to visit.

In fact, thoughtful is a word which well describes the attention which has gone into the accommodation and the experience. I'd highly recommend to all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall quality and privcay
Liked least: Height of the bathroom mirror!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kiddie_tr...
London
1 review
“Fantastic, relaxing stay in beautiful house - High Park Lodge is a real gem”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Amazing 2 week stay in this beautiful lodge. Off to a good start with a generous welcome pack. Enjoyed relaxing in the high spec house with sunny, spacious garden and the hidden treasure lake within the grounds. Owners were super helpful and gave us good tips for local beaches and sights. Our favourites were Saunton Sands, Instow and crabbing at Appledore. Great part of the UK and perfect place to stay to explore the area. We will be back soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Welcome hamper and personal touch
Liked least: Downstairs bathroom
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue C
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely renovated Lodge done to high specifications”
Reviewed 25 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We had a lovely time at the lodge. It is newly refurbished and is very well equipped. Near several family and surfing beaches, a great location. Would definitely recommend for families or couples.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness of lodge, and friendliness of owners - they were very helpful
Liked least: Downstairs toilet
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing