We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful stay! warm and friendly service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riverside Cottage Guesthouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 March 2014

My husband and I stayed there about 2 years ago, but it is only recently I got familiar with TripAdvisor.
We arrived late in the evening, was welcomed by Donna. The room was warm and clean. We even found two generous slices of homemade cake by the bedside table!
The bathroom had underfloor heating which was lovely.
The view from the breakfast view was excellent, it was really relaxing having your morning coffee with the river view.
In addition, Simon and Donna are very kind and helpful.
We went to Bideford for my friend's wedding, Simon kindly offered a lift for us. My husband lost his car key on the way back. Simon actually went along with him in search of his key!
I will recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lYO_OYl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
There are newer reviews for Riverside Cottage Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2013

this IS the cleanest friendliest fantastic food bed and breakfast you will ever find i have stayed in five star hotels and this is on parr with them all and the breakfast is simply the best we stayed in the flat overlooking the river and couldnt have asked to be looked after any better

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Spent a great weekend herein July in the self catering apartment with our dog Charlie. Simon met us at the door and was very friendly and welcoming. As the weather was so gorgeous he told us that we could take the dog to various beaches in the area. The outside space at the cottage was lovely and we sat in the garden on the loungers, overlooking the river in a tranquil setting. Bideford area was great loads of places to visit without having to drive too far and could walk the dog on the Tarka Trail, again very accessible from the property. All amenities in the self catering apartment and loved sitting having breakfast watching the ever changing views and birdlife. Thank you Simon and Donna for a lovely stay and hopefully we will be back next year.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JillCBurtononTrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

After reading the reviews we were really looking forward to staying at the Riverside, Simon and Donna are lovely people but we both sadly left disappointed. We stayed in the Garden / river view room which at £83 seemed good value. Our immediate impression of the room wasn't good, it was small with cheap furniture, none of the furniture matched and the MDF cupboard looked nasty. The TV was tiny, the ceiling light was from a bathroom, it's like this room was an afterthought ~ we were not impressed.

The room only has one window, which is low and looks straight out onto the garden. This window needs net curtain because you are in full view of anyone the garden. For privacy, you have to pull down the blinds and put the light on to simply get changed.

It was a very hot day and with the window open the road noise was horrendous. You are right next on the Main A386 to Bideford with HGV's and Motorcycles screaming past at all hours of the day and night, I had a really bad night sleep.

The bathroom was large and nicely done, apart from the bulbs in the ceiling don't give off enough light.

We were both really looking forward to breakfast, but again were disappointed. The homemade sausages tasted bland and needed seasoning, the homemade bacon was very salty and my eggs were over cooked. The homemade bread again was tasteless and to top it all the butter came in the little cheap sachets.

We both agreed that we wouldn't want to return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pku930r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna H, Owner at Riverside Cottage Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

We are delighted to announce that as a part of our planned 2013/14 maintenance program the Garden room has now been fully upgraded with a co-ordinated suite of modern bedroom furniture and to finish the look, some contemporary new local art.

The road noise is not something we can do anything about as the house is situated directly beside the river Torridge, which does lie beneath the A386. A main road like many - does sleep. Traffic does not “scream past day and night”. Previous guests in this room have never addressed this issue or any others raised in this review. The odd light sleeper might have commented; but not as strongly as this reviewer!

The whole property and the Garden room is not overlooked at all our nearest neighbour is ½ mile away; however, we have installed INTU venetian blinds on the windows for additional privacy without blocking out the light; an improvement actioned from this review.

The TV is digital 21” TV and is not “tiny” at all and is the correct size for the room; too big a TV is totally unnecessary; again possibly a personal preference comment.

Flush ceiling lights are not just for use in bathrooms and are sold for any room; possibly a personal preference comment.

The bathroom lights have been installed by a professional electrician and have been located to provide sufficient light for the entire room; with in-built mirror lights for shaving – again possibly a personal preference comment.

Reviews concerning matters of personal preference i.e. sausages being bland; bacon too salty or fresh baked bread being tasteless are all simply matters we can do nothing about as everyone will have different tastes. The pork is reared on our property and we can only guarantee the quality of the sausage meat not the seasoning as this is blended by the professionals at the abattoir where the sausages are produced; other guests have never had an issue with the taste of any of these products, only that they are outstanding in both taste and quality. An additional note, our eggs are all free-range from our own chickens and as such must and are cooked to strict DEFRA regulations – again very much a personal preference comments.

Improvements in the rest of the house actioned from this review include butter at breakfast now being served in small butter dishes, removing the need for the small packets of butter.

Not mentioned in this review, but as a further improvement we now provide small flasks of fresh milk for all guest rooms; removing the need for the little plastic milk pots.

Whatever your expectation for Riverside Cottage please remember that we are not a hotel we are a family home and B&B. Although many guests have said it is hard to tell at times as we do operate at a very high standard.

We always appreciate constructive ways to improve our business to ensure everyone has an enjoyable stay in our home. Thanks for your review and hope our response is helpful to our future guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We had a fantastic one night stay in Riverside Cottage whilst walking some of the South West Coast Path. Out of the four B&Bs we stayed in en route, this by far and away the best. Simon and Donna are absolutely lovely; friendly, very helpful, great cooks and genuinely keen that you're happy staying there.
We arrived early on a Sunday evening, completely saturated and wearing muddy walking gear - regardless, Simon was incredibly welcoming (and completely unfazed by our state!). We stayed in the smallest room which was very comfortable and well-equipped (e.g. kettle and selection of hot drinks, hairdryer, ipod dock, free wifi).
Breakfast was in a lovely dining room overlooking the river. Despite the torrential rain, the view is panoramic and spectacular. The food is really good too - both cooked options and a range of cereal, fruit, freshly baked bread, juice etc.
Although Riverside Cottage is easier to get to if you drive, it's only 20 mins walk from Bideford town centre (with pavement all the way, although quite narrow at times).
Finally, I've got to put in a mention for the information book in the room - we loved it. Not only does it give basic information about the room, location and good places to eat out, it includes a lovely piece about Donna, Simon and their animals. Very welcoming!
Staying here was a great way to end our holiday in Devon - we'll definitely return if we're in the area again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

I have recently had a delightful stay at Riverside Cottage. On arrival we were met Simon, who promptly showed us to our room. I stayed in the balcony room which over looks the river, which is beautiful in the morning and evening. Fantastic fascilities were available in our room. A kettle with a selectiob of hot drinks were provided and fresh milk on request. The shower was amazing! Our room was cleaned daily and therefore cannot complain about cleanliness.

We were asked to choose a time for our breakfast when we arrived but it seemed you could deviate from this. Breakfast was delicious! Home reared pork sausages and bacon, free range eggs, mushroom and tomatoes. Alongside this was homemade bread and preserves. We also had a choice of fruit, yoghurt and cereals to start with. Tea, coffee and orange juice are all available.

The gardens are well kept and you are able to see first hand where the pigs and chickens are kept. Along with the pigs and chickens Donna and Simon have two spaniels. Both are lovely dogs and are kept within a gated area in the house. Charlie's favourite game is to escape onto the mud flats and it is lovely watching him play, although he shouldn't be there :-)

If you are looking for somewhere reasonably priced, clean and friendly then Riverside will be for you!

Hope you enjoy your stay as much as I did.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraElizabethh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

You are assured of a warm welcome from Donna and Simon when you arrive at this delightful B & B in Bideford. This couple really want you to enjoy your stay. We booked at the last minute and took their courtyard room. While small, this room was beautifully decorated and had plenty of storage space. The large ensuite was very well appointed and boasted a bath with an excellent over bath power shower

The only negative was road noise, which would not have been a problem had we not been there on a very warm night, which required us to open windows. If we return – and I hope we will – we will book the lovely balcony room, which faces the river.

Breakfast was delicious and was served in the beautiful guest lounge/dining room overlooking the gardens and the river.

Room Tip: Ask for the balcony room.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LovetotravelDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bideford
2.7 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 11 in Bideford
395 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bideford
587 reviews
1.8 mi away
Orchard Hill Hotel
Orchard Hill Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bideford
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Yeoldon House Hotel
Yeoldon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northam
510 reviews
2.3 mi away
Durrant House
Durrant House
#8 of 11 in Bideford
736 reviews
8.1 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Cottage Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Cottage Guesthouse

Address: Riverside Cottage New Road, Bideford EX39 5HB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Bideford
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Bideford
Price Range: £66 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riverside Cottage Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Riverside Cottage Guest House Coastal bed and breakfast accommodation in Devon WALK - CYCLE - KAYAK - RELAX Riverside Cottage Guest House sits directly on the bank of the River Torridge estuary in Bideford, North Devon stretching 4 acres in total along the river. The River Torridge plays an important environmental role and is a site of special scientific interest (SSSI); because of the wading birds, wildfowl and other wildlife. Bideford, is a largely unspoilt part of North Devon and attracts thousands of visitors each year who enjoy walking or cycling the South West Coast Path or the Tarka Trail. Kayaks are available free of use for a paddle up the River Torridge. Golden sandy beaches at Instow and Westwood Ho! are perfect for lazy days by the sea. RHS Rosemoor, Clovelly, Arlington Court, Hartland and Lynton and Lynmouth make ideal days out. Riverside Cottage Guest house is the perfect base for a holiday and is ideally located for accessibility to the rest of Devon or North Cornwall coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riverside Cottage Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Cottage Guesthouse Bideford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing