We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WOW Great new menu” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Thatched Inn

The Thatched Inn
Ranked #9 of 132 Restaurants in Bideford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Business meetings, Groups, Cheap Eats, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bideford
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“WOW Great new menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

I have just eaten lunch in a great little pub in North Devon and it was an amazing dish. It was off their new menu and was SLOW ROASTED BELLY PORK with deep fried kale, beetroot & butternut squash puree & mashed potato with clotted cream & spring onion. Not only was the presentation amazing but it also tasted better than it looked, the crackling was to die for. I couldn't believe the quality & standard AMAZING.
The pub had also transformed itself for halloween - I never been to a pub like it - just totally amazing all around. THANK YOU.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JulsBideford50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    124
    45
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Braunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Very good, but limited by refurbishment”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Slightly disappointed this time having had excellent past experience of service and food. A table was booked (always advisable) but we were not advised of any refurbishment taking place although we were asked to have our meal at a slightly later time than requested, which would have at least prepared us. On arrival, the small car park was full of builders' vans. Inside, it was really well decorated for Halloween as it was end Oct. but it was not very busy with customers, as is usually the case. We were welcomed warmly, had drinks in the very traditional bar then were taken to the restaurant area. On this occasion, I'd say 3 of the 4 meals ordered were not of their usual standard and their was confusion over the order. By 2pm, audible drilling started so we quickly returned to the bar for our coffee, probably shortening our visit. We will ask when we return if the building work is complete as on this occasion it slightly spoilt our visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DebbiefromDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
643 reviews
324 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
“Terrific Country Pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013 via mobile

As we were staying in the village of Abbotsham to celebrate a family occassion I was so pleased when I found the details of this country pub on Trip Adviser.
On the 1st night of our stay at our booked cottage we all thought we would give the pub a try.
Wow what a lovely village pub. We got there early on the Friday evening with our little dog and were pleased to see all the good reviews looked to be true. It was welcoming & cozy and filled up quickly with locals & regulars.
Food was produced quickly & all 4 of us were happy with our food(special mention for the chips-excellent )
On the whole excellent typical English pub.
Very happy to recommend & would visit again if were in the area again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank places2seeplaces2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northam, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Went here with friends and was'nt disappointed. The meal was very tasty and we all enjoyed our what we had. The staff were friendly. It was a bit of a pain to park but you can't have everything. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Traditional”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

There are sadly to few real old fashioned pubs left in the country but this is certainly one of them. The welcome is warm . the staff friendly and helpful. The food is certainly excellent and the portions generous. Very close to Atlantic Village shopping centre and a visit to the pub prior to a visit to the shops certainly fortifies one

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Thatched Inn also viewed

 
Westward Ho, Bideford
 

Been to The Thatched Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing