We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely”
Review of The Thatched Inn

The Thatched Inn
Ranked #9 of 136 Restaurants in Bideford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“lovely”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

great all round service had minor issue with order but soon sorted with polite staff, all round very happy

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    134
    48
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
164 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Enormous portions!”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We were staying locally for a week and tried out the food in a big party for dinner. It is a perfect place to dine with family and children on holiday. We didn't have starters but all of the main meals were lovely and came in such big portions that we all struggled to finish. My pulled pork dish was gorgeous. Service was good and we would definitely visit again if we are in the area.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank CalChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Much improved Thatched Inn”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The newly completed extension has added more seating and some extra rooms to dine. There is a private function room and areas where you can have a privacy. The staff have always been excellent and the menu includes everything you could wish for, home made pies have always been my favourite choice. One of the best places to dine in the area.
Mr Kingsley Fairley

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kingsleyjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Service was excellent and so very thoughtful”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I just wanted to thank the staff who made my grandfather feel so welcome during a lunch last Sunday 25th May. Even though they had just sat a big table down before we arrived meaning a potential 45 minute wait for food, the waitress and chef kindly arranged for my grandfather to be served first and even brought him a big mug of tea to keep him going.
Nothing was too much trouble for them and it was really appreciated.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gent74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great pub grub - definitely worth a visit”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

4 of us went here for lunch and had a fantastic meal. The Devon burger, pulled pork sandwich and chicks and leek pie were all great - good size portions, very tasty, great chips - and the service was excellent.

All in all this is a lovely pub with a very nice atmosphere. The menu is excellent and good value. Definitely worth a visit. Child friendly too for those with little ones.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsP2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Thatched Inn also viewed

 
Westward Ho, Bideford
 

Been to The Thatched Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing