We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food, lovely staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Thatched Inn

The Thatched Inn
Ranked #9 of 132 Restaurants in Bideford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Somerset
Level Contributor
112 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely food, lovely staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

As the only pub/restaurant in Abbotsham, the Thatched Inn could easily take advantage of the captive clientele with average standards. However, this is a lovely place, lovely decor, pleasant staff and good quality food. Recommend

Helpful?
Thank SomersetRickyDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    124
    45
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best roast dinner I have eaten out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014

Arrived here last Sunday travelling back from Cornwall and did not make a booking. We are a family of 5 (2 adults and 3 young children) we were advised that we would have to eat at the bar which was fine.

Roast dinner started at midday and we were all given tickets each to take to chef when serving food. We were called up individually and served our meat and could help our selves to veg. Excellent home cooked food and especially like the carbonara cabbage and bacon!!

Lovely staff and people there made us feel very welcome. Will definately be back next year!!!

thanks again!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hulk83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ancient Kingdom of Wessex
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A great birthday meal.......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Booked a table for a birthday meal for my partners daughter and her two girls. First class service, my partner's 15 year old grand daughter was very taken with the waiters!

Excellent choice on the reasonably priced menu, my partner and I were so full we couldn't manage a dessert....which is very unusual for us!

The refurbishment is also very tasteful.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GrumpyOldDevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Pub and Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Visited this pub while on Holiday in the area, saw the sign and decided to try it. Very friendly and busy with good atmosphere and a good variety of beers and ales. Ate in the bar as the restaurant was fully booked and was told meal might be 45 minutes because they had several big parties that had just ordered but it arrived in 30.

Service very good from young pleasnat staff and food simple but very good quality and quantity.

Would recommend the burger, lasagne or Steak and Ale Pie.

Enjoyed it so much we re-planned our activities for the week to be able to go back later in the week!
Good value with two adult and one child meal, a pint , glass of wine and a soft drink around £33

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Family friendly pub with delicious food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Discovered this place almost by accident. Seems like it's been recently refurbished. Lovely beer garden and the restaurant area is wonderful. Food was delicious and reasonably priced, don't go there if on a budget though. Service was okay, young staff but friendly and efficient. Had to wait a while for food but it was freshly prepared so worth it. Highly recommended.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Omar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Thatched Inn also viewed

 
Westward Ho, Bideford
 

Been to The Thatched Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing