We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Durrant House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Durrant House
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Bideford
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Just spent a night at the Durrant House Hotel and it was absolutely fantastic. Right from the friendly helpful reception to the barmaid they were co operating and friendly. The room we stayed in was one with a jacuzzi bath and it was excellent and very clean. The restaurant was also very clean and large and the food was probably some of the best i have tasted. We will definitely be back for another stay. Thanks to Charli on the reception

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jimmy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (743)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

409 - 415 of 743 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014

Good hotel, good staff, good comfortable room, very good food at a very good price. Highly recommend this hotel that's well situated (20 minute walk into Bideford town and the Tarka Trail). Recommend the coast path walk to Appledore, Northam and Westard Ho!

Room Tip: Quiet rooms at the rear of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LUMINET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Just had a wonderful weekend at The Durrant House Hotel,it was excellent value for money from start to finish.The hotel feels very welcoming as soon as you walk in, the staff are polite and efficient, our room was well presented, the food was very good and always hot.We had a most enjoyable weekend and would definitely use the hotel again and would strongly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Oh dear, very disappointing. We eat out as a family quite a bit at weekends so our little boy is pretty well behaved and used to dinning out. However, he managed to get hold of the pepper and spilt a little on the table, we both felt the manager over-reacted a little and the incident made the remainder if the meal a bit uncomfortable. We had to ask 3 times for a straw for his drink and at£6.50 it was also expensive for a child's meal as it didn't include a drink or dessert. From an adult dinning experience, it wasn't too bad. Not great quality, but fair for the price. We won't be going back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Just arrived home after a fantastic four night stay at the durrant house hotel bideford.
How some people can give this hotel bad reviews we will never know.
The staff-food-& cleanliness was second to none.
We have never been to a hotel with staff as helpful as these especially tim (the restaurant manager) his professionalism was excellent as was his staff.
Especially with our 3 yr old granddaughter caitlin.
And a big thankyou to charlotte in the bar caitlins new best friend.
We will certainly return a.s.a.p.
Keep up the good work.
With manythanks
Elayne Denis and Caitlin Greenhough

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank green7063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

No frills from either the price of the food, but it does what it says on the tin. Good service, and fantastic value for money. £7.50 for meal and free dessert in brilliant! Great for larger occasions too.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jasonh78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I don't care what class of hotel you book into the one thing you do expect is for your room to be clean. Efficient friendly check in but once we got to our room it was clear our bathroom had not been properly cleaned and then we found an old dirty sock on the bedroom floor.!!!!! On reporting this the head of housekeeping came to the room and was very apologetic and offered to clean the bathroom but by then the confidence in the hotel had gone.
The rest of stay was OK apart from the oldest and most uncomfortable mattress I've ever tried to sleep on and we certainly won't be returning. On check out no mention or additional apology was made and no offer of any compensation.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lord_Brett_Sinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DHhotel, Manager at Durrant House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for our hotel. We would like to let you know that your comments are very valuable to us since they will help us improve our quality and services at The Durrant House Hotel.
We aim to ensure that our rooms are of an exceptionally high standard and am disappointed that this may not have been achieved in this instance however if we receive any reports of an issue in a room we will always to our utmost to ensure we rectify problems immediately and am pleased to read that our head housekeeper followed this procedure, offered to resolve the issue and apologized.
At The Durrant House Hotel we value all our guests and customer feedback as this does help us to improve our service and standards of quality and we thank you for your review. We do hope that you will decide to visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bideford
0.3 mi away
Yeoldon House Hotel
Yeoldon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northam
512 reviews
5.7 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 11 in Bideford
412 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bideford
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Orchard Hill Hotel
Orchard Hill Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bideford
215 reviews
5.9 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,800 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durrant House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durrant House

Address: Heywood Road | Northam, Bideford EX39 3QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Bideford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Bideford
Price Range: £74 - £306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Durrant House 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Durrant House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durrant House Hotel Bideford
Durrant House Bideford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing