We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“staff we shocking manager/ owner very rude” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Durrant House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Durrant House
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Bideford
Torquay, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“staff we shocking manager/ owner very rude”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

absolute terrible experience.
spoke to what i was told was the owner and she was incredible rude to me
staff were struggling. seems like the new staff had no training.
our table clothes had stains all over them.
our room stank of damp and we found mold in the bathroom

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank 123cheekycharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    199
    133
    69
    78
See reviews for
98
303
28
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We have just returned from a brilliant Rock 'n' Roll Weekend at the Durrant House Hotel. Staff are always very helpful, friendly and efficient. This was our fifth visit for a RnR weekend and we have booked to return again in October and next May. We thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter as the hotel has a busy road at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardsmBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We have just returned from another brilliant R & R weekend at this lovely hotel.
Good Food, lovely views from most of the bedrooms and a very warm welcome from the staff.
This weekend is organised by Roger and Chris Ford and the very charismatic Dancing Dave Wall.
Its a fabulous weekend and the organisers cannot do enough to please.
Buses go to Appledore, and Westward Ho from right outside of the hotel also Barnstaple for shopping and sight seeing, there are also lovely walks along the coastal path.
We have already booked to go again next May.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel overlook the estuary and the coastal path with magnificent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tammy697375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

My husband and I have just returned from Durrant house hotel from a coach trip. From the out side the building looked very nice, as you made your way to the reception it looks nice and clean. As soon as we was given our key card to our room things went down hill the room smelt of damp. With more inspection there was what looked like tooth paste on the tap which was there the whole time we as there, that night when we went to bed we found orange marks on the sheet and on the inside of the bedspread if that was not enough the bath was rusty, curtain by bed tired back with string If you are on a coach holiday you eat in the down stairs restaurant. The table clothes were not clean it took them four days to change it. On the window sell by our table there was a dead fly which also was not taken away until the Wednesday. It might seem we are being harsh but we have been on many coach holidays and this is one of the worst we have stayed in for cleanliness.

Room Tip: ask for different room if you get 215
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pauline r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DHhotel, Manager at Durrant House, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for The Durrant House Hotel. I would like to let you know your comments are very valuable to us since they will help us improve our quality and services at the hotel.
We aim to ensure that the hotel provides an extremely high standard of cleanliness throughout and are disappointed that you feel that this was not achieved in this instance. At the hotel we pride ourselves on a high level of customer service and always ask for guests to let us know if they are at all unsatisfied with any aspect of their stay as we will always do our utmost to rectify any problems bought to our attention.
I would like to again thank you for your feedback and do hope that you will decide to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bideford hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Neath Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We booked this through a budget holiday company as a self-drive option and had three nights' bed, breakfast and evening meal for an amazingly low price. Our room was very spacious, clean and comfortable and although the dining arrangements were a little regimental in terms of timing and service, the food was of a good standard and choice. The waitresses/waiters were very efficient, drinks prices reasonable and overall the stay was super value for money. Great base for exploring Devon. We may well re-book this trip next year.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DHhotel, Manager at Durrant House, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Loyal Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review for the Durrant House Hotel. It is fantastic to read such lovely comments regarding our rooms, service and food. Your feedback is very much appreciated.
We hope that we will be welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Couldn't fault this hotel really. Might not be up your street if you are looking for perfection but great if you like a little quirkiness. Great staff and fabulous food (for the price paid) the service was faultless from all departments. The dining room manager obviously went to the Basil Faulty school of charm but his exacting standards pay off via the obviously well trained staff. Nothing was too much trouble for any member of staff in all departments. Order the Kippers for breakfast!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nikkilang405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DHhotel, Manager at Durrant House, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Loyal Guest,

Thank you for your comments, it is always a pleasure to read such a lovely reviews as yours, we thoroughly appreciate the time you have taken to leave your feedback.
We always aim to provide a very high standard of service and excellent quality food so I am pleased that you enjoyed the food and were well looked after by our staff during your stay and will ensure your positive comments are passed on to all the team.
We look forward to seeing you again soon at The Durrant House Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

This was a last minute booking as I needed to stay an extra night in Bideford. I checked in at 9.00 pm and was greeted by very friendly and efficient reception staff.
My room was dated but clean large and very comfortable, I was accompanied by my Cocker Spaniel and I believe certain rooms are saved for guests with dogs.
I did not have dinner although the menu looked good. Breakfast was excellent and served with the same efficiency as I found with the reception staff.
All in all a very pleasant experience and excellent value.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marty686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DHhotel, Manager at Durrant House, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Loyal Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for your recent stay with us at The Durrant House Hotel. We always aim to promote high standard of welcome and efficiency from all our staff and am so pleased that this was achieved. It is also great to read such lovely comments praising our accommodation and breakfast
We hope to welcome you back to The Durrant House Hotel very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bideford hotels
5.6 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 12 in Bideford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Bideford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Bideford Hotel
Premier Inn Bideford Hotel
#7 of 12 in Bideford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Yeoldon House Hotel
Yeoldon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.5 mi away
Orchard Hill Hotel
Orchard Hill Hotel
#3 of 12 in Bideford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
13.6 mi away
Hartland Quay Hotel
Hartland Quay Hotel
#6 of 12 in Bideford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durrant House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durrant House

Property: Durrant House
Address: Heywood Road | Northam, Bideford EX39 3QB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Bideford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Bideford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Durrant House 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Odigeo, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Durrant House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durrant House Hotel Bideford
Durrant House Bideford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing