We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Ideal Break”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bideford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hartland House Spa and Cottages
Reviewed 3 October 2012

I cannot go into enough detail about how incredible this place is. I stayed for a week, in a place so remote that a short walk was needed just to get phone signal, let alone internet. It made me realise how dependent I am on all those things which didn't even exist a few years ago, and how much they raise my stress levels. In the ideal surroundings of Hartland, in a bespoke cottage for two, everything about this location is set up for an enjoyable visit. I may sound like I'm exaggerating, but such was the accumulated experience, it's hard to write a review and just focus on the little details, as there was so much positivity that I couldn't even put into words. The food was incredible, the services fantastic, Mel (who was running the place) was a fantastic person, I couldn't have hoped for more.

Looking forward to a return visit as soon as possible!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ma0sm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
There are newer reviews for Hartland House Spa and Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 45 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2012

If you need to unwind then this is the place for you; the location is stunning and the facilities and staff are brilliant. I am now a regular visitor to the spa to get a massage with one of the excellent therapists. A real asset for Hartland and the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trustmyreview999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

My friend an I booked a spa morning at this fabulous spa while we were staying in North Devon with our families. They are right on the website, the journey is somewhat rural and satnav is a must but it was worth it. Hartland Spa is absolutely stunning in its surroundings, Melissa and Claire were wonderfully attentive and the spa is a pure sanctuary, a perfect girls or couples retreat. We are booking a girlie weekend soon! I would definitely recommend Hartland House spa.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Took my partner for his birthday and although they advertise this as an afternoon package we actually had ours booked as a morning package which was perfect for us . We both had a fantastic time, the location is wonderful as is the service and the facilities. We made good use of all the facilities and were lucky enough to have a dry day so enjoyed our lunch out on the terrace. The treatments we booked as part of our package were wonderful. I had the luxury facial and my partner the Swedish massage both fantastic, it is such a relaxing atmosphere and although there were other guests we barely saw them so it felt very private. We left feeling very chilled and would defiantly book again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Clare F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

My friend and I recently spent a brilliant half day at this fab venue. The staff were exceptional with amazing attention to detail. Claire the beautician was superb, so professional! We will be back, I would love to think on a regular basis!! I fully recommend Hartland House Spa. Thank you everyone there.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Livvy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Have just returned from my daughter's hen weekend at Hartland House Retreat. The accommodation is excellent, the cottages are clean, well equipped and furnished. The spa is good and treatments done very professionally. Nothing is too much trouble when organising for the whims of a large party. Hopefully will return soon.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank lizziecard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bideford
0.7 mi away
The Seagate Hotel
The Seagate Hotel
#1 of 4 in Appledore
392 reviews
1.3 mi away
Yeoldon House Hotel
Yeoldon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northam
510 reviews
1.6 mi away
Instow Barton
Instow Barton
#2 of 3 in Instow
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Westbeach Resort
Westbeach Resort
#4 of 9 in Westward Ho
102 reviews
1.3 mi away
Durrant House
Durrant House
#8 of 11 in Bideford
736 reviews
0.6 mi away
West Country Inn
West Country Inn
#31 of 36 in Bideford
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hartland House Spa and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartland House Spa and Cottages

Address: Long Furlong, Bideford EX39 6AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Bideford
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Bideford
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hartland House Spa and Cottages is a 5* complex of self catering holiday cottages near the coast. We offer accommodation, Spa pamper days and individual spa treatments ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hartland House Spa And Cottages Bideford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing