We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxed break”
Review of Hoops Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hoops Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Bideford
Certificate of Excellence
Saltash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Relaxed break”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Booked 2 nights for myself and husband at The Hoops Inn. From the moment we entered we were met with friendly and helpful staff. We Made our way up to our room, we had booked a Standard room, and was very pleased with it. The only thing was that the heated towel rail in the bathroom was not working, and as it was a chilly day we felt that we needed some heat in the bathroom. We reported the problem to reception, and they sent someone up immediately. They apologised and explained that some of the rooms were going through a refurbishment and that the rail was in the midsts of being refurbished. He brought with him a fan heater for us to use which done the trick. We had arrived on the Friday and was informed that there was a quiz on that night, and invited to join a regular team if we wanted to, which we did, and our team won!!!! We ate both nights at the hotel, and was very impressed with the food and service, as we were at breakfast. Also my husband is a real ale drinker and was very satisfied with the selection on offer. The one thing that stood out over all was how friendly and welcoming the staff were. We would definitely return, and was planning our return date on our way home.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    114
    28
    9
    2
See reviews for
72
224
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loxwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

The staff are without doubt the jewel in the crown of this hotel - friendly with excellent customer service, but without being too familiar. With two small dogs we stayed in a standard room. Although rather dark and dated with a small en suite and enormous bed, it was adequate for a short stay. The food was excellent and served by staff who really cared for their customers - we enjoyed breakfast, dinner AND a Devon Cream Tea!. Beth & Maisie (the two Yorkies) were made particularly welcome joining us in the bar for dinner each evening. The hotel is in need of a bit of TLC but has great character and the new owners are tackling the redecoration.

Room Tip: The standard rooms (the only rooms available with dogs) do vary so choose carefully. We had 14 whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Well presented old inn with very friendly and helpful staff. The food was fantastic and at a reasonable price. Though the room was a bit dated it still had a lot of charm that fitted in well with the rest of the Inn. Thank you for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Just back from a single night stay at 'The Hoops'. Perfect break in every way, all the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The food on offer in the restaurant from the winter menu was brilliant, a great choice which arrived quickly and hot once our orders were taken.The bar area is very relaxing and easy going, had an enjoyable afternoon sampling the Tribute ale whilst watching the world pass by outside We stopped in room 2 the Mallow Suite which was both comfy and very well kept. All in all a very enjoyable stop which we will be doing again. The only small niggle (if you can call it one !!) is no mobile phone signal within the hotel which meant the kids couldn't wish mum & dad goodnight !!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chapps2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We decided to go for a weekend at Hoops Inn after seeing a very good deal on Groupon. On arrival the staff were very friendly and welcoming. We stayed in a standard double room with en-suite, which was finished to a really good standard with traditional features. The breakfast was very good quality both mornings.
We also eat at the restaurant in the evening and the food was very good and reasonalbly priced with a good selection.
All in all a very good stay, great location for exploring North Devon!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wareham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We arrived fairly late in the evening without a booking. We were welcomed in.
We wanted something light. I had soup which was delicious and HOT, and delivered with a smile. It makes such a difference when one is cold and tired.
My husband didn't want any of the evening menu but fancied a ploughman's from the lunch menu. It was produced, again with a smile, it was beautifully prepared with a good variety of both salad, cheese and ham.
The place appeared clean throughout.
I would strongly recommend this Inn.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 70something
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Outstanding hospitality, food and service. Our visit to 'The Hoops' was to celebrate my sisters 40th birthday, the staff were so helpful, nothing was a problem for them and the quality of food and service couldn't be faulted. See you again soon. Thanks.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DEG320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bideford
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Bideford Hotel
Premier Inn Bideford Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bideford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
8.6 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 2 in Clovelly
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yeoldon House Hotel
Yeoldon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bideford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
0.4 mi away
Durrant House
Durrant House
#8 of 11 in Bideford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
8.7 mi away
New Inn
New Inn
#2 of 2 in Clovelly
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoops Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoops Inn

Property: Hoops Inn
Address: Horns Cross | near Clovelly, Bideford EX39 5DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Bideford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Bideford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hoops Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hoops Inn and Country Hotel is proud of its extensive range of high quality food provided. The menu is varied to accommodate seasonal specialties and is freshly prepared in our own kitchens using the best of garden and local produce. Guests can choose to dine in the candlelit restaurant, in the relaxed bars or, on balmy summer days, outdoors on the covered courtyard. There are a vast array of activities on The Hoops doorstep which can be enjoyed throughout the year such as golf, fishing, sailing, hiking, surfing and biking. In addition to the many historic houses, beautiful gardens and quaint coves and villages, The Hoops Inn has more than 8 acres of landscaped grounds for your enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hoops Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoops Hotel Bideford
Hoops Inn Bideford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing