We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing and enjoyable night away” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hoops Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hoops Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Bideford
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxing and enjoyable night away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Warmly welcomed by all the staff at this lovely country inn; our room was cosy and stylish and furnished to a very high standard with walk in shower and heated towel rail and even bath robes.
A tasty bar meal was washed down with real ales in the company of locals who also use it as a great place to eat out. Four poster bed with a modern comfortable mattress, good choice of hearty breakfasts to crown the stay.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Angus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    111
    25
    8
    2
See reviews for
69
215
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

My wife and I have just spent two nights at the hoops inn ,the staff were very friendly and helpful ,our room no4 was large lovely bed and nice en-suite .
We had dinner in the restaurant both nights as it was so good , breakfast was good too
I would recommend anyone looking for a quiet cosy few days away you couldn't go wrong staying here
It was lovely to have an open fire in the restaurant top marks to the chef too

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

We have just returned from a short break staying at Hoops Inn near Bideford with our dog. It was a brilliant weekend, everyting about the hotel was excellent, food was to high standard, plenty of choices for breakfast and evening meals.
Our dog was made welcome, and we could order sausages for her when we ordered our evening, meal - she was very impressed. Will certainly visit again

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ebonytreasure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Booked 2 nights for myself and husband at The Hoops Inn. From the moment we entered we were met with friendly and helpful staff. We Made our way up to our room, we had booked a Standard room, and was very pleased with it. The only thing was that the heated towel rail in the bathroom was not working, and as it was a chilly day we felt that we needed some heat in the bathroom. We reported the problem to reception, and they sent someone up immediately. They apologised and explained that some of the rooms were going through a refurbishment and that the rail was in the midsts of being refurbished. He brought with him a fan heater for us to use which done the trick. We had arrived on the Friday and was informed that there was a quiz on that night, and invited to join a regular team if we wanted to, which we did, and our team won!!!! We ate both nights at the hotel, and was very impressed with the food and service, as we were at breakfast. Also my husband is a real ale drinker and was very satisfied with the selection on offer. The one thing that stood out over all was how friendly and welcoming the staff were. We would definitely return, and was planning our return date on our way home.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loxwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

The staff are without doubt the jewel in the crown of this hotel - friendly with excellent customer service, but without being too familiar. With two small dogs we stayed in a standard room. Although rather dark and dated with a small en suite and enormous bed, it was adequate for a short stay. The food was excellent and served by staff who really cared for their customers - we enjoyed breakfast, dinner AND a Devon Cream Tea!. Beth & Maisie (the two Yorkies) were made particularly welcome joining us in the bar for dinner each evening. The hotel is in need of a bit of TLC but has great character and the new owners are tackling the redecoration.

Room Tip: The standard rooms (the only rooms available with dogs) do vary so choose carefully. We had 14 whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Well presented old inn with very friendly and helpful staff. The food was fantastic and at a reasonable price. Though the room was a bit dated it still had a lot of charm that fitted in well with the rest of the Inn. Thank you for a memorable stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

Just back from a single night stay at 'The Hoops'. Perfect break in every way, all the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The food on offer in the restaurant from the winter menu was brilliant, a great choice which arrived quickly and hot once our orders were taken.The bar area is very relaxing and easy going, had an enjoyable afternoon sampling the Tribute ale whilst watching the world pass by outside We stopped in room 2 the Mallow Suite which was both comfy and very well kept. All in all a very enjoyable stop which we will be doing again. The only small niggle (if you can call it one !!) is no mobile phone signal within the hotel which meant the kids couldn't wish mum & dad goodnight !!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chapps2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bideford
3.7 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 2 in Clovelly
4.0 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Bideford Hotel
Premier Inn Bideford Hotel
#7 of 12 in Bideford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
5.8 mi away
Yeoldon House Hotel
Yeoldon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 12 in Bideford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
8.8 mi away
Hartland Quay Hotel
Hartland Quay Hotel
#6 of 12 in Bideford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
5.6 mi away
Durrant House
Durrant House
#8 of 12 in Bideford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoops Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoops Inn

Property: Hoops Inn
Address: Horns Cross | near Clovelly, Bideford EX39 5DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Bideford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Bideford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hoops Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hoops Inn and Country Hotel is proud of its extensive range of high quality food provided. The menu is varied to accommodate seasonal specialties and is freshly prepared in our own kitchens using the best of garden and local produce. Guests can choose to dine in the candlelit restaurant, in the relaxed bars or, on balmy summer days, outdoors on the covered courtyard. There are a vast array of activities on The Hoops doorstep which can be enjoyed throughout the year such as golf, fishing, sailing, hiking, surfing and biking. In addition to the many historic houses, beautiful gardens and quaint coves and villages, The Hoops Inn has more than 8 acres of landscaped grounds for your enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hoops Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoops Hotel Bideford
Hoops Inn Bideford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing