We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picture-book thatched roof inn, near Clovelly”
Review of Hoops Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hoops Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Bideford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014

First of all thank you to Tripadvisor and the encouraging excellent reviews, otherwise we may not have experienced this lovingly cared for Grade 2 historical registry-listed Heritage hotel for ourselves.
We had the pleasure of staying a few days ago and celebrated our Wedding Anniversary in the very special and delightfully luxurious Mallow Suite, Room 2.
The Inn is charming, full of character, welcoming and the mature colorful and green surrounding gardens are very pretty to see.
Management and their staff are very friendly, very hospitable and genuinely want guests and patrons to have the best experience and stay that they can make possible. It is a genuine Devon warm welcome. I felt instantly at home on entering the hotel, bar and our suite which i must wholeheartedly recommend as it is superb and we even saw a beautiful flying barn owl from the window. The suite has a gorgeously comfortable four poster bed in a room big enough for a comfy sofa and a wonderful open fireplace. Leading from the bedroom up a couple of stairs is a dressing area and into a luxury bathroom with large shower and double Jacuzzi bath, say no more! Coffee,tea making, hot chocolate, lovely biscuits, bathrobes and fluffy towels all added to our very happy experience.
The suite is positioned at the front of the Inn and we did experience some weekday traffic noise but i am a fresh air freak so our windows were open, however the weekend is very quiet.
We ate a fantastic, locally sourced cooked breakfast, one of our best cooked breakfasts so beautifully cooked and great choice from vegetarian, continental to full English, just great.
We ate dinner here every night of our stay in a little area called the Snug situated in the bar, just perfect for two, four at a push. If you are seeking the authentic flavour of the west Country then this Inn will not disappoint, we thoroughly enjoyed our dining and drinking experience. We can recommend the local beers and wines and the interesting menus. Hope you enjoy your stay

Room Tip: Rooms quieter at back of hotel but don,t let possible traffic noise put you off the front rooms espe...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (395)
There are newer reviews for Hoops Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 395 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

We stopped off here about 8.30pm one evening while traveling back to our holiday home.
The Inn was nearly full, but the kind waitress found us a table.
We enjoyed a nice evening meal.
We will visit again if in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JCK80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

For the past 10 years my husband and I have been escaping to The Hoops. When life becomes a bit chaotic we pack our bags and head off for a couple of nights knowing there is a calm restful environment awaiting. Drop the bags in the room and back downstairs for a bite to eat and a few beers in the snug. The staff are ever so friendly and helpful. Thanks to Karen and the rest of the team for yet another fabulous weekend and cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: The snug bar is a great place to sit with a book or board game and don't forget The Hoops is als...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank raindios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We live in North Cornwall and had Family visiting us. So, we thought we would all meet up for a Sunday roast at the Hoops Inn. Lovely food. Lovely weather and great company. Also our dog enjoyed it too. Friendly staff as always. Kudos to the chef/s

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank footiechick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We passed this Hotel on the Road and noticed the "Cream Tea" sign so stopped and turned in. The hotel looks a little old fashioned but this is part of it's charm. The service was excellent, friendly and speedy. We sat in the garden with our dog for our Cream Tea. A wonderful place to relax.

The price was very low at £7.50 for two. In fact too low. One scone was hard in the middle (microwaved?). Bigger scones and more cream and more jam would also have helped. Earl Grey Tea is always better in leaf rather than in a Tea Bag.

That said, the Cream Tea was excellent value for money. The management may want to consider that we would have been happy to pay more if the quality was just that little bit better.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Edwin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We couldn't fault staying here!

Excellent with good room, restaurant, super food (take the inclusive breakfast package!!), relaxing ambience.....everything ticked all the boxes for us!!
Visit Clovelly but you need to be reasonably fit to walk back up through the village! (there is a Land Rover service available for those that need an alternative)

Room Tip: treat yourselves - Room 5 - with the 4 Poster!!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank discerning-couple61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I booked a 3 night stay at The Hoops for my husbands 50th Birthday. We had visited the Hoops some years ago and always been impressed, but this was even better! The Hoops has an excellent food reputation and we did all we could to sample as much on offer as possible over the 3 days. Each meal was a culinary experience, the variety of menu options and the quality of the food is outstanding. Add to this an amazingly friendly team, it was a perfect break. Nothing was too much trouble for Karen or her team, and I have to also single out the amazing lady from Kent (here is where wine my age tells as I can't remember if this was Cathy or Katy!) for helping us to celebrate my husbands birthday on the Saturday night.

As this was a special occasion I had booked Room 2 (Marlow Suite), which is a very special room. The Hoops is a great base for many places, we fitted in Clovelly, Bideford, RHS Rosemoor, dodging the rain at the Atlantic Shopping Village.

We would have no hesitation in returning to the Hoops again, a brilliant venue, fantastic food, amazing team, and a lovely atmosphere in the bar which we settled into each evening.

Room Tip: It you want a quiet room, ask for one towards the back of the hotel. The Marlow Suite is at the fro...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bideford
0.5 mi away
Yeoldon House Hotel
Yeoldon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northam
510 reviews
0.4 mi away
Durrant House
Durrant House
#8 of 11 in Bideford
736 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bideford
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Orchard Hill Hotel
Orchard Hill Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bideford
210 reviews
14.4 mi away
Hartland Quay Hotel
Hartland Quay Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bideford
364 reviews
5.4 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoops Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoops Inn

Address: Horns Cross | near Clovelly, Bideford EX39 5DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Bideford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Bideford
Price Range: £72 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hoops Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hoops Inn and Country Hotel is proud of its extensive range of high quality food provided. The menu is varied to accommodate seasonal specialties and is freshly prepared in our own kitchens using the best of garden and local produce. Guests can choose to dine in the candlelit restaurant, in the relaxed bars or, on balmy summer days, outdoors on the covered courtyard. There are a vast array of activities on The Hoops doorstep which can be enjoyed throughout the year such as golf, fishing, sailing, hiking, surfing and biking. In addition to the many historic houses, beautiful gardens and quaint coves and villages, The Hoops Inn has more than 8 acres of landscaped grounds for your enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hoops Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoops Hotel Bideford
Hoops Inn Bideford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing