We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to spend a night”
Review of Hoops Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hoops Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Bideford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2014

My wife,myself and our dog spent one night at the Hoops on a recent visit to North Devon,our standard room was very comfortable and had everything we needed.The room was clean and the bed very comfortable, both our evening meal and breakfast were excellent.Every member of staff we met were friendly and eager to help,we will definately be returning next time we are in the area

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (428)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 428 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

The food was great, both in the restaurant and in the bar. The bed was comfortable, so much so that - unlike my usual problem - I slept like a log from the very first night! The service was excellent - friendly and making us feel that they really enjoyed having our custom. At first I thought it was slow, then realised that everything is cooked fresh to order, not sat in the freezer and microwaved. I cannot recommend the hotel too highly (I only hope that there will still be accommodation next time we go to the area and that the reviews don't result in it being full up, as it deserves to be!)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Mum and I dropped in for lunch whilst driving up the Atlantic highway from Bude and found this little gem. Beautiful gardens and amazing food and hospitality - would recommend their Hoops Club Sandwich (enough to share) with side order of Chips (trust me you won't regret it) - intend to visit again before the end if our holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mistymus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My daughter and myself had a wonderful lunch, menu was excellent, covered a lot of choices. We shared the Hoops Club Sandwich, it was huge, on homemade bread too. Chips to die for, plus a cream tea. The staff were really friendly and chatty. Excellent all round. If you haven't been , make your way there. Can't recommend it enough.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carol b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We arrived on Friday evening and were greeted by the lovely Karen, who could not have been more helpful. She booked us into the restaurant and we went up to our room. I have been lucky and spent many years travelling for work and have stayed in some amazing hotels but walked into room 2 and it was definately a wow moment! The room is charming. Absolutely perfect for a weekend get away. I run my own business and needed a break and time to chill and this was the perfect place to do that. The beautiful four poster bed was so comfortable, we had a beautiful fireplace with a sofa next to it. There was then a couple of stairs that go up to the dressing area with cupboards and dressing table. All lovely furniture. Of that was the bathroom which was stunning. Huge jacuzzi bath and double shower too. The bath was a delight. Eased away all the stresses and strains in an instant.
The menu for dinner is small, but that's not a problem. There is something for everyone. I had the sausages and bubble and squeak cake. Really nice. I was told the sausages were local and they were really good. The service was swift and friendly. We were very well looked after. We then went and sat in the bar and chatted to the barman who was lovely. Very helpful about suggesting things to do the next day.
Breakfast was really good the next morning. All good quality products cooked well. I am a bit of a fusspot but it was all lovely.
We opted for dinner again in the restaurant the following night as the hotel is a little in the middle of nowhere and there is not really anywhere else close by. But also the food and service had been so good that we didn't feel the need to go anywhere else. Again a good meal. Slight issue that my lamb had not been cooked enough but it was sorted efficiently and swiftly with no fuss at all. Another lovely evening that ended up with a few drinks in the bar again.
Every member of staff we came into contact with was so pleasant and helpful. Karen is amazing. She never stops running around making sure everyone is happy. It was a superb little break. Enjoyed immensely. So much so a return visit was booked at checkout. Have a feeling this could be a regular little bolt hole. Looking forward to a return visit. See you on the 29th!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jayneyp24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Didnt stay in hotel but enjoyed a lovely meal early evening on a saturday. The choice wasnt huge but my husband, fussy son and I all found something we liked. The food was cooked beautifully. Staff were friendly and chatty. Would return.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank mjbex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on a voucher deal so it was a good price.
Plus points:
Great olde worlde charm
Good food
Friendly staff when they were there

In need of improvement:

Bathroom in our room; cracked floor tiles and wall tiles, jacuzzi bath that did not work, very roughly done sealant around bath.
Headboard did not fit the bed and was covering the pictures on the wall, (not a problem as they were the cheap massproduced type).

Reception area very poor and had to wait on arrival and checkout for someone to appear.

Refurbishment going on when pub was open; carpentry, drilling etc. no signs warning of disruption. Not the relaxing atmosphere we expected.

Very little vegetarian choices in the pub/restaurant.

Good breakfast but with basic choices only; ie no fruit, yoghurt, porridge, pancakes, kippers etc

SUMMARY

Great potential once the new owners refurbish to a higher standard than at present.

Is miles from anywhere but that will be a positive for some guests!
Definitely need your car unless you plan on hiking.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank dealfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bideford
5.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#2 of 11 in Bideford
629 reviews
6 mi away
Yeoldon House Hotel
Yeoldon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northam
516 reviews
3.7 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#1 of 2 in Clovelly
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Hartland Quay Hotel
Hartland Quay Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bideford
388 reviews
5.7 mi away
Durrant House
Durrant House
#8 of 11 in Bideford
777 reviews
14.5 mi away
Tommy Jacks Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoops Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoops Inn

Address: Horns Cross | near Clovelly, Bideford EX39 5DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Bideford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Bideford
Price Range: £58 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hoops Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hoops Inn and Country Hotel is proud of its extensive range of high quality food provided. The menu is varied to accommodate seasonal specialties and is freshly prepared in our own kitchens using the best of garden and local produce. Guests can choose to dine in the candlelit restaurant, in the relaxed bars or, on balmy summer days, outdoors on the covered courtyard. There are a vast array of activities on The Hoops doorstep which can be enjoyed throughout the year such as golf, fishing, sailing, hiking, surfing and biking. In addition to the many historic houses, beautiful gardens and quaint coves and villages, The Hoops Inn has more than 8 acres of landscaped grounds for your enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hoops Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoops Hotel Bideford
Hoops Inn Bideford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing