We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Country Hotel Retreat.”
Review of Hoops Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hoops Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Bideford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed for four nights at The Hoops and were delighted with the establishment. The room was spotless, the ensuite excellent. The staff were all friendly, helpful and generally first rate. The foos was excellent. What more could one say, except that the appearance of this old thatched property adds to its charm even before you go in!

Room Tip: We had a standard room (11) at the back but this was excellent in every way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ken F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 412 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

We came here during our first visit to Devon & Cornwall and were greeted by this charming place. As soon as we walked in the staff were really warm and friendly. We decided to give the food a whirl. We sat in their lovely garden and we were attended to by a sincerely lovely member of staff, who wasn't only friendly to us but was friendly to other people too, including a couple with a dog. The owners of this place clearly take great pride in not only their staff, but their guests and customers too (and their dogs of course)

We didn't have to wait long for our food (which was a shame actually as we could've spent all day here) and when it arrived it was very nice indeed.

We'd highly recommend Hoops in even though we've only visited once. First impressions can leave a lasting impression and our experience of this wonderful place leaves us wanting to come back. Thank you!

Room Tip: Make sure you don't eat before you arrive here, the food is too good :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank seangraham44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

We had booked 3 nights at a nearby holiday park and only managed 1 as it was so awful. My husband went to look for alternative local accommodation and came across Hoops Inn. We were given a very warm welcome and the staff were very helpful and gave us a lovely breakfast even though we had not stayed the night before. We had the family room which was perfect for our needs. It was spacious, very clean and had a lovely bath as well as a separate shower. The staff were all very friendly and sterilised my baby's bottles in the microwave twice a day for me. The breakfast was exceptional and overall a lovely stay in pretty grounds.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmCharRi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We were given a warm welcome and shown to our rather grand canopy-bedded room on the first floor. The room had the warm cosy enclosing feeling of a room of its vintage but, for us, had the added benefit of fresh air with windows that opened!!

We ate in on each night of our seven-night stay and dined our way through an excellent and varied menu at what became “our” table in the welcoming bar. We thoroughly enjoyed all the meals we had there.

What really made our stay special, however, was the hospitality shown us by the Hoops staff all of whom were very friendly and considerate of our comfort. Paul and Anna are deserving of special mention as is Karen, in particular, without whose advice we may have missed out on a visit to Lynmouth and Lynton.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We first visited the Hoops 10 years ago as we were staying in Bucks Mills. We have recently had a down memory lane long weekend in the area and were relieved to find that the Hoops has changed very little in this time. Set in lovely Devon countryside the gardens are beautifully laid out and maintained. If as was the case for our second visit of the break the weather was inclement, we were made very welcome in the snug bar with our 3 year old grandson. The staff are pleasant and welcoming and the beer is good. There are pictures of the site in days gone by and you can see not a lot has changed. This is a good thing.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulClaydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

A comfortable thatched country Inn, well situated for sight-seeing all around North Devon. On arrival we took afternoon tea, just scrumptuous with so much clotted cream all served with dog biscuits and a friendly pat for our two dogs. The meals are moderately priced and of good quality and can be taken in the bar or well appointed restaurant. The breakfasts we enjoyed immensely as some of the best we have ever had in a country Inn. Nothing was too much trouble, and the well-behaved dogs got a sausage too. Friendly, staff where nothing seemed too much trouble.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms for non-dog-owners, but still adequate for all needs with the dogs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Stayed 3 nights at the Hoops in the family room that was well equipped but was dark and dingy. All the staff were excellent. Two of the meals we had were disappointing but fair play to the Hoops the meals were refunded in full. The person who hand cuts the chips is very skilled because you would think that they came out of a bag.
Due to the above we would not stay again.

Room Tip: Other rooms may well be brighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gareth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bideford
5.7 mi away
Durrant House
Durrant House
#8 of 11 in Bideford
745 reviews
6.0 mi away
Yeoldon House Hotel
Yeoldon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northam
512 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bideford
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Orchard Hill Hotel
Orchard Hill Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bideford
215 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hartland Quay Hotel
Hartland Quay Hotel
#7 of 11 in Bideford
372 reviews
10.1 mi away
Saunton Sands Hotel
Saunton Sands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Braunton
1,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoops Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoops Inn

Address: Horns Cross | near Clovelly, Bideford EX39 5DL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Bideford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Bideford
Price Range: £54 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hoops Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hoops Inn and Country Hotel is proud of its extensive range of high quality food provided. The menu is varied to accommodate seasonal specialties and is freshly prepared in our own kitchens using the best of garden and local produce. Guests can choose to dine in the candlelit restaurant, in the relaxed bars or, on balmy summer days, outdoors on the covered courtyard. There are a vast array of activities on The Hoops doorstep which can be enjoyed throughout the year such as golf, fishing, sailing, hiking, surfing and biking. In addition to the many historic houses, beautiful gardens and quaint coves and villages, The Hoops Inn has more than 8 acres of landscaped grounds for your enjoyment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hoops Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoops Hotel Bideford
Hoops Inn Bideford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing