We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely tea room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cleverdons Cafe

Cleverdons Cafe
Ranked #66 of 132 Restaurants in Bideford
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“lovely tea room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

Stopped off for a bite and a coffee, different from our last visit a few months ago but it still has the lovely tea room charm that first attracted us to it. Good friendly service makes it a pleasurable experience. A nice place to bring our visitors for a little old fashioned treat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 2wheelsBarnstaple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    22
    9
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bideford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

this is a local spot for me with easy access in the town centre- they offer a really good choice of fresh food on the extensive menu and the service is brilliant. I would recommend this as a great value stop for all ages

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carol J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lovely Tea Rooms, Great Food, Good Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

We dropped in here on the off chance of a meal, as we walked in the lady was very welcoming and immediatley put tables together for us as we were a party of 6 people. It was 4pm on a Wednesday afternoon and we were keen to have a cooked meal. This place did not dissappoint. Two of us opted for the fish platter and two of us for the plaice and chips, the children were also well catered for. The fish platter came with three different fish in different types of batter/breadcrumbs which were all very light and tasty, absolutely lovely. They were accompanied by freshly cooked chips and fresh crisp salad. My 6 year old ordered an omlette with chips and peas, I didn't think she'd finish half of what she was served as it was such a huge plate full but to our surprise she polished off the whole lot saying that it was the best omlette ever! As it was Wednesday they were offering free ice cream to well behaved children! What a good idea! Both children enjoyed their ice cream!
They also offered on a Wednesday, free childrens meals with every adult meal, another great idea.

We had a fantastic, tasty meal at a very reasonable price.

Lovely tea rooms, yes maybe a little tired, outside loos and not particlularly warm inside but the friendliness of the staff along with the quality of the food far outweigh this small negative.

They even offered free WIFI!

Thank you for a fantastic meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bideford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly Tea shop in town.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2012

A slightly old fashioned tea shop which does reasonable everyday menu for lunches etc. Some home baked avaialable. In good weather the garden area at the rear is nice with a sunny outlook. Popular with visitors and the slightly older residents.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank rangeroverkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiltern Hills
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cleverdons. Ideal for vegetarians”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

We really enjoyed eating here on our recent holiday. The vegetarian selection was a menu, not just a few sad options. The nutty cottage pie was delicious and filling. We would definately eat here again, and intend to do so soon.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsMoon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cleverdons Cafe also viewed

 
Bideford, Torridge
 

Been to Cleverdons Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing