We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Royal Plaice

The Royal Plaice
Ranked #22 of 132 Restaurants in Bideford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast food, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Fish & Chips, really good!
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good place to eat”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Good food and nice staff. We were given the option to buy drinks from the pub opposite and bring them to our table which was a great option :) Really liked this place and would recommend.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank LeamsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    43
    8
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good quality but small portions!”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We visited 'The Royal Plaice' for a Fish and Chip takeaway. It tasted nice and was good quality, however I was disappointed with the portion sizes - very small! Apart from this it was nice!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank theholidayreviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Unbelievably quiet!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

When you find a restaurant in a seaside village at lunchtime you expect it to have customers if it is any good. There was no-one in, but we were made very welcome. The chips were perfect and the batter on fish cooked very well. Just to add the fish was pretty good too! Four customers came in as we were finishing our meal, maybe Saturday is a travelling day for holidaymakers and that was why it was so quiet.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Biscuitman00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great fish and chips”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Great take away. They have a cod special £3.90 perfect for the kids or a small meal. Just tucked away behind main road nears John's.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Daniel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
161 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Excellent 2 years ago and still as excellent!!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We had take away fish and chips from here whilst staying in Appledore 2 years ago and they were fantastic. Staying outside Appledore this year but we made a trip into Appledore for the delicious fish and chips.
Haddock and chips come in a good size portion. Very fresh and the batter is very light. The chips are the best chips I've ever had. Would definitely recommend this place. You can also dine in.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gimgem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Royal Plaice also viewed

 

Been to The Royal Plaice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing