We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely safe haven”
Review of Orchard Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orchard Hill Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Bideford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Stayed for a week as a female travelling alone & from arrival felt very safe & comfortable. Annie & Jonathan are welcoming, the rooms are clean & the excellent breakfasts are served in a beautiful bright room. They have Sam, a lovely, gentle dog & (although I am a cat person I chose to make friends with him. He was always pleased to see me, making me feel even more welcome & at home. In fact I liked it so much I extended my stay by one night & would have made it longer had I been able to. I really hope to be able to go back soon.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fran B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2013

Had a lovely weekend break. Hotel rooms were clean and comfortable. People were very friendly, and food was absolutely gorgeous!! Definitely recommend it. Stayed there with my elderly Mother who has not eaten so much for years! She enjoyed the food so much.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

What a lovely hotel. Great location - only 10 minute walk into the main high street., Our room was very comfortable and the hotel has a very friendly atmosphere - more like a home from home. The breakfast was fantastic and sets you up for the day. Annie, Jonathon and Sam are great hosts and make you feel so welcome, looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geraint J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Unfortunately we didn't enjoy our stay here. We were booked for two nights but left after the first. We were "welcomed" by the owners' dog on arrival - we're not dog people so it wasn't the best introduction. Our room was bright and spacious but the bed was really uncomfortable (we even considered sleeping on the floor) - the mattress was far too soft, or maybe the springs had gone. The shower didn't mix properly - scalding - potentially dangerous. Breakfast was very good. We explained why we were checking out early and the owner (Annie) was very fair and didn't charge us for the second night (which she was within her rights to do).

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlisonandColin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BidefordSpringer, Owner at Orchard Hill Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

It was sad to read this review. It was unfair and inaccurate in content. We provide full details of our hotel on our website and this includes that we are dog friendly and there are photos of Sam to whom we refer as the “hotel manager”. In the review the guests state that they do not like dogs and they said to us that they dislike them. Why book a hotel that welcomes dogs ? Guests often bring their dogs to stay. This clearly misrepresents our hotel to future guests and this has already been pointed out by a customer making a recent booking.
With regards to the bed. The guests mentioned that their bed at home was of a particular type and firmness. This was not the fault of our bed, which was bought within the last 6 months. We are regularly complemented on the comfort of our beds - see reviews on TP and in our Visitor book. If the customer had discussed their specific requirements when they booked, this situation would not have arisen. The shower was checked over by our plumber, who was unable to identify any problems. He is providing a report.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Jonathan and Annie couldn't make you more welcome. Location is good, breakfasts are marvellous ans Sam, the dog, is there every afternoon to welcome you home. We thoroughly recommend this hotel and we will go again, again. Fred & Melissa Elliott.

Room Tip: Family, twin, double and single available. Simply let Annie and Jonathan know what you want and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frederick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Stayed recently as I was in the West Country on business. Orchard Hill is cosy, friendly and a real home from home. Great food, Jonathon is very enthusiastic and Annie is a great host. Don't forget to make friends with Sam the springer!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amethyst190822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Enjoyed our weekend break and was met with a friendly greeting. Have not got any negative comments to make about our stay at the hotel. Very clean, comfortable, good food and very welcoming and would recommend this hotel to anybody who wishes a nice quiet break. many thanks to the hotel.

Glenn & Stephanie - Portsmouth

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bideford
0.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bideford
613 reviews
0.5 mi away
Durrant House
Durrant House
#8 of 11 in Bideford
756 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 11 in Bideford
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Yeoldon House Hotel
Yeoldon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northam
514 reviews
14.4 mi away
Hartland Quay Hotel
Hartland Quay Hotel
#5 of 11 in Bideford
384 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchard Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Hill Hotel

Address: Orchard Hill, Bideford EX39 2QY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Bideford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Bideford
Price Range: £78 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Orchard Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Orchard Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard Hill Bideford
Orchard Hill Hotel Bideford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing