We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place”
Review of Orchard Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orchard Hill Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Bideford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Loved this place! Steve,Jane and Mum make you feel right at home. They are 3 of the nicest people we meet in all of England. Steve drove us down in town . Was a great tour guide. Jane is an amazing cook and lady. And Mum you just want to take her home with you. The Hotel itself is charming. Built in the late 1800s Jane and Steve have brought it back to life. They have exciting plans for its future. The town is lucky to have them . The rooms are very clean and nice. Loved everything about this place!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crabbydicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

Great reception Jane and Steve very welcoming. Tea on arrival was a lovely touch after a long journey, they were helpful advising on local resturants etc. The room we had was a superior, beautiful high quality bedding and duck down duvets, presented to a high standard, shower was brilliant. Breakfast was high quality and plentyful with cereals,toast and cooked breakfast offered. Good sized carpark on site, amazing views over the estuary. They have not long taken over and are improving the facilites all the time here cant wait to go back to see the improvements. A beautiful building and lovely gardens with a lawn to the rear that could easily hold a large marquee for a wedding and still plenty of space. Will be recomending this hotel for its great value and high standards of customer services they couldnt do enough for us.

Room Tip: We had room 4 at the front of the house it was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 39AngelaH2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

The Orchard Hill Hotel at Bideford in Devon has recently been taken over by an enthusiastic couple. Jane welcomed us at the door and proceeded to make us a welcome cup of tea (I'm sure when properly up and running she will not be able to do it for every b&b client). However it was most welcome. The hotel has a view from most windows down to the small estuary town of Bideford and the River Torridge with its ancient arched stone bridge. The lounge and dining room provide tasteful furnishings with practically floor to ceiling views. Our room was tasteful with all modern facilities. I have never slept in a more comfortable bed with a proper eiderdown. The English breakfast set us up for the day and croissants were also provided for those with continental tastes; all cooked to perfection. Cannot recommend this establishment enough. Well done Jane and Steve. The future looks bright at Orchard Hill Hotel. Call in, you wont regret it. Christine and Dave from Bristol.

Room Tip: Our room had perfect views of River Torridge and Bideford and also the front garden plus was very qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

With 2 boys my wife and I wanted a night away to ourselves. The owners were welcoming & friendly, and the hotel had a warm, relaxing and comfortable feel to it.
Clean rooms with en-suite and an amazing breakfast.
Overall, a perfect night away with my wife, would highly recommend!
Thanks Steve and Jane :-)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Great location for town.Nice clean room and en suite facilities.
Good breakfast ,no evening restaurant but plenty of places to eat in Bideford.
Stayed for one night as we were in transit from week in Ivybridge to week in Westward Ho.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

A lovely country house hotel with lots of character! The owners were extremely friendly and attentive. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the food was great! Their teenage son helped out at the hotel and Sam, the dog was a delight! I really loved the family feel of the hotel and that we were able to get to know the owners a little bit. My teenage son had his own room with free wifi which he loved! Bideford has a good town with plenty of places to eat and provides a nice walk by the quayside. There is easy access to the surrounding area and some nice beaches a short drive away.

Room Tip: The owners are very accommodating and do say that they are happy to deal with any special requiremen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

would recomend this hotel as a good place to stay for either for family holiday or buisness. Very clean hotel and good cooked breakfast, the owners (and dog) are friendly and make you feel welcome which is a very important factor. The hotel is set in a quiet area of bideford about a 10 min walk to the centre.
Would recomend going to Barkers restuarant in Bideford High st for a lovely evening meal.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elaine w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bideford
0.5 mi away
Durrant House
Durrant House
#8 of 11 in Bideford
751 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bideford
611 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 11 in Bideford
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Yeoldon House Hotel
Yeoldon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northam
514 reviews
14.4 mi away
Hartland Quay Hotel
Hartland Quay Hotel
#6 of 11 in Bideford
383 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#1 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchard Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard Hill Hotel

Address: Orchard Hill, Bideford EX39 2QY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Bideford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Bideford
Price Range: £78 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Orchard Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Orchard Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard Hill Bideford
Orchard Hill Hotel Bideford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing