We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very rural!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Pines at Eastleigh
Ranked #1 of 36 Bideford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2013

The rooms were quite small and the bathrooms even smaller. Although a Kingsize bed was advertised, we found the beds were just small doubles. Whilst the service was OK, it was very impersonal and a bit regimented. My wife and I did not feel happy here and left after two days

Room Tip: If one is looking for a rural and quiet location, this may be a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Albatros03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 156 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2013

I Had a three night break at the pines with my wife.

The Pines is set in beautiful surroundings, and was very peaceful. The bedroom was spacious, clean, and fitted the surroundings perfectly.

We had breakfast each morning, it was cooked fresh to order and was as one would expect. Fresh, hot, and timely.

The staff were more than accommodating, and they went out out the way to fulfil our needs in everything we asked for.

We will be returning without a doubt, if your looking for somewhere to stay in Devon, The Pines of Eastliegh is the only place to stay! Excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darren Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I wanted a few relaxing days in Devon and would be bringing my dog. I chose this hotel because it advertised it had 7 acres was dog friendly and a 4 star Georgian Country house atmosphere. It couldn't be more from the truth. The dog was mearly tolerated. We were put in a renovated stable block which meant we did not have to access the house with the dog, were told quite strenuously that dogs were not to be left unattended in the room which meant that we could not access the facilities i.e. wi fi, relaxation in the morning room and breakfast in the Georgian dining room unless we left the dog in the car on the car park. There suggestion!! I'm sure the RSPCA would not be happy about leaving a dog in a car during the summer. That aside the room was small, the bathroom dated with a weak shower connection to the bath. Breakfast was only served at certain times i.e. 7.30, 8.30 etc so no wandering in when you feel like it. No glasses in the room unless you paid for their use. We found a Morrison's and bought some! & no food to be brought into the room. For smokers - If you smoke in the room there is a fine of £30.Most of the 7 acres is not available to guests and marked private. Not at all relaxing and we were glad to leave. We would have left after the first night but there is no refund .

Room Tip: If you are travelling with a pet do not use this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tinabean37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stephen p, Manager at The Pines at Eastleigh, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Firstly I should make it clear that we are a 4 star guest accommodation bed and breakfast not a four star hotel - this is made very clear both on our own website and on Booking.com and obviously our price and facilities reflect this. We state that we take pets by arrangement and all our guests who bring their pets usually contact us in advance to ask about the arrangements for their pets. You did not contact us - you simply added a note on your internet booking that your dog would be with you in the room. At the time we did not have a pet friendly room available but we re-arranged several guests so that it would be possible for you to be in a room where your dog could be with you. We then e-mailed to you indicating we had a pet friendly room available and making it clear that your dog was welcome to be with you whilst you were present in the room. You did not respond to that e-mail. We have very few rules regarding pets and as you say they are common sense. We ask that dogs be kept on a lead in the grounds because not all guests are comfortable with dogs. We ask that dogs are not left in the room unattended unless they are placed in a travel bed and we ask that dogs do not sleep on the beds. Our guests are usually quite happy to place their pet in the car at the front of the house visible to them during breakfast for the short time they are in the breakfast room. We permit only guide dogs into the garden room and breakfast room as food is served in these rooms. We have 6 acres of gardens and fields and guests and their pets are welcome to explore all of this with the exception of a very small orchard which is kept clear of dogs so that children can play without any risk of infection.
I am sorry that you found your room small it has been recently redecorated, has a John Lewis king size four-poster bed, two rattan chairs, flat-screen TV, desk with chair and tea and coffee making facilities which are re-stocked every day by our housekeepers. Breakfast is available to order from 7 - 10am. As we cook the breakfast for guests individually we merely ask what time you would like breakfast so that it can be prepared for your arrival - your breakfast time can be changed daily. We are licensed premises and we provide drinks for the public rooms and for consumption in the bedrooms. We make no apology for restricting smoking in our rooms. Most of our guests do not wish to stay in a room that smells of stale tobacco and so we steam clean carpets and linen if a guest has smoked in the room and we charge the guest the cost of this cleaning. After the first night we specifically offered you the chance to leave without any charges for the remaining nights but you chose to stay opting for breakfast to be served in your room. You made no further negative comments during your stay or on check-out so we were unaware that you were not enjoying your time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

The Pines offers excellent, clean accommodation set in a lovely rural landscape. This was my second stay here in two years and the welcome, service and facilities were as good as I remembered the first time I stayed there. Breakfast was cooked to perfection with good locally sourced items. If you are looking for a friendly, high quality place to stay in order to visit the local towns of Instow, Bideford or Barnstaple then The Pines at Eastleigh fits the bill perfectly.
I would highly recommend this country B&B establishment.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cacher69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

A warm welcome as you arrive sets the tone for your stay, very clean and comfortable, it`s a rural setting with great views of the surrounding area, as we sat and eat an excellent breakfast we watched two young foxes playing in an adjacent field. Would we recommend it to our friends?
Definitely.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Looking for me to have a couple of nights away from kids, work etc., my partner found The Pines through Trip Advisor. The reviews looked good and I must say it lived up to them well.

On arrival Yannick made me very welcome, showed me the breakfast and guests lounge (which also offers an Honesty Bar) and then my courtyard room. The king sized bed was very comfortable and the room/bathroom was very clean and nicely laid out.

Eastleigh is 10 minutes from Instow & Bideford and The Pines has a lovely quiet position on the edge of the village with super views across the area. If your looking for peace and quiet this is the place for you. You are free to walk around the gardens and attached fields, and the courtyard makes for a peaceful suntrap in which to relax.

Breakfast was also a relaxed affair and very well presented including home made yoghurt, home baked bread and using local produce where possible.

I would highly recommend The Pines if your looking for something in the Bideford area that offers peace and quiet.

Well done Rachel & Robin Pirrie, and Yannick of course.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

The not-so-spacious rooms are in outbuildings with small windows and poor ventilation. The bathroom was small and dated. Some of the grounds are out-of-bounds to Bed & Breakfast guests. There is some effort to provide quality when visiting the main house for breakfast, but The Pines does not offer the country house B&B experience you can find elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Monica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bideford hotels
2.0 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#3 of 11 in Bideford
600 reviews
7.5 mi away
Hoops Inn
Hoops Inn
#1 of 11 in Bideford
412 reviews
1.9 mi away
Yeoldon House Hotel
Yeoldon House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Northam
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Orchard Hill Hotel
Orchard Hill Hotel
#4 of 11 in Bideford
215 reviews
2.2 mi away
Durrant House
Durrant House
#8 of 11 in Bideford
743 reviews
2.5 mi away
Riverside Cottage Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pines at Eastleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pines at Eastleigh

Address: Eastleigh, Bideford EX39 4PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Torridge > Bideford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Bideford
Price Range: £84 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Pines at Eastleigh 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Pines at Eastleigh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pines At Eastleigh Bideford, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing