We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Locals that visit often”

Green Goose Cafe Bistro
Ranked #31 of 138 Restaurants in Bideford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$18
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Great food at the heart of Bideford. Visit our light and airy restaurant for breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea & cakes or for our evening menu. We have an outside courtyard and a private function room and can cater for parties up to 80.
devon
Level 6 Contributor
285 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Locals that visit often”
Reviewed 8 May 2013

I tend to call in at least once a week for a drink and snack, its an excellent meeting place for friends. Had a lovely courtyard at the back too. The staff are friendly and the full english breakfast is wonderful, highly recommended!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrissie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    54
    9
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Today we had a fantastic full English breakfast at the Green Goose. Good quality sausages and bacon, perfectly cooked eggs, friendly service and excellent value for money. I will be back!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lustilou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely place to eat in Bideford”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

A group of friends and I ate at the Green Goose on Saturday night, and the food was great. I had sea bream with risotto and rocket, and it was both beautifully cooked and had well balanced flavours. The food arrived piping hot, which is always a pleasure. We all enjoyed our meal, and felt very comfortable. The service was great - friendly, helpful, informative but not intrusive. Value was fine, and we were charged the set meal price for two courses without asking, which worked out cheaper than the price for each dish on the menu. It felt like they were really interested in our having a good time, and were happy to be fair about what we were charged. I'll try it for lunch next. Happy to recommend it as a place to enjoy good food in a nicely relaxed and stylish environment.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tawviewers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Devon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“A superb evening”
Reviewed 28 April 2013

I went to The Green Goose last night with some friends for a catch up and to give it a try. We had a table in the conservatory which was light, bright and had a good view across the restaurant. The service was just right; friendly and informed about the menu. I had a delicious spagetti with crab and prawns in a cream sauce and a mixed salad. Others on my table had the hallumi burger with skinny fries but left out the bun (a good move as the portion was generous) and the Sea Bream which was cooked perfectly, with crisp skin and succulent flesh. The desserts were also great. I had the tarte au citron which was obviously fresh and handmade. Unfortuantely it did not come with the clotted cream I was expecting but with squirty cream. When I commented on this at the end of the evening, the owner assured me that this would not be an ingredient that would feature on the menu again.
I will certainly be returning and would highly recommend this venue for a catch up with friends.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Racingmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Breath of fresh air”
Reviewed 23 April 2013 via mobile

Fantastic morning spent having coffee and breakfast.the food was delicious and service excellent,catered well for my young boy.we felt very welcomed and not at all rushed!lots of future events planned there also,just what the small town needs

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JB-lfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Green Goose Cafe Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Green Goose Cafe Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing