We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE”
Review of Cafe Collective

Cafe Collective
Ranked #13 of 138 Restaurants in Bideford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$10
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: We pride ourselves on offering delicious home cooked food using locally sourced produce. Our extensive menu offers a range of cooked breakfasts, lunches, homemade pizzas, sharing boards, homemade cakes and cream teas. Gluten free, Vegetarian and Vegan diets are also catered for. We have been voted "one of the Top 5 coffee destinations in North Devon" by the North Devon Journal. Our cafe is dog friendly and are fully licensed, offering a selection of local ciders, beer, wines and spirits.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“LOVE”
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

What a fab little place.
Light airy , colour full , Love written everywhere and if you get the table near the banister you can sit and look down the hill that you've just walked up.
I had a great sandwich and coffee served by nice people with nice music playing and some interesting chairs.
LOVE

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anthony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    20
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely hidden gem. Great addition to the more replicated themes of other venues.”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

So annoyed we only found it on our last day. Would have liked a game of pool and tried some more cakes!

Lovely, proper milkshake made with ice cream and served with a smile. Delicious home made cakes on display.

The owners are funky, friendly and go the extra mile without being over bearing in any way. They clearly have a passion for what they are doing, which makes for a nice, vibrant atmosphere. So modern too - they even have a card reader!!!

Lovely grub, lovely people.
Good luck

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gwagtastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best cafe in Bideford by far. I would rate it higher if that were possible.”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

This cafe is a must visit for everyone.
Absolutely love it here. It's the perfect place to relax and unwind and you could easily spend a couple of hours eating great food and sipping coffee (or take advantage of the alcohol on offer).
This cafe has a good patronage of the locals so it must be good. There is a lovely community feel here and the owners (Kaz and Tess) are wonderful. They work very hard and nothing is ever too much trouble.
We always make time to visit here whenever we're in the area.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Phil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Really great little cafe!”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I found the Cafe Collective thanks to Trip Adviser and I was very glad I did.

We were a group of three parents on holiday who had managed to obtain a child free day pass so we wanted to make most of it with a nice sit down lunch not having to share with the children, run after the children, keep going to the toilet with the children... you get the picture.

The Cafe was bright, cheery and oh so friendly. The food was very good indeed, especially my steak baguette. The homemade fish cakes were delicious. We thought only one fish cake per serving was a little stingy, two on a plate at a slightly higher price might be worth a go (not that I have any idea about running a restaurant!)

The staff were wonderful and obviously cared a great deal about their little cafe up the top of the hill so get your walking legs on and make the trip (it's not that far really). Even if you're stuck with the children!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Justine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, UK
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Excellent place”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We ate here with young children they offered anything on the menu in child portions with is much better than the usual cafe offerings. The staff were friendly and the decor freehand quirky it's worthy visit.

Helpful?
Thank 01Ams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Collective also viewed

 
 

Been to Cafe Collective? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing