We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic day out”
Review of The Big Sheep.

The Big Sheep.
Ranked #1 of 38 things to do in Bideford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Looking for a guaranteed day out that’s fun for all the family – then look no further than The BIG Sheep. No matter what the weather, this award-winning family attraction is guaranteed to be the highlight of your holiday. Come rain or shine Devon’s friendliest attraction has an action-packed programme of rides, shows, animals, indoor play and events to keep everyone in the family entertained all day long. The attraction was set up to create great holiday memories and the BIG Sheep ‘flock’ look forward to giving visitors to the park a totally EWEnique day out. The BIG Sheep is home to Devon’s most popular and largest roller coaster, plus 12 hilarious, EWEnique shows, with undercover viewing area. Outdoor play includes giant jumping pillows, twister ride, splash zone and archery tag. Gentle rides for toddlers include Piggy Pull-Along, Tractor Safari, self-drive Tractor Track, Pony Rides, Vintage Carousel, Swan pedaloes. Fantastic events throughout the year - www.thebigsheep.co.uk
Useful Information: Stairs / lift, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Visited The Big Sheep with my partner and three boys aged 4, 6 and 9. I cannot recommend this attraction enough, we actually ran out of time rather before seeing all the attractions.

The staff were extremely helpful and had a great rapport with the kids

The shows were excellent we all enjoyed the lamb feeding and sheep race. The tractor ride, train ride and piggy ride were all very popular with the kids and the micro brewery was a great attraction for me! I also recommend Battlefield Live, great for burning kids energy and also great for adults too! Shaun, the Battlefield live rep was great with the kids and went out of his way to answer all the questions fired at him about the weapons and vehicle by me 6 year old.

The attraction is fantastic value and very weather friendly with a lot of the activities, as well as the large play area, being fully undercover.

Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thebigsheep, Owner at The Big Sheep., responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Hi Matt, great review, thanks a million! ‘I cannot recommend this attraction enough!’ – what a great endorsement! Our micro-brewery is always a huge hits with the chaps, they prefer to go back home and say, ‘I visited a brewery instead of, I had a great time on the slides!’ At the BIG Sheep we aim to have lots of attractions for all the family to enjoy and it is good to see that your boys of varying ages and your partner all had a great time. I will pass your lovely comments on to Sargent Shaun at Battlefield Live, all our team are fully trained to interact with our visitors – after all it is our job to make sure we give you a day out to remember so it is good that you mention that they all had a great rapport with the kids. Yay, we LOVE it when we get feedback like this!

A fantastic, value for money day out is what we continually strive to give our visitors and your 5 star rating is proof that we are getting it right, thanks again and hopefully see you soon for a return visit.

Best Regards,

Rick, Director of the Flock.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,563 - 1,567 of 2,150 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

A large group of 17 visited The Big Sheep for the day during a hen weekend. We arrived to very friendly and inviting 'flock' staff who, expecting our arrival, had everything ready. The staff had put together a lovely and very heartfelt gift bag for the hen including a card with a lovely message in it.
Then our experience began, the shows were brilliant..Farmer Matt and Farmer Wes were highly entertaining and really included our whole group in the show. The talks were full of innuendos making it suitable for the young and hilarious for the older. There was so much to do, and we all enjoyed that the bouncing pillows were suitable for adult use as well.
The facilities were brilliant, although we did notice some of the restaurant 'flock' weren't quite as friendly and comic as the rest but this was just a minor thing.
The 'flock' really catered for us, allowing us to cuddle and get up close and personal with the animals, indeed so personal that one Gosling took it upon himself to poo on the Hen herself.
All in all we had a fantastic day all round and will certainly be coming back again to visit thanks to all for contributing to this enjoyment.

Thank Abij1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thebigsheep, Owner at The Big Sheep., responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Morning Abi,

I note from TripAdvisor that you are a ‘senior’ advisor so that makes your wonderful review even better! We are so pleased you and the rest of the ‘hens’ had a great day out. Believe me it is no hardship for farmers’ Matt and Wes to entertain a bunch of hens, they probably enjoyed the experience more than you! We do try to make things special for all our visitors and I’m glad the team made it extra special by organising a special gift bag of goodies for the hen. Did you know it is supposed to be good luck if a bird poops on you – so perhaps our Gosling pooped on the hen to wish her good luck for the wedding and future life! I think we are going to have to do some more ‘flock’ training with the restaurant team to make sure they are as friendly and comic as the rest of our flock! Great to hear you all want to come back for another visit and we look forward to welcoming you back for lashings of more fun.

Please raise a glass from all the BIG Sheep and wish the bride and groom a happy future on their wedding day and enjoy the celebrations!

Best Regards,

Rick, Director of the Flock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

A group of 17 of us visited The BIG Sheep this weekend, as part of a hen-do !! We had phoned ahead to arrange a group booking (which gave us a super discount on an already fantastic price). The staff were super, arranging a few treats over the phone for the hen party before our visit.

The staff were clearly very passionate about what they were doing, fond of the animals and keen to share their knowledge. The talks/demonstrations were engaging and pitched an appropriate level for children and adults.

The programme of the day is such that there is lots going on, and enough additional attractions (swings, pedalos, trampolines etc) to fill a day.

The BIG Sheep is great value for money with a friendly, professional atmosphere.

Thank Imogen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thebigsheep, Manager at The Big Sheep., responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Morning Imogen, hello to you and all the hens! We LOVE it when we hear our customers have a great day out when they visit us. We are pleased you rang in advance of your visit. It’s always good do this if you want anything special because we will always, where possible, go out of our way, to do what we can to accommodate any requests our visitors may have – we love making our visitor’s day!

It was Wes who was the showman on duty on the day of your visit and he did say you were all a lovely group and he particularly enjoyed your interaction during the duck show!. Thanks for taking the time to write a review and we hope you all have a wonderful day at the wedding and raise a BIG Sheep glass to the bride and groom from all the Flock here!

Anne Tattersall
Head of Happiness

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We visited the big sheep with our 2 year old. We were really impressed with the park, everyone was very friendly, they even ran the little rides a few extra times for us (it was the last week of April, so very quiet). The shows were all excellent, especially the lamb feeding and the Big Sheep Race. Over all thought it was very good value for money, especially as we used our Tesco day out Vouchers.

Thank Elizabeth O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thebigsheep, Owner at The Big Sheep., responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Morning Elizabeth, I hope the sun is shining in Hayling Island this morning – I’ve visited Hayling before on a trip to the Isle of Wight and even had a little dip in the sea! Thanks for taking the time to write a review. All reviews are shared with our ‘flock’ each week and when they read feedback saying how friendly they are, it motivates them even more to ensure all our visitors have a great day out with us. The lamb feeding show is very popular with our younger visitors and we are glad your 2 year old enjoyed feeding them. Hope you had a win on the Sheep Race and are now a proud owner of a winner’s cup, if not, you will just have to come back and try your luck again next year. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in glorious North Devon and take back great memories to Hayling Island!

Rick Turner
Director of the Flock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

was on a shearings coach holiday.one morning was spent at big sheep.did not think this would be a trip i would like,being single. how wrong was i.the first part of the morning was the sheep show.a quick vist to the beer tasting then on to the duck trials. pity the coach trip had to leave at 1230. as did not see the afternoon shows

Thank forestwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thebigsheep, Manager at The Big Sheep., responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Morning, Aww I’m sorry you had to leave early and miss all the afternoon fun – just means you will have to come back for another visit! So pleased you enjoyed all the shows and we managed to exceed your expectations. Very kind of you to take the time to write a review - thanks a lot and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay in gorgeous North Devon.

Anne
Head of Happiness

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Big Sheep. also viewed

 

Been to The Big Sheep.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing