We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ewe would love it!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Big Sheep.

The Big Sheep.
Ranked #1 of 35 things to do in Bideford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Devon's Large Attraction of the Year (2013/14), The BIG Sheep is firmly established as one of the UK's most innovative and exciting family attractions providing wacky and unique entertainment for all the family. NEW FOR 2016: The BIG One Rollercoaster Visit the South West's biggest family roller coaster which can be ridden by everyone over 4 years old! 400m of awesome fun, over 12m high with two lift hills and guaranteed to make you smile! Hilarious and entertaining shows include the World Famous sheep racing, complete with woolly jockeys, Horse Whispering, Dog and Duck Trials. Shepherds with a wicked sense of humor will have you laughing out loud as you are introduced to 10 different breeds of sheep who will strut their stuff live on stage to music! Children AND adults can burn off excess energy and play safely on a great selection of slides and imaginative soft play climbing areas, tumble towers, mazes and obstacles in our MASSIVE indoor playarea.There are loads of fun packed outdoor activities too. For the adrenaline thrill seekers there are bookable sessions at the Adventure Centre adjacent to the park for Climbing, Low Ropes, Water Zorbing and Mountain Boarding and competitive families can battle it out using state of the art eye-safe laser guns at Battlefield Live Outdoor Combat Zone. You can also enjoy Farm Safari rides, magical lakeside train rides, pony rides, twister chair-o-planes rides, free beer tasting, outside jumping pillows, family splash zone and a chance to feed the baby lambs are just some of the treats in store. During the winter there is a toboggan and ice skating rink too. After an exhilarating day out, browse in our Sheepy Shop and Farm Shop and find local Westcountry products before relaxing with a delicious home made scones and a great big dollop of Devonshire clotted cream.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Stairs / lift, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Plymouth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ewe would love it!!!”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Spent the whole day here with my daughter and my Dad and we had a great time! The sheep racing was hilarious and the puppies in the barn were to die for! Food was well priced too and facilities were clean and well kept. Great day out!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Koncorde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thebigsheep, Head of Happiness at The Big Sheep., responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Hi many thanks for coming all the way from Plymouth for a visit and glad to read your visit was such a success and you enjoyed a whole day of fun with your daughter and dad. One of the things our visits love about The BIG Sheep is that we have something to keep all age groups entertained.

Our Sheep race is still one of my favourite events and I love to hear the crowds shouting and cheering for the sheep they have placed their bet on. It seems like ‘Red Ram’ and ‘Little Pullover’ are on form this year and seem to be taking the lead in this year’s Sheepstakes. I hope you had a win and are now the proud owner of a Winner’s cup!

I couldn’t agree more with you about the puppies - ‘to die for’ is a great description – they are simply adorable and the kids love stroking them during our pet handling sessions. I have two collie dogs but I’m still tempted to take one of our current litter home with me!

Hope you’ll come and visit us again soon and tell all your friends and family about your visit.

Anne
Head of Happiness
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,813 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,123
    394
    158
    88
    50
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Level Contributor
130 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Great for young families”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Spent a day at The Big Sheep last week whilst we stayed nearby. Upon arrival we noticed that it was much smaller than anticipated, but everything is closely located. Plenty to do throughout the day with all the live shows - so plan ahead once there to make the most of it.



Majority of rides etc are free, with only a small charge for a couple of rides and pony rides etc. Cant remember his name, but the gentleman who hosts the majority of shows was entertainment within himself with his humour - many thanks! Don't miss the lamb feeding - it's wild! The sheep race at the end of the afternoon was also great. Most rides seem to close an hour before the park closes - so bear this in mind.

Plenty of indoor options in case it rains - but take socks as these are required for the indoor play slides etc. Plenty of places to eat food outdoors with picnic benches etc, but the indoor tables in the play zone requests that you don't eat your own food. We ate whilst watching the various shows to save time.

Despite our initial reservations over how big it was, we were still there near close time at 6pm, having arrived pretty much at opening time. Two very tired young girls seemed testament that they had a great time. No doubt we will be back when we return to the area.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dai47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thebigsheep, Head of Happiness at The Big Sheep., responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Hi, many thanks for such a lovely review – it is always pleasing to read when our visitors enjoy a great BIG Sheep experience! It certainly sounds like you managed to take in all the shows and have fun on the rides and attractions and found lots to do to keep you all amused until you left at the end of the day.

Our rides should be open until closing time and I will check why you found some of them to be closed before time. Constructive feedback like this is vital to help us improve what we offer our visitors and we greatly appreciate you taking the time to let us know.

We hope your little girls slept well on the night of their visit and had some lovely dreams about their day out. Great to hear you will be back for another visit in the future and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Anne
Head of Happiness
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sheeptastic”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

We visited The Big Sheep a couple of weeks ago and it was fantastic. There were 4 adults and 2 children (3 & 5) and the adults enjoyed it as much as the kids. You can easily spend the whole day there and the staff are awesome. A definite must if you're in the area.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hells74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thebigsheep, Head of Happiness at The Big Sheep., responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Hi Hells!....thanks for your cracking five star review. We are chuffed to hear all four adults and 2 children in your group had a fantastic time with us and that you thought our staff were awesome.

Lots of our visitors still want to come back for a second visit after spending a whole day with us and that is why we have a special £5 return admission which we hope you might take advantage of and come back for another visit.

Hope you are enjoying our glorious North Devon weather and take some of it back to Warwick with you.

Anne
Head of Happiness
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good fun!”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

The Big Sheep was good fun! We spent a whole day there and found the attractions to be well organised from the sheep racing,the duck racing and a whole lot more. My grandchildren really enjoyed themselves and the adults too!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joan Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thebigsheep, Head of Happiness at The Big Sheep., responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Hi Joan, many thanks for taking the time to leave us a short and sweet five star review. Reviews like yours are great third party endorsements, which encourages potential visitors come and visit us so thanks a lot for your recommendation.

Hope you had a lovely holiday and come back and visit us again when you take another holiday away from lovely Leicester. (I would give the Leicester market five stars – it’s one of the best food markets I’ve ever been to!!)

Anne
Head of Happiness
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fab visit!”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Brilliant day out for all the family, we enjoyed it so much we went back 2 days later! Loads to do for both my 8 year old and my little girl who is disabled. My little girl normally has a very short attention span but she enjoyed the shows and listened all the way through. Favourite activity was definitely the water balloons!
Would definitely return x

Visited July 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Pudding145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thebigsheep, Head of Happiness at The Big Sheep., responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Hello Pudding, thanks a million for your five star review. It's always great to read when visitors come back for a second visit in the same week and we hope you took advantage of our special £5 return admission.

We have specifically designed our 11 EWEnique show so they appeal to adults and children and it’s great to hear that your little girl enjoyed them and managed to listen all the way through, despite having a short attention span.

Our splash zone is VERY popular at the moment with all this glorious weather we are having and I hope you all had a wonderful, wet and wild time battling it out with the water balloons – I bet you ended up much wetter that your children?

Great to hear you will be returning for another visit and we look forward to welcoming you back for another fun-filled day.

Anne
Head of Happiness
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Big Sheep. also viewed

 

Been to The Big Sheep.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing