We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“BIG RIP OFF!!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Big Sheep

The Big Sheep
Ranked #2 of 34 things to do in Bideford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Devon's Large Attraction of the Year (2013/14), The BIG Sheep is firmly established as one of the UK's most innovative and exciting family attractions providing wacky and unique entertainment for all the family. NEW FOR 2016: The BIG One Rollercoaster Visit the South West's biggest family roller coaster which can be ridden by everyone over 4 years old! 400m of awesome fun, over 12m high with two lift hills and guaranteed to make you smile! Hilarious and entertaining shows include the World Famous sheep racing, complete with woolly jockeys, Horse Whispering, Dog and Duck Trials. Shepherds with a wicked sense of humor will have you laughing out loud as you are introduced to 10 different breeds of sheep who will strut their stuff live on stage to music! Children AND adults can burn off excess energy and play safely on a great selection of slides and imaginative soft play climbing areas, tumble towers, mazes and obstacles in our MASSIVE indoor playarea.There are loads of fun packed outdoor activities too. For the adrenaline thrill seekers there are bookable sessions at the Adventure Centre adjacent to the park for Climbing, Low Ropes, Water Zorbing and Mountain Boarding and competitive families can battle it out using state of the art eye-safe laser guns at Battlefield Live Outdoor Combat Zone. You can also enjoy Farm Safari rides, magical lakeside train rides, pony rides, twister chair-o-planes rides, free beer tasting, outside jumping pillows, family splash zone and a chance to feed the baby lambs are just some of the treats in store. During the winter there is a toboggan and ice skating rink too. After an exhilarating day out, browse in our Sheepy Shop and Farm Shop and find local Westcountry products before relaxing with a delicious home made scones and a great big dollop of Devonshire clotted cream.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / lift
N.Devon
Level Contributor
83 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“BIG RIP OFF!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2009

tip- if you go take food and drink. Examples of prices £4 pasty. £2 sausage roll. Fruit shoot drink £1.50 . + The kids playzone was a disgrace. I could have knitted a jumper with the dust in all areas- I'm talking roll it up thick and not exagerating! Shame as otherwise has basis of a good attraction but management obviously too busy counting their money!!

Helpful?
4 Thank mose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thebigsheep, Manager at The Big Sheep, responded to this review, 12 May 2010
Thank you for your feedback. The concerns you have raised have been discussed at a recent management meeting and rest assured that the cleanliness of Ewetopia will be of a higher priority in 2010.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,757 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,085
    384
    153
    85
    50
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Its good for little ones but it is overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2009

We went with our 2 boys who are aged 2 years and 5 years. They really enjoyed it and had a great time however we found it quite expensive for what is there especially as you seem to have to pay extra for the attractions the kids REALLY want to do.
The sheep racing was funny and we did enjoy it but had done everything in about half a day and for £35 I think its a bit steep.
I would go again but would only go if I had some sort of special offer or even the clubcard vouchers.
I would defo say this is an attraction for younger children!
If you go to the tourist infomation centre they will give you a voucher for £1 off each!

Helpful?
3 Thank MrsDxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thebigsheep, Manager at The Big Sheep, responded to this review, 12 May 2010
Thank for taking the time to write about your day out. We are pleased that your boys enjoyed our attractions – we make a real effort to ensure that the attractions we offer suit different ages in the family. I have noted your concerns about the entry costs. At the BIG Sheep we operate a fair pricing policy which means the admission price includes free access to all shows and attractions and play areas. Some rides do carry a nominal cost as they cannot be used by all our visitors and an inclusive price would unfairly increase entry costs. For example the pony rides, mini self drive tractor rides and battlefield live all have height and age restrictions, so including them in the entry price for all ages would be unfair.
We do appreciate your feedback – without it we wouldn’t be able to have customer direction for the future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Kept the children entertained all day.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2009

We visited the Big Sheep on a coach trip on 25th July 2009 with children aged 6 and 9. Looking at the reviews I was a bit worried that there wouldn't be enough to keep them occupied all day, but I needn't have worried. There is a big indoor play area with slides, ball pools etc (the usual indoor play stuff). Outside, they loved the big pillows and pedal go karts, there were also trampolines. The pony rides were a bit steep, £1 for 1 circuit of the ring and extra for a rosette. The eldest went on the "Battlefield" (costs extra!) and had a great time. We took a picnic - there seemed to be lotsof picnic tables available - so I can't comment on the food. The attraction seems to be in the process of being expanded so we will probably visit again. The shows seemed to be quite entertaining, but I missed the sheep racing. The only disappointment was that the carousel was out of order. Full price admission is expensive.

Helpful?
Thank BobsterDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thebigsheep, Manager at The Big Sheep, responded to this review, 12 May 2010
Thank you for your constructive feedback about our park. We really enjoy hearing what our customers like and dislike about their days out – I’m glad that you were not put off by previous feedback posted on trip advisor.
We do have to apply a couple of additional costs to some of the attractions due to age and height restrictions. If we were to include the running costs into an inclusive entry price we feel that it would unfairly increase the price for younger children. The first 9 lives are given free of charge on the Battlefield Live area, so that children can have a go and if they like it they are able to play for longer at a cost of £3 for 9 lives.
We are in the process of adding more attractions for 2010, so I really do hope you will return.
Many thanks for taking the time to write – we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't Be Fleeced!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2009

Just returned from North Devon and decided to give "The Big Sheep" a go - big mistake. Don't waste your money! Queued for 20 mins to get in, only 2 entrance tills - one sends you in via the cafe and then its virtually impossible to navigate your way through with a pram if its busy - terrible planning. The site is much smaller than it looks in its glossy brochure, and is very sloping on both sides - and not easy to navigate around with a pram/buggy. Not a lot to do tbh - some tacky shows (where the announcer enjoys the sound of his own voice) and a 3 minute train ride, some bouncy things, a tractor ride that only appears to go once an hour - the rest of the stuff you have to pay for (cars, pony rides etc). We avoided the cafe. I would agree with an earlier reviewer who stated they are more interested in taking your money. Best avoided.

Helpful?
2 Thank picantose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thebigsheep, Manager at The Big Sheep, responded to this review, 12 May 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent visit. You have highlighted many points which did not meet your expectations – this greatly upset us.
I can understand your frustration in regard to the set up of our entrance. We submitted a planning application for a new entrance building to our local council in 2008. Sadly this has been rejected, resubmitted with changes and we are awaiting approval or further guidance.
I am sad to read that you felt there was not a lot to do at our attraction. We strive to provide a full day out running a series of entertaining shows on a regular basis from 11am – 4.30pm, alongside many other attractions; the indoor playground, animal barn, train, tractor, jumping pillows, go karts, laser shooting etc.
Your feedback has highlighted many points, which will be raised at our next planning meeting when we will be discussing changes for the 2010 season. I would be grateful if you would be kind enough to contact me by email with more information to help us. I’m hoping you can highlight what corrections you feel we need to make, what additions you would make to the park and what other attractions you enjoy visiting. I understand that we cannot turn back the clock, but we’d like to think your feedback can help make future changes. Please email me: Claire@thebigsheep.co.uk Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnstaple
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“More interested in your money than your great day out”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2009

More interested in getting your money than providing a great day out. We have been many times over the last few years but have noticed a gradual decline in standards over the period. The food is now decidedly mediocre at best with a 'tired' and 'testing' menu in the restaurant and the deep fried menu in the kids play area proving to be particularly unwholesome. Coupled with that, you come out of the play area smelling deep fried yourself. Some of the staff treat you as an inconvenience and can be hostile and aggressive if you say or ask for the wrong thing. The attractions lack any real interest as well unless you're 3 or under. They have fallen behind their competitors on all fronts except for raising prices as much as they can. It's a shame to say to say it, but they fail to live up to being the "The best day of your holiday... baa none!", especially since they used to be so good at it. Give it a miss if you want to be entertained for more than 2 hours.

Helpful?
1 Thank devndaysout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thebigsheep, Manager at The Big Sheep, responded to this review, 12 May 2010
Many thanks for your feedback. Prior to opening this Easter all our staff underwent an intensive customer service programme to ensure that all our customers receive a first class service and enjoy a great day out. Throughout the season we will also be conducting a mystery shopping program to ensure that all staff are working to the required level of the training they have undertaken. I hope that you will give us another try if you visit North Devon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Big Sheep also viewed

 

Been to The Big Sheep? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing